the taste space

Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles

Posted in Salads by Janet M on May 29, 2014

Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles

Desserts and salads, that’s just the way we’re rolling here these days.

There is just something so pretty about colourful vegetables, I had to share this fun twist on salad. Vegetable noodles, either created with a spiralizer, a shredder, or careful knife skills, can totally change your view on salad.

Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles

Rob cheers every time we finish something. I actually apologized when I finished the balsamic vinegar but Rob gave me a high five. I am a bit antsy about the lack of smoked paprika in the house, too, but pretty confident we’ll replenish it before we return to Canada (because: PENZEY’S!).

The tahini may be dwindling but I have lots of sesame seeds. I haven’t resorted to making my own homemade tahini yet, but it could be fun to try. Until then, my sesame seeds are usually garnishes.

This salad dressing is a fun twist on a creamy sauce, since it is made with tahini with accents from the rice vinegar, mustard and lemon pepper seasoning. As I said, the salad was fun to create, too: spiralized zucchini is tossed with shredded carrots, thinly sliced red cabbage and instead of edamame (which would be good, too), I added sweet sugar snap peas. A bit different but fun for a change. And nice when you do not feel like cooking.

Note: I am pleading fifth amendment about the coconut flour. Some things were just meant to return to Canada. ;)

Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles

PS. This is my submission to Definition Magazine Summer Salad Redux Recipe ContestSouper SundaysExtra Veg and Four Seasons Food.

Contest_SummerSalad_Banner

Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles

1 large zucchini (~1 lb)
1 cup (250 mL) sugar snap peas, ends trimmed and chopped
5-6 leaves red cabbage, rolled and thinly sliced
1 large carrot, peeled and grated
1 green onion, chopped
1/4 cup (60 mL)  chopped cilantro
tahini sauce, as much as desired (see below)
2 tablespoons (30 mL) sesame seeds, toasted if desired

1. Spiralize your zucchini or julienne by hand. Combine the remainder of the vegetables in a bowl. Drizzle with your dressing and sprinkle with the sesame seeds.

Serves 1.

Tahini Sauce

3 tablespoons (45 mL) tahini
2 tablespoons (30 mL) Bragg’s liquid aminos (or low-sodium soy sauce)
3 tablespoons (45 mL) water
1 tablespoon (15 mL) maple syrup or sweetener of choice
1 tablespoon (15 mL) rice vinegar
1/2 teaspoon (2.5 mL) Aleppo chile flakes, or to taste
1 teaspoon (5 mL)  Dijon mustard, or mustard of choice
1/4 teaspoon (1 mL) lemon pepper seasoning, or to taste

1. Mix all ingredients together until smooth.

Makes ~3/4 cup.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rszumlak said, on May 29, 2014 at 6:29 AM

    We just finished some tea this morning! All right! High five!

  2. sprint2thetable said, on May 29, 2014 at 7:42 AM

    I get way too excited when I finish things too. Totally irrational since that just means I have to replace it… but I feel so accomplished! And that extra space in the pantry is so nice for the day or so that it remains open.

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on May 29, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    Did you guys completely finish all the tea from the Teavana after-Christmas sale? If so, double high fives to you both; we are still working on it.

    Salad and dessert = perfect summer meal. This salad sounds excellent. The spiralizer is begging to be used, so this will be made for next week.

  4. Ellen Lederman said, on May 29, 2014 at 1:31 PM

    I was rooting for you to finish the coconut flour…although not too hard, since mine is just sitting there and then I’d feel bad that I wasn’t using it more…

  5. gabsodon said, on May 29, 2014 at 3:49 PM

    There’s totally a spot in your suitcase for coconut flour! I have smoked paprika and various spices if you ever want to borrow some, or if you must buy new things than leave them behind, I will give them a very cozy home :)
    Spiral user is going on my amazon list ASAP, I’ve put off getting one for too long!

  6. coconutandberries said, on May 29, 2014 at 4:45 PM

    I think it’s time to pull out my spiralizer again!
    haha, that coconut flour thing still cracks me up ;) I get pretty excited when I finish something in my pantry too. You don’t even want to know how many nut butters I counted today…..Let’s just say it’s in the double digits!

  7. […] The Taste Space shared Colorful Veggie Tahini Noodles […]

  8. Matt said, on May 30, 2014 at 7:41 AM

    I love my Penzey’s smoked paprika!! I will be sad when it runs out.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on May 30, 2014 at 7:52 AM

      To think we went through 4 oz (almost a cup!) of smoked paprika in less than a year!! I think Rob will approve a Penzey’s spree before we leave :)

  9. rockmyvegansocks said, on May 30, 2014 at 8:39 AM

    Mmmm this sounds like a pretty refreshing spring/summer salad. Yum!

  10. cookeasyvegan said, on May 30, 2014 at 11:23 PM

    I love tahini sauce over zucchini noodles — or any noodles! Your salad looks so fresh and bright it makes me want to go buy some zucchini so I can make some tomorrow!

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on May 31, 2014 at 3:44 AM

    Desserts and salads are just fine by me :) This salad ticks all my ‘love’ boxes. It’s gorgeous!

  12. shaheen said, on May 31, 2014 at 10:33 AM

    Thank you for linking to Exta Veg, its so pretty – too pretty to eat :) But I want to tuck in.

  13. […] The Taste Space: Colourful Veggie Tahini Noodles […]

  14. Ellen Lederman said, on June 5, 2014 at 8:31 PM

    Excellent! I wanted to make this because all the ingredients appealed to me but I had no idea it would be this flavorful! So satisfying and filling. Only sub I made was to stir fry the sugar snaps since I felt they would taste better than raw (raw food people, please avert your eyes from this confession!).

  15. Deb in Hawaii said, on June 8, 2014 at 10:19 PM

    This is just the kind of decadent veggie noodle bowl I would love to tuck into–especially with a good portion of that creamy tahini sauce. Yum! Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays. ;-)

  16. Alicia (foodycat) said, on June 9, 2014 at 3:00 AM

    This looks wonderful!


What do you think?

