the taste space

Maple Sesame Crackers

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on June 3, 2014

Sesame Seaweed Snaps

Spring cleaning isn’t just happening in our kitchen. Rob has decided it was time to clean up our hard-drives, over-drives and Monkey drives, too. Mostly spurred because, after trying to amalgamate his important files with my important files, it would not fit on our 1 terabyte of online back-up space.

Rob thought it was a bit nuts.

My files are mostly photos. Mostly food, but also from travel and of family/friends.

My shutter count on my six-year-old camera is 101,501. That’s only ~17k photos a year.

Apparently I take too many photos. And I keep them all. And then some.

I will let him tackle the computer while I tackle the kitchen, thank you.

Sesame Seaweed Snaps

We seem to have an excess of sesame seeds. Sadly, I bought a pack late in the year when I couldn’t find my original package…. I thought we were out. Instead, now we have twice as many sesame seeds. With our sesame seed surplus, I also made these fun crackers.

A simple cracker made with sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, almonds and maple syrup. I remain a bit apprehensive of black sesame seeds since I don’t find them as flavourful as their whole counterparts, but they certainly make for a pretty cracker. The maple syrup bound it all together after baking. Maybe I don’t need brown rice syrup afterall? ;)

Have you checked? What is your shutter count?

PS. In my defence, I take much less photos than I used to….. and my camera has travelled to many fun places over the years)

PPS. To find your shutter count with a DSLR, you can find it embedded within the Exif information of a photo, and it can be easily unearthed through Picasa.

PPPS. I am sharing this with Bookmarked RecipesHealthy Vegan Fridays, and this month’s No Waste Food Challenge.

Sesame Seaweed Snaps

Maple Sesame Crackers
Adapted from Anja’s Food 4 Thought

1/4 cup white sesame seeds, toasted
1/4 cup black sesame seeds, toasted
1/4 cup sunflower seeds, toasted
1/4 cup almonds, finely chopped, toasted
1/4 cup maple syrup

1. Preheat oven to 325F. Line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper.

2. Meanwhile, toast your nuts and seeds if you have not already done. I recommend toasting them individually since they will burn at different times. Place in a glass bowl to cool. Pour maple syrup into the bowl. Mix until the batter is sticky and evenly coated.

3. Pour mixture onto parchment paper/silpat-lined pan and spread out evenly to fit approximately an 8×8″ size. Press down to flatten with a spatula or the back of a spoon.

4. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 325F. Let cool a few minutes on baking sheet then carefully remove bars from the baking sheet and the lining paper. Transfer to cooling rack, or simply turn bars upside down to cool and dry completely. Once cool, cut into desired sized squares.

Makes 16-20 squares.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Diane said, on June 3, 2014 at 9:32 AM

    I love the cracker idea but I don’t like sweet crackers. Is there another binder I could use to hold them together that isn’t sweet? Thanks

  2. sprint2thetable said, on June 3, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    I can’t believe this is basically all seeds. These would be so good with cheese… cashew or otherwise. ;)

  3. cookeasyvegan said, on June 3, 2014 at 12:36 PM

    The black seeds really do amp up the beauty factor, don’t they? These remind me of Middle Eastern sesame candies more so than crackers. They sound really delicious.

  4. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on June 3, 2014 at 8:04 PM

    I hear you on photo back up space becoming unwieldy. I take too many too, and tend not to delete the bad ones. I use my camera memory cards as storage too, so end up buying new memory cards more often than I could!

    These crackers look and sound delicious. It seems to be a positive that you ended up with surplus seeds ;)

  5. mihl said, on June 5, 2014 at 12:36 AM

    These look so good! I really love sesame crackers.

    I try to sort through my pictures and delete them from time to time. I also tag them when I am kind of bored. But I guess I would have to hire someone who does this more consistently than me.

  6. Joanne said, on June 7, 2014 at 4:44 PM

    I’m setting off on a road trip next weekend and I’m thinking these are the perfect cookie to bring!!

  7. rockmyvegansocks said, on June 16, 2014 at 9:03 PM

    I actually enjoy spring cleaning… but I haven’t cleaned off my computer in *way* too long. Or my phone. I keep putting it off and it just keeps getting worse and worse :/
    In other news – this looks like such a fun tasty little treat.

    • rockmyvegansocks said, on July 2, 2014 at 7:06 PM

      Ps. Thanks for sharing this on Healthy Vegan Fridays! I have pinned your entry on our Pinterest page =)

  8. Michelle Utterlyscrummy said, on June 29, 2014 at 9:17 AM

    What a delicious way to use up packets of seeds. We seem to have a few part packets so will definitely give these a go. I’m sure my family would love these to snack on, great for lunch boxes or after school munchies. Thanks for linking up with the No Waste Food Challenge this month :)

  9. Jac -Tinned Tomatoes (@tinnedtoms) said, on June 29, 2014 at 1:48 PM

    These look heavenly and so simple but no I definitely don’t want to know how many photos I take.

  10. Elizabeth said, on July 2, 2014 at 6:22 AM

    These look fantastic and super healthy! Thanks for sharing with the No Waste Food Challenge :)


What do you think?

