the taste space

Asian Kale Salad with Edamame

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by Janet M on May 20, 2014

Asian Kale Salad with Edamame

We reached critical mass last weekend.

I am not joking.

We ran out of room in the refrigerator.

Who knew greens could take up so much space?

I loaded up at our favourite market. $7 got us heaps of produce along with our $5 case of mangoes. The mangoes and bananas didn’t go into the fridge, but it was hard enough to get my bag of 9 leeks ($1!) and 3 heads of Boston lettuce ($1!) in there.

But then, I went to the potluck. How could I not support buying some freshly picked organic kale grown by school children from a nearby elementary school? And that is how I also ended up with a good 3-4 bunches worth of kale and could barely close my fridge.

Asian Kale Salad with Edamame

Thank goodness Rob hasn’t strangled me just yet.

With prices so low, we don’t feel as guilty if I don’t eat through everything. But I try!!

Bring on the kale salads !!

Instead of tackling all the leeks and my new produce, I decided to dig through my vegetable bins to find the older vegetables. Finish off the snap peas, carrots and bell peppers, and the last of the scraggly cilantro and scallions. For protein, I quick-thawed some edamame.

This combination reminded me of my vegetable buddha salad bowl but since we’re low on miso, I went with a dressing more reminiscent of my (other) raw Asian kale salad with edamame. With so many colourful vegetables and an Asian dressing, how could you go wrong?

Please share with me your favourite kale and leek recipes! Also, for fresh chickpeas since I scored those too! :)

Asian Kale Salad with Edamame

PS. This is my submission to Definition Magazine Summer Salad Redux Recipe Contest and this week’s Souper Sundays.

Contest_SummerSalad_Banner

Asian Kale Salad with Edamame

6 cups kale (100g prepped), stemmed and thinly sliced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (250 ml) sugar snap peas, trimmed and chopped in half
1 cup (250 ml) carrot, peeled and julienned (you can also buy this pre-cut)
1 bell pepper (250 ml) , chopped (I used a mix of yellow and red)
1 cup (250 ml) edamame, thawed if frozen
2 tablespoon green onion, chopped
1/4 cup (60 ml) cilantro, chopped
1 tablespoon fresh basil, thinly sliced (optional)

2 tablespoon (30 ml) rice vinegar
2 tablespoon (30 ml)  lime juice
1 teaspoon (5 ml) toasted sesame oil
2 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
1 teaspoon (5 ml) grated ginger

1. In a large bowl, place chopped kale. Sprinkle with salt and massage for 3-5 minutes, until it wilts and turns a darker shade of green. Allow to sit as you prepare he rest of the ingredients.

2. To the kale, add sugar snap peas, carrot, red pepper, edamame, green onion, cilantro and basil. Mix to combine. My hands worked best for this.

3. In a small cup/bowl, combine rice vinegar, lime juice, toasted sesame oil, garlic and ginger. Adjust seasoning to taste. Drizzle dressing overtop salad prior to serving.

Serves 2.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sprint2thetable said, on May 20, 2014 at 8:32 AM

    One of the things I am most fascinated by in Europe is how small the refrigerators are. I can’t imagine how I’d last!

    This looks delicious. I love the basil and cilantro in it! For the chickpeas, have you ever tried sprouting them? It’s one of my favorite things to do with them. I wrote a post on it, but I’m guessing you’ve done this before. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 20, 2014 at 10:02 AM

      Hey Laura, Europeans are much bigger on shopping as they go, if I recall correctly whereas we’re more about the shop once a week.. I haven’t sprouted my own chickpeas (I have done alfalfa though) but I have bough them from the store, pre-sprouted… and I can’t say I like the taste that much. I much prefer them cooked :)

      • sprint2thetable said, on May 20, 2014 at 5:44 PM

        Oh yes – they have to shop every 2-3 days. Bread is daily! Wish we had such fresh bread widely available here!

  2. Rob said, on May 20, 2014 at 8:35 AM

    I wouldn’t strangle you, Janet!

  3. Andrea said, on May 20, 2014 at 11:51 AM

    We’re doing better at keeping the fridge less full and shopping on an ‘as needed’ basis, but the freezer is currently bursting at the seams. One of the freezer-hogging culprits is a giant bag of edamame, so I’m always looking for edamame recipes!

  4. Johanna GGG said, on May 20, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    this is the sort of salad I don’t make often enough but I swear if someone else made it for me I would eat it by the bowlful with much gratitude

    wish I could even contemplate 3 to 4 bunches of kale in our fridge – two is pushing it

  5. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 21, 2014 at 12:53 AM

    I relate to the fridge space issue! Vegetables can take up an unearthly amount of space! It sounds like you’re putting them to good use though, and this salad sounds fantastic :) Yum!

    (PS. In answer to your question on my blog, we’re still waiting on my husband’s visa to arrive so our departure date is TBC! Probably a few weeks, all going well…)

  6. […] The Taste Space shared Asian Kale Salad with Edamame […]

  7. Joanne said, on May 23, 2014 at 1:46 PM

    My fridge sounds kind of like that right now…spinach is in there TO THE MAX. Also because I got a good deal on it. Not as good as yours, but good for NYC prices. Love the sound of this salad!

  8. kimmythevegan said, on May 25, 2014 at 7:52 PM

    What a pretty, fun summer salad =)

  9. Deb in Hawaii said, on May 25, 2014 at 9:28 PM

    So much great color and crunch! ;-) Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays this week.

  10. milkandbun said, on May 26, 2014 at 5:42 AM

    Colorful and healthy salad, so good for the summer time! :)


What do you think?

