the taste space

Quick & Easy Salsa Chickpea Tacos

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on June 7, 2014

Salsa Chickpea Tacos

Did you know that Trader Joe’s is not in Canada? The closest thing we have (well, those who live in Vancouver) is Pirate Joe’s. They temporarily renamed themselves Irate Joe’s as they were being sued by TJ’s. TJ’s lost but is continuing to appeal. In any case, we’re getting our fair use of TJ’s while still in Houston.

Sadly, though, it took me 10 months to locate their perfect salsa. Their chunky salsa is totally my favourite. Perfectly spiced with a robust tomato flavour, I love it. I also managed to go through a container in less than a week.  I started adding it to everything.

In fact, this is such an easy recipe, it is almost non-recipe. I envision this as the perfect travelling meal – mix and eat. Until then, it will have a happy place in my kitchen.

Mix some salsa with chickpeas and chopped bell pepper. Throw it overtop some shredded broccoli and carrots for more crunch on a taco shell, and you’ve got a meal.  I topped mine with a healthy dose of nutritional yeast which became creamy and gooey with the extra salsa. Totally not optional for those who love nooch.

I may go into salsa withdrawal. Can anyone recommend a good recipe? I cannot imagine it being hard to make. ;)

Salsa Chickpea Tacos

PS. I am sharing this with Souper Sundays and this month’s My Legume Love Affair hosted by Susan.

Salsa Chickpea Tacos
Adapted from Happy Herbivore

1.5 cups cooked chickpeas
1/2 cup salsa (I am very partial to Trader Joe’s chunky salsa)
1 large red/orange/yellow bell pepper, finely chopped
2 cups extra veggies (we used a broccoli slaw mix, yes also from Trader Joe’s)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast, or to taste
4-6 corn tortillas

1. In a medium bowl, combine the chickpeas with the salsa and chopped bell pepper.

2. To create your taco, place the tortilla on a plate, top with the broccoli slaw, then the salsa chickpeas and dust with nutritional yeast (unpictured but very good!)

Serves 2.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mary Eggleston said, on June 7, 2014 at 10:39 AM

    I do make my own salsa and make it in big batches with just a few ingredients: 10 Roma tomatoes, 1/2 C yellow onion, 1bunch fresh cilantro, 1 jalapeño de-seeded, 1C corn, 1C black beans, fresh squeezed lemon juice to taste, pinch black pepper. All fresh ingredients, no cooking involved, just lots of dicing. You can eliminate the corn and beans, but my family likes the combination. All ingredients are to taste. I use it in everything just like you said!

  2. Johanna GGG said, on June 9, 2014 at 7:08 AM

    sounds good but the salsa I bought recently is so spicy that I am not sure I could cope with it in this recipe – and I don’t have a favourite salsa – we don’t have trader joes here in Oz but there seem to be more and more speciality stores where you can buy great products but at a price

  3. Gaby said, on June 9, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    This is exactly the kind of simple/ lazy meals I throw together. Not that I’m calling you lazy, it’s just that if it’s so delicious to simply open a can of chickpeas and a jar of salsa and it happens to take 3 seconds, why not! I’m also going through a nutritional yeast phase, that goes on everything! Tess also taught us the secret to cheesy pesto is a spoonful of miso. It’s amazing what a difference that makes!

  4. rockmyvegansocks said, on June 16, 2014 at 9:04 PM

    Trader Joe’s was one of the fun things about moving to the states from Canada. I haven’t tried their chunky salsa yet though. I shall try some to make with this recipe =)

  5. […] thought it was ice cream weather before but now it has become a dietary staple. Just like salsas, we will have to wean ourselves from the vegan ice creams at Trader […]

  6. Deb in Hawaii said, on June 22, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    There’s no Trader Joe’s in Hawaii either . ;-( I always stock up when I am on the mainland. These tacos do look quick, easy and very yummy. Thanks for sharing them with Souper Sundays this week. ;-)

  7. Susan said, on July 26, 2014 at 8:20 AM

    There’s a TJ about two miles from here. Next time I stop by, I will pick up a jar of this salsa on your recommendation. Thanks for the lead, Janet, and a simply delicious meal for MLLA.

  8. […] ask for his can opener for the beans. (Because salsa+beans=meal).  It is in the bag that went back to Ottawa. […]


What do you think?

