the taste space

Mini Chocolate Banana Flax Cakes (Raw, No-Bake) & Raw, Quick & Delicious Cookbook Giveaway

Posted in Book Review, Desserts by janet @ the taste space on May 8, 2014

Mini Chocolate Banana Flax Cakes (Raw, No-Bake)

I don’t think I have ever eaten so many bananas in one day. I lost count, but I think I ate eight during the Shiner GASP. Never mind the oranges, peanuts and bars, oh and lots of water. I had those, too, but ate a banana nearly every rest stop. Rob and I also had some almost-sorry bananas after the hot weekend. My friend stepped on the tip of one by mistake so I knew I had to eat it soon. Too impatient to wait for them to freeze for smoothies, I made these mini cakes instead. 5 ingredients and 15 minutes later, I had a fudgy, gooey, chocolately delight.

5 ingredients, 15 minutes seems gimmicky, but it is the premise of Doug McNish’s latest cookbook: Raw, Quick and DeliciousI have been sitting on this one for a while. During the winter, I had little desire to eat raw foods but now that summer has arrived, my time is short, I cannot eat through this cookbook fast enough. Smoothies, salads, and dressings, McNish has you covered for interesting combinations (spiced apricot smoothie, caprese stacked salad, curried carrot dressing). Furthermore, he includes breakfasts (cashew scramble wrap), main courses (raw sweet potato enchiladas!), snacks (cinnamon apple almond stacks!) and desserts (pecan pie brownies), none of which ask for a dehydrator or take too long to create. Some recipes call for sub-recipes throughout the book, though, but nothing seems too onerous. He focused on sharing recipes without fancy equipment or techniques, letting vegetables shine.

Mini Chocolate Banana Flax Cakes (Raw, No-Bake)

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from this simple concoction. Needless to say, I was sceptical, but I ran with it. Doug knows his food.

Gooey chocolate bliss.  The bananas create a soft, gooey consistency that is held together with the flax seeds, but there are enough flax seeds to give this some structure, too. Since it takes only 10 minutes to set and no baking is required, it is a bit gooey, but who doesn’t like their chocolate cake super moist? I particularly liked it with the accent of the fresh banana slices to counter the darker chocolate flavour. (FYI, I tried it first with less agave, but tasted it and felt it deserved the full amount).

Need a way to eat copious amounts of flax seeds with glee? This would be it! You certainly don’t taste it.

There are a few selected photos in the cookbook and they are gorgeous, including this one for these cakes:

Mini Chocolate Banana Flax Cakes (Raw Quick and Delicious)

 

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to share the recipe and giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the cookbook, please leave a comment below telling me about your quickest and/or easiest raw dish. The winner will be selected at random on May 20, 2014. Good luck!

Recipes from Raw, Quick and Delicious spotted elsewhere:

Date Muesli
Quick Thai Cream Sauce
Grapefruit Mint and Arugula Salad
Avocado Cucumber Hand Rolls
Summer Corn Cakes
Curried Cashews and Mixed Vegetables
Steak and Potatoes

Squash Burrito
Mushroom Tart
Coconut Macaroons
Strawberry Coconut Shortcake Tart

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

PS. I am sharing this with Random RecipesDead Easy Desserts and to the last Raw Foods Thursday.

Mini Chocolate Banana Flax Cakes
From Raw, Quick and Delicious

Doug says: These cakes are soft and dense and have a wonderful rich, dark chocolate flavor, with none of the hidden ingredients or unhealthy fats of traditional desserts.

One 1/2-cup (125 mL) ramekin, lined with plastic wrap (Janet’s note: I used a 1/2 cup measuring cup)
1 1/2 cups chopped bananas (Janet’s note: plus extra banana slices for garnish)
1/2 cup raw agave nectar
2/3 cup raw cacao powder (Janet’s note: I used regular cocoa powder)
Dash raw vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups ground flax seeds

1. In a food processor fitted with the metal blade, combine bananas, agave nectar, cacao powder and vanilla. Process until smooth, stopping motor to scrape down sides of work bowl as necessary. Transfer to a bowl. (Janet’s note: I just left it in the food processor. Less mess this way)

2. Add ground flax seeds and mix well. Cover and set aside for 10 minutes to allow seeds to absorb the liquid and swell.
Using a 1/2 cup (125 mL) measure, scoop mixture into prepared ramekin (or measuring cup) and, using your fingers, gently press to distribute evenly. Turn ramekin over onto a serving plate and tap on the bottom to release cake. Repeat until all of the mixture has been used. Serve immediately or cover and refrigerate for up to 3 days.

Makes 6 small cakes

Courtesy Robert Rose Inc., www.robertrose.ca

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Niheala said, on May 8, 2014 at 6:48 AM

    I like Raw apple almond cookie 4# cored apples in food processor, put in a bowl and add 4 C almonds (processed for one minute)
    2C raisins, 3 T cinnamon, mix then scoop on to dyer sheet flatten to cookie shape, dehydrate at 105 for 10 hrs’ flip half way at about 5 hrs. recipe from Portia’s Creatioins
    Love your blog!

  2. Shannon @ Yup, it's Vegan said, on May 8, 2014 at 7:50 AM

    Smoothie night for us! I love raw cakes and cheesecakes but in terms of what’s super quick and easy, green smoothies are basically all that i do. These cakes look delicious!

  3. Concetta said, on May 8, 2014 at 8:32 AM

    Looking forward to a warm tomato from the garden with a sprinkle of salt. Perfect.

  4. Molly said, on May 8, 2014 at 10:13 AM

    Zucchini pasta, of course! :)

  5. Rebecca said, on May 8, 2014 at 11:51 AM

    I love bruschetta with extra garlic and basil, spread on sourdough bread with avocados.

  6. Jackie said, on May 8, 2014 at 12:53 PM

    I like spring roll.

  7. Lisa said, on May 8, 2014 at 1:16 PM

    That is an intriguing recipe and so is the book. One of my favorite and quickest raw treats are carob peanut butter balls.

  8. CJ Singh said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:10 PM

    My favorite is Julienne cut carrots (2 medium), cucumber (1/2 medium, peeled and seeds removed), radicchio (1/8 of a medium sized, thinly sliced – soak in hot water for 10 mins), mung lentil sprouts (handful), apple (1/2 medium) and raw/green mango (1/2 medium sized).
    Mix every thing – add Kosher sea salt, crushed black pepper and the best part ….. capers and chopped basil (lightly sauteed for 2 min in 1 teaspoonful of olive oil).
    It makes a light weight, tasty and healthy salad for summer – I sometimes add tofu crumbles for protein

  9. heathergfc said, on May 8, 2014 at 3:29 PM

    Wow! Way to help the Raw Foods Thursdays Hiatus begin with a bang! LOVE it!

  10. Carry Porter said, on May 8, 2014 at 4:30 PM

    I’m always looking for ways to incorporate more flax into my diet. These look like an interesting idea! Do you think dates would be an appropriate substitute for the agave for people that don’t eat any refined sweeteners?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 8, 2014 at 5:09 PM

      Dates could possibly work but it would need to be a liquidy paste to get the right consistency. Please let me know how it goes!

      • Carry Porter said, on May 8, 2014 at 5:35 PM

        I should have probably said date paste, which is usually made with a 1:1 ratio of dates and water.

  11. marnee said, on May 8, 2014 at 5:25 PM

    My favorite meal is summer rolls with peanut sauce. It can take a little time to put together so on those days when I want to hurry it up, I just put all the veggies (lettuce, green onion, bell pepper, cucumber, shredded carrots, & avocado) cut up into a bowl and toss with some of the peanut sauce. It’s by far my favorite main salad.:)

  12. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 8, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    Wow I love this! You’re so right, Doug knows his food!

    Favourite somple raw dish- can I saw sliced apple and almond butter? Or is that toooo simple? Ok how about apple with raw almond butter sprinkle with cacao nibs and coconut flakes. Yes? ;)

  13. Eileen said, on May 8, 2014 at 8:58 PM

    I definitely won’t so no to a cake like this! NOM. You can take me out of the running for prizes, since I just won one (thanks again!), but I think my favorite raw dishes fall into the nut cheese category. Who doesn’t want a delicious, tangy cashew spread on some fresh raw veg? I ask you. :)

  14. gabsodon said, on May 8, 2014 at 9:10 PM

    This looks delicious! I love fudgey brownies, it’s one of the few things I really love chocolate in so these super moist squishy ones are perfect. Did I really just use squishy to describe a cake? Yes I did, I mean it in the best way possible.
    I’m a big breakfast person, I eat breakfast foods a few times a day, even as “dessert”. The raw version of cereal that’s super fast is just chopped up apple, banana, whatever fruits I have, and throw in nuts or trail mix, and probably some natural PB blobs.

  15. Josiane said, on May 8, 2014 at 10:04 PM

    A quick and easy raw dish I love is chia seeds pudding. It’s like a blank canvas that I can reinvent every time by adding whatever I have on hand at the time: fresh or dried fruits, raw homemade almond-cashew yogurt, cacao, sprouted buckwheat granola, etc. No matter what add-ins I go for, it always turns out great!

  16. Melissa said, on May 9, 2014 at 12:33 AM

    raw chocolate hemp pudding… yum!

  17. dianaveggienextdoor said, on May 9, 2014 at 1:03 AM

    Chocolate avocado pudding!

  18. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 9, 2014 at 6:02 AM

    These look great! I love the ingredient list – bananas are definitely a versatile fruit :)

  19. […] Raw, Quick & Delicious cookbook at The Taste Space – Open to US and Canada – Ends May 20 […]

  20. Ellen Lederman said, on May 9, 2014 at 3:38 PM

    I need to be brave and try this. I’ve been loving the hot fudge oatmeal pudding cake for breakfast. Just a little scared since the last time I made a recipe heavy with flax seeds (6 Tablespoons, subbing for 6 eggs in a nonvegan flourless chocolate torte), it was very rubbery. And I don’t love the taste of flax, even though I will sprinkle a tablespoon on my granola. But I trust you…and want to be open-minded, so I will try this.

    favorite simple raw dish: zucchin noodles with sun dried tomato sauce.

  21. Michelle said, on May 9, 2014 at 3:47 PM

    My current quick-fix is kale salad or zucchini noodles massaged in lemon tahini dressing. I’m addicted to tahini at the moment :)

  22. rika@vm said, on May 9, 2014 at 8:06 PM

    Let’s see….the easiest raw meal I’ve made was definitely walnut pesto with zucchini noodles, and avocado ‘fries’ drenched in nooch & seasonings & flax seeds.

  23. sarahcttr said, on May 9, 2014 at 8:55 PM

    definitely a hummus platter!

  24. The vegan 8 said, on May 10, 2014 at 7:49 AM

    These sure look pretty!! I sure wish I was a banana fan …I can’t imagine eating that many bananas…wow. Sounds like a great, east book!

  25. […] loving ALL your ideas for quickie meals – both your suggestions for your easiest cooked and raw […]

  26. Emma said, on May 10, 2014 at 1:18 PM

    I would never have guessed this was raw. It looks like a gooey chocolate mug cake! Sounds like a wonderful book. I’m setting some goals for cooking (or uncooking) at least one recipe from my books a week this summer. There are so many beautiful recipes I’m dying to make.
    I’m going to read through everyone’s quick meal suggestions now :)

  27. Lydia Claire said, on May 11, 2014 at 5:24 AM

    Probably not too original but smoothies with lots of greens and fruit!

  28. Tina @ The Spicy Pear said, on May 12, 2014 at 7:39 AM

    This looks like a lovely recipe. I think bananas and chocolate go so well together. Thank you for sharing this on this month’s Dead Easy Desserts.

  29. Jessica Eagle said, on May 12, 2014 at 12:25 PM

    Ohhhh…thanks Janet for this wonderful giveaway :)

    My favorite quick/easy raw food ?! A big salad full of spinach, kale, tomato, cucumber and all kind of raw vegetables…Miummm !!! Also, I really enjoy zucchini pasta :) And of course, a green smoothie :)

  30. thepeacepatch said, on May 12, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    Veg wraps are the fastest for me…I’ve always got big green leaves and loads of fruits, veggies, dressings and nuts in the fridge.

  31. Terri Cole said, on May 13, 2014 at 5:03 PM

    I am a fan of frozen banana “ice cream”.

  32. Interesting. I’m curious to see how this turns out – sounds good. Thanks for the tip on the agave – I normally like to half my sweetener.

  33. imacomet said, on May 14, 2014 at 11:45 AM

    Looks delish!! Can’t wait to try it out for myself! I love banana ice cream with (almost) raw peanut butter coconut chocolate chip cookie dough. So good on a hot summer evening!

  34. jacquie said, on May 14, 2014 at 10:15 PM

    i have yet to try frozen banana ice cream but from what i have heard that would be the best.

  35. veganzlatan said, on May 18, 2014 at 3:17 PM

    Smoothies and frozen banana ice cream

  36. Jenny said, on May 19, 2014 at 11:16 AM

    My quickest and easiest would be a salad. I don’t have the creativity to come up with the stuff of raw foodies

  37. Dave said, on May 20, 2014 at 10:35 PM

    For the the quickest raw meal is to throw everything in a blender and make a soup

  38. […] Chocolate banana flax cakes by Taste Space […]

  39. Sarah, Maison Cupcake said, on June 25, 2014 at 5:34 PM

    You know I thought this was Christmas pudding at first glance but I think what you’ve made sounds far nicer. Thanks for submitting this entry, I have finally published the round up and announced new event theme today.

  40. […] Chocolate banana flax cakes by Taste Space […]


What do you think?

