the taste space

Lemon Ginger Hemp Bites

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on May 27, 2014

Gena's Hemp Cocoa Energy Bites

I have been a bit quiet on the cycling front.

I kind of poured my everything into the Shiner GASP and let my body (and mind) recover as needed. Rob and I kept cycling, but nothing over 50 km.  There is no point in cycling if you aren’t having fun. It pales to our upcoming distances, but I just didn’t have it inside me to resume our crazy adventures.

Three weeks later and I got my mojo back.  I started swapping my morning gym with longer routes to work. Rob would join me. On his road bike, no less, which was a good motivator to keep pushing it on my commuter, while carrying all my stuff for work on my back. I managed to squeeze an extra 50 km, in addition to my regular commute, over the 2 days we tried this out. Sadly, the forecast is all rain this week, so I may return to the gym after all.

Gena's Hemp Cocoa Energy Bites

With the long weekend, Rob and I had time to both relax and fit in some longer cycling. A perfect balance, methinks. 50 km and 107 km, including an urban hilly ride. Thankfully we made it home yesterday before the torrential rain, which is merely a preview for the week.

In any case, I made these delicious snack bites to tote along for our longer ride. They were inspired by a reader, Jessica, who encouraged me to try adding ginger and turmeric to Gena’s Hemp Cocoa Energy Bites. I love it when you guys know me too well!

No stranger to sharp, fresh ginger in sweets (remember my Matcha Ginger Smoothie?), I didn’t add enough turmeric for it to be a strong taste. I will admit that I added the ginger because I like its taste but its anti-inflammatory properties are a bonus. However, I added the turmeric specifically because of its anti-inflammatory properties (I really don’t like its taste in strong amounts!). The dates sweet this nicely and the hemp protein powder gives it a grassy/earthy undertone which complements the sweetness perfectly.

What do you think of turmeric? Do you try to incorporate into more of your foods? Any recipes you recommend?

Gena's Hemp Cocoa Energy Bites

Lemon Ginger Hemp Protein Bites
Adapted from Gena’s Hemp Cocoa Energy Bites

1 inch knob of ginger
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
1 cup ground cashews
1 cup pitted dates
1/4 cup hemp protein powder (I used Hemp Pro 70)
1 tsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp lemon extract

1. In a food processor fitted with its S-blade, process ginger until it is in small bits. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until combined and sticks together. If your dates are dry, you may need to add a few drops of water until it sticks together. Roll dough into 1-inch size balls. Refrigerate for an hour and then snack away.

Makes 16-18 bites.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 28, 2014 at 2:12 AM

    What a gorgeous twist on Gena’s hemp energy bites! I love the sound of them – and have never had turmeric in a truffle ball :)

    • Jenny said, on October 17, 2014 at 10:00 PM

      I agree, they look delicious! Can’t wait to make some myself.

  2. […]           … And I just couldn’t have a list without food in it – these lemon ginger hemp bites by Janet over at the Taste Space had me drooling at first sight and would go so perfectly with my […]

  3. Choclette said, on May 28, 2014 at 5:48 AM

    Goodness, I love turmeric, but have never added it to sweet foods before. Date balls are a fantastic source of energy though and a great way of adding in extra nutrients.

  4. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on May 29, 2014 at 6:36 PM

    Love the sounds of a lemon ginger bite and I love even more that you added in turmeric for some inflammation fighting power!!

    P.S. So close to when you visit!

  5. rockmyvegansocks said, on May 30, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    I’ll admit that I’m basically a sucker for any sort of cute little bite-sized snack! These look great =)
    Love the ginger & lemon combo! I use it enough in my cooking – why not my snacks & treats?

  6. […] have been conquered. A month ago, Rob and I rode the 165-km Shiner GASP and I finally got my riding mojo back a few weeks ago in time to ride the 2-day/334-km Rideau Lake Cycle Tour (RLCT) with my father […]

  7. […]           … And I just couldn’t have a list without food in it – these lemon ginger hemp bites by Janet over at the Taste Space had me drooling at first sight and would go so perfectly with my […]


What do you think?

