the taste space

Green Pea Curry (Mattar Masala)

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on June 2, 2014

Green Peas Curry (Mattar Masala)

Rob did some more investigating. He found a program that would figure out if I had any duplicate files irregardless of the name.

WOO!  After three days, my program to find duplicate files on your external hard drive has completed.  It has found at least 172 GB of duplicate files.  We need to clean them up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

His emphasis, not mine.

So apparently, I come with baggage. Electronic baggage.

There used to be a time when I couldn’t fit everything on my hard drive, but once I had 1 Tb on my external hard drive, I haven’t thought much about my space usage.

Rob didn’t appreciate my old school way of culling my photos: copying them into a new folder. Sometimes I had 4-5 copies of the same photo with my disjointed backing up. Now we get to do some culling!

Green Peas Curry (Mattar Masala)
Rob is doing a great job tackling our leftover food stuffs. This was an absolutely, wonderfully delicious pea curry he made with the peas in the freezer and spices from the pantry. I am not saying that just because Rob made it and everything tastes better when someone else cooks for you, but honestly this was gourmet Indian and made me a pea-lover. I love beans but peas are not as high in my “love list” but this, guys, was incredible.

Creamy with a rich-tomato broth with bright green peas, this was a keeper. Sadly, this curry has a really long ingredient list, which seems almost disjointed and muddy, but have faith. This was delicious and completely worth the effort (and definitely Rob’s effort!).

Do you like peas?

PS. I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes.

Green Pea Curry (Mattar Masala)
Adapted from Lisa’s Kitchen

1/4 cup raw cashews, chopped
1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds
4 whole cloves
1 1/2 inch piece cinnamon stick
2 black cardamon pods, slightly crushed
1/2 tsp Aleppo chile flakes
1 medium onion, chopped
1.5 inch piece fresh ginger, chopped
1 clove garlic, chopped
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 medium tomatoes, diced
8-10 frozen curry leaves
3 cups green peas (thawed if frozen)
1 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp Aleppo chile powder
1/2 tsp amchoor powder (optional)
pinch of asafoetida
3/4 tsp garam masala
1 1/2 tsp sea salt, or to taste
fresh cilantro, for garnish

1. Begin by making the masala paste: In a large skillet over medium-low heat, roast cashews until lightly browned and fragrant, around 5-7 minutes. Remove form heat to cool, then place in a food processor.

2. In the same skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Once hot, add mustard seeds, cumin seeds and fenugreek seeds and stir for 30-60 seconds, or until the mustard seeds begin to pop. Quickly add the cloves, cinnamon stick, cardamom pods and chile flakes, cover and gently wiggle the skillet occasionally, so the spices do not burn.

3. Add the onion and saute for 5 minutes, until softened and browned. Add the ginger and garlic, stirring for 1 minute more, without allowing to burn. Deglaze with the tomatoes, stirring to incorporate the spices. Cook for 5-10 minutes until thickened, stirring throughout so it does not burn. Stir in the cilantro and allow to wilt, around 1 minute. Remove from heat and add to the food processor. Fish out the cardamom pods and cinnamon sticks because they won’t do anything in the food processor. Next, pulse into you achieve a smooth paste. Return the cinnamon stick and cardamom pods. (This paste can be saved at this point; store in the refrigerator until needed).

4. For the curry, in a large saucepan over medium heat. Once hot, add onion and saute for 5 minutes until softened and lightly brown. Add the tomatoes and curry leaves, simmering until the tomatoes cook down, around 5-10 minutes. Add peas and cook for 4-5 minutes, until the peas are just tender. Stir in the masala paste, turmeric, ground coriander, chile powder, amchoor powder, asafoetida, garam masala and salt. Add 1/2 to 1 cup of water, to achieve your desired level of sauciness. Cover and simmer for another 10 minutes, stirring occasionally so that it does not stick. Add additional water, if required. Remove form heat and let stand for 5 minutes to cool, prior to serving. Fish out the cinnamon stick, cardamom pods and any other bits not pulverized in the masala paste.

5. Serve with your choice of side (pictured with brown rice) and garnish with cilantro, if desired.

Serves 4.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sarojinididi said, on June 3, 2014 at 1:28 AM

    That looks and sounds wonderful! there’s nothing quite like a good curry… :)

  2. A Home Cook said, on June 3, 2014 at 2:05 AM

    Your Rob sounds like a real find. He can do IT and he can cook!

  3. Ellen Lederman said, on June 3, 2014 at 6:30 AM

    Yum! I do love green peas. I used to think they had little nutritional value, but then learned differently. This recipe sounds excellent. Can’t believe how much cilantro it takes, but the more the merrier! May have to sub out ground cardamom. It’s amazing how much taste curry leaves add.

    But true confession time: I bought fresh peas at the Asian market…and discovered I prefer the frozen ones better. The fresh ones were less green, harder, and less flavorful!

  4. Johanna GGG said, on June 3, 2014 at 6:33 AM

    I resolve to be so good about my computer and all the files but then I start new projects and suddenly photos multiply. Thank goodness for huge external hard drives. And your pea curry looks very sophisticated. I have a similar pea curry I had made quite a few times and loved but it has just some basic spices – http://gggiraffe.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/whb-spicy-pea-curry.html

  5. saraheclement said, on June 3, 2014 at 8:14 AM

    I really, really need that program! Do you know the name?

  6. Lisa said, on June 3, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Lovely. I am so glad you both got to try the dish with your adaptations. xo

  7. Eileen said, on June 3, 2014 at 1:04 PM

    Hey, a long ingredient list is ok! It looks like mostly spices, anyway — and those are always the foundation of a good curry. I heart peas, and this sounds like such a tasty way to eat them. :)

  8. cookeasyvegan said, on June 3, 2014 at 9:52 PM

    Whoa, you weren’t kidding about the ingredient list! Peas aren’t my favorite food — I mostly tolerate them — but the curry looks like it may make a pea lover out of me, too. I’m not afraid of a long ingredient list. I balk when there a long list of bowls and pots of clean!

  9. mihl said, on June 5, 2014 at 12:33 AM

    My hard drive probably looks very similar to yours…

    I love peas and I always have some in the freezer. They are so great in curries. I don’t mind a long ingredient list of spices!

  10. Joanne said, on June 7, 2014 at 11:15 AM

    Someone probably needs to come and do the same for me and my hard drive! Who knows how much crap I have on there. This might be a long ingredient list…but I think I have all the ingredients! WINNING.

  11. Corina said, on June 26, 2014 at 11:04 AM

    I love peas but sadly my husband wouldn’t appreciate this as much as I would.

  12. Jac -Tinned Tomatoes (@tinnedtoms) said, on June 29, 2014 at 1:42 PM

    I do love a good curry and this one looks exceptional. Now I am craving curry *sigh*

  13. julia said, on July 1, 2014 at 10:54 PM

    this was so delicious and fragrant! loved it. i’m thinking about next time using frozen shelled (green) favas or edamame to get a bit more protein in there… i wonder if other people have played around with these kind of substitutions?


What do you think?

