the taste space

Tofu Migas with Arepas

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on May 1, 2014

Tofu Migas with Arepas

I always thought it would be funny to have enough forethought to pre-plan my holiday meals months in advance. You know, Christmas food served at Thanksgiving; Valentine’s Day treats for Christmas; Cinco de Mayo eats on Easter.

OK, I made the last one up, but it totally happened anyways.

It turns out out Rob was a bit more lonely on Easter Sunday than me, and at the last minute, we decided to host Sunday for the ex-pats. Three Canadians and a Dutchman, all displaced in Houston temporarily.

Although, instead of stressing out about our meals, we shared our love for vegan Mexican food (with a South American twist). Our friends brought some Mexican bread pudding and other Mexican treats for dessert. Easter Houston-style.

Migas is a dish typically made with eggs, but we swapped it for crumbled tofu and added some spices and topped it with salsa and cilantro. The tortillas are usually scrambled into the mixture but I like to add them at the end to keep them crispy. Rob shared his Colombian delicacy of arepas.

There is something about the weekend that brings out the tofu scramble in us.

Are you celebrating Cinco de Mayo? Fellow bloggers, have you ever pre-planned your meals that far in advance? ;)

Tofu Migas with Arepas

 Tofu Migas

4 corn tortillas
dash of coconut oil
2-3 green onions, chopped
1 dried Ancho chile, seeded, soaked in hot water for 5 minutes, then chopped
1 lb extra firm tofu, drained and crumbled
1 tsp onion granules
1 tsp garlic granules
3/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp black salt
1 tbsp mustard
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

salsa, if desired

arepas, to serve, if desired

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. If making arepas, start that first. While they are baking, make your tofu migas.

3. Place corn tortillas in the oven (no need for a pan) directly on the racks. Bake for 5-7 minutes, until crispy. Try to time this towards the end of making your scramble. Cut baked tortillas into strips.

4. Meanwhile, in a non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot, add green onions and saute until softened and slightly brown, around 5 minutes. Add Ancho chile and cook another 2-3 minutes. Add crumbled tofu, onion granules, garlic granules, cumin, turmeric, black salt and mustard and stir to combine. Warm until heated through, around 5-10 minutes. Stir in cilantro and remove from heat.

5. Prior to serving, toss baked tortillas with the tofu mixture. Serve with a side of arepas and a touch of salsa, if desired.

Serves 4.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on May 1, 2014 at 10:03 AM

    I just tried the tofu with black salt combo and was totally blown away! This is a great idea for Cinco de May… but I have tofu ready to eat now so something similar to this may happen as a Uno de Mayo. :)

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 1, 2014 at 5:44 PM

    I never plan my meals far in advance. Any holiday food on my blog is almost always blogged about after said holiday (not entirely helpful). But hey, I don’t have time to make 2 holiday meals!!

    This looks awesome by the way!

  3. Eileen said, on May 1, 2014 at 8:24 PM

    I love migas with a wild abandon, but I’ve never tried making them with tofu. Sounds like such a good idea! NOM.

  4. Johanna GGG said, on May 2, 2014 at 5:17 AM

    does christmas in july count :-)

    I’ve never heard of migas but the idea of eating tofu with corn tortillas through it and arepas on the side is just my sort of thing any time of day – I have even run my eye over the ingredients list with a check that I have just about everything except coriander which I never have.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 2, 2014 at 10:44 AM

      Johanna, are you one of those cilantro soap tasters? :)
      I imagine your Christmas in July would be more akin to our Christmas, since it would be your winter!

  5. Deborah Smikle-Davis said, on May 2, 2014 at 4:15 PM

    Hi Janet,
    I just hopped over from Healthy Vegan Friday and I am delighted to see your yummy tofu recipe I love tofu and eat it a couple of times a week in various ways so it is pleasure to discover a new way to enjoy it. It looks so tasty and satisfying! Feel free to hop by and share your delicious, vegan recipes with us at the Plant Based

    Potluck Party Link Up (http://urbannaturale.com/share-the-food-fun-at-the-plant-based-potluck-party-link-up-10/)

  6. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 3, 2014 at 12:22 AM

    I have definitely never planned meals that far in advance – usually I am lucky if I manage to get a themed post in a few days before the event! I also manage to miss Cinco de Mayo every year. It’s not really a thing here in Australia, and I always try to remember it (because I’d love an occasion to throw myself into Mexican) but never manage to. Your meal looks great :)

  7. Joanne said, on May 5, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    My goal is always to have that much foresight, but it never quite works out that way…. These migas look awesome! I have a feeling I’ll be making them well after Cinco de Mayo.

  8. mihl said, on May 7, 2014 at 1:47 AM

    We don’t celebrate Cinco de Mayo so that probably means that I am allowed to eat this year round!


What do you think?

