the taste space

Announcing my e-Cookbook: A Vegan Dinner Party & Giveaway

Posted in Book Review by janet @ the taste space on June 14, 2014

Vegan Dinner Party cookbookVegan Dinner Party cookbook

I know I share a lot of great cookbooks with you, but I am beyond excited to share with you a cookbook I have been working on myself over the last year. You guys know that I am a physician but you may not know what Rob does all day. He is a software programmer with special expertise in mobile platforms, like Android, iPhones, etc. For years, I have asked him to make me a “Taste Space App”. He has refused because the wordpress website is rather mobile-friendly. You can find everything you need through the search (if you already know what you’re looking for). It would take him too much time to create an app that would be more useful than what I already offer. So that was that.

But then I was approached to contribute to a new e-cookbook focusing on vegan dinner parties. I was honoured to be included amongst my co-authors: Allyson Kramer of Manifest Vegan and Anya Kassoff of Golubka Kitchen, both with their own gorgeous cookbooks. As an e-cookbook, the focus is on recipes you can access through multiple devices as it can be accessed online, on Kindle, iBooks, and Amazon.

Vegan Dinner Party cookbook

The cookbook includes 28 tried-and-true vegan recipes specifically for entertaining. Most are gluten-free and the benefit of 3 different authors give you a variety of recipes. I contributed some of my favourite recipes that are easy for entertaining, impressive and many of our guests have enjoyed eating. Some of the recipes have videos, too, showing you how to do some of the harder techniques.

Vegan Dinner Party cookbook

The cookbook is part of a series of e-cookbooks called Culinary Quandaries. The other cookbook published so far is a Gluten-Free Dinner Party, if you are interested in that, as well. As one of my readers, you can save 30% if you buy it through these links: A Vegan Dinner Party and A Gluten-Free Dinner Party (the discount should show up automatically). Furthermore, I am giving away a copy to one lucky reader (anywhere in the world).

For the giveaway, leave me a comment about your experiences with e-cookbooks. I will randomly select a comment on June 20, 2014. Good luck!

Vegan Dinner Party cookbook

48 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pomelo said, on June 14, 2014 at 7:24 AM

    Omigosh!!!!!!!!!! Yay!!!!! Congrats!!! I had no idea!!!

    How are you? Life is mad as we get ready to close on the house and weekends in Ottawa and Bahamas (long weekend!)….

    When do you leave for your trip? For TO?

    Xoxoxox Sheela

    >

  2. Niheala said, on June 14, 2014 at 7:55 AM

    My son is vegan so I will love useing this to make his first visit in 5 years special (we live on opposite coasts) I have used a few ecookbooks, like anything else some are well written, some not so much. I expect good things from you!

  3. Suzanne said, on June 14, 2014 at 8:02 AM

    Part of me r
    Likes e-cookbooks because I love having my recipes on my iPad. But I find the e versions les fun to sit down and flip through, looking for ideas, so I honestly have mixed feelings about them. I have several, but my go-to cookbooks are print. BTW, the links to your book leads to a site that requires that I join before I can see anything. I’m SO over doing that! Not gonna happen.

  4. sprint2thetable said, on June 14, 2014 at 8:09 AM

    I’ve never used an e-cookbook, but yours would be the one I’d try! I love everything of yours I’ve ever made. Congrats on the “baby.” ;)

  5. Saniel said, on June 14, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    Never done a ebook.not tech minded but willing to try

  6. Heidi said, on June 14, 2014 at 9:41 AM

    Way to go!!

  7. Jo from yummyvege said, on June 14, 2014 at 9:46 AM

    Congratulations on your book. I’ve no experience with e-cookbooks – although I’ve read a couple of fiction e-books. I love the idea of the videos being incorporated into a book, I’m sure it will be fun and useful.

  8. Connie said, on June 14, 2014 at 11:05 AM

    Congrats! I was wondering when you would get around to this! I make your recipes all the time ( Curried Chickpea salad with currants and carrots – YUM!!- one of my fave fave faves!!) I have gotten people hooked on this recipe at work and actually had someone email me about it yesterday. I’ll be sure to let them know that you have an ebook out, now.

  9. hayley fingerhut said, on June 14, 2014 at 11:45 AM

    What a great sounding publication. I use a few e-recipe books and some are better than others, usually based on how easy it is to navigate to sections within the book. Congratulations!

  10. mycookinglifebypatty said, on June 14, 2014 at 1:27 PM

    First Congratz on the published e-book. The cover photo is really beautiful too and very much makes me want to try it. I have not used an e-cookbook before but would love the convenience. Hope you pick me!

  11. Terri Cole said, on June 14, 2014 at 1:58 PM

    I have downloaded a few free cookbooks to my Kindle (I don’t have a smart phone). With the free books, it is usually a case of “you get what you pay for”.

    That said, your book looks fantastic!

  12. Julia said, on June 14, 2014 at 3:55 PM

    I’ve never tried an ecookbook, but I use them a lot for research, and find them useful but hugely variable in quality in terms of ease of use, etc. This one looks beautiful.

  13. Jessica Eagle said, on June 14, 2014 at 4:04 PM

    Ohhhh WOW !!! This is so cool !!! It is a such a good news and I’m pretty excited to see your cookbook. Congratulation Janet !!! I’m definitely interested in it :)

    Now, as far as my experience with e-cookbook, I have to say that it depends. It took me time to get used to it, because some are more user-friendly than others. However, I’m pretty impressed with your idea of including a video. I have no doubt that e-cookbook will be wonderful. You’re full of talent and you have wonderful partners too, so…!!! I hope to win. Yeahhh !!!

    Again, congratulation Janet !!!

  14. Mickele Bragg said, on June 14, 2014 at 4:51 PM

    I got so sucked into ebooks that I had to forbid electronics in bed! I do most of my cooking from recipes via my iPad.

  15. Di said, on June 14, 2014 at 7:07 PM

    e books are great because you can enlarge the text to better see the picture and read the text!!

  16. Anie U said, on June 14, 2014 at 10:26 PM

    I haven’t used an e-cookbook yet but would be very interested in doing so :)

  17. Josiane said, on June 15, 2014 at 1:04 AM

    Congratulations! It’s great that you got to publish some of your favorite recipes in an e-cookbook.
    I have a few e-cookbooks, and they are all simple PDF files. However, it looks like yours is in a format that goes beyond that, and I’d be curious to see how much of a difference it makes. It seems like it’d be a great way to make the most of the possibilities afforded by the medium. That would help it stand its own when compared to printed books, since those still have other advantages over ebooks. In short, I think printed books and ebooks are both interesting, and they’re even better when they make good use of their respective qualities.

  18. Elaine @ foodbod said, on June 15, 2014 at 1:13 AM

    Fabulous!! Congratulations!!! How exciting for you :))

  19. Lydia Claire said, on June 15, 2014 at 2:09 AM

    I have some ecookbooks but I don’t get to them the way I do recipes I’ve saved on Yumprint or in my physical books. I will always choose a more expensive physical book over an ebook (just being honest). Now if I could easily transfer my recipes to a site like Yumprint that would change things up a bit.

  20. Janet said, on June 15, 2014 at 8:36 AM

    I haven’t worked with an e-book cookbook yet but know one is in my future soon. There are so many good ones available.

  21. Johanna GGG said, on June 15, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Congratulations on the e-book – it looks great and I have been enjoying the recipes

  22. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on June 15, 2014 at 9:57 AM

    Congratulations Janet!! What a huge, and wonderful, achievement. It looks absolutely fantastic.

    Also, you and your partner and me and my partner do a good job of overlapping our professions ;) (I’m in health and Mr B is a computer programmer.)

  23. Yvonne said, on June 15, 2014 at 4:01 PM

    I have two e-cookbooks and have printed out both of them because I don’t own an IPad, so I have to take the printed recipes with me into the kitchen. I like that they are cheaper than a cookbook and that they don’t need paper so it’s better for the environment.
    But the luxury of flipping through a printed cookbook with beautiful pictures is something I wouldn’t want to live without!

  24. Nicole said, on June 15, 2014 at 4:36 PM

    Congratulations on being a part of this beautiful ebook, Janet!

  25. Boiling said, on June 15, 2014 at 9:29 PM

    I have never tried an e cookbook before!

  26. Elizabeth said, on June 16, 2014 at 2:38 AM

    I have never had an ecookbook before. Will this be my first? :)

  27. Jenny K said, on June 16, 2014 at 1:04 PM

    My experience has been hit and miss. Some are really great and you can search for recipes by specific ingredients (better than using the index) but for others, that function was not well-programmed

  28. Kate said, on June 16, 2014 at 4:17 PM

    This looks amazing, Janet! Although I’ve seen lots of great looking ebooks I have never actually bought one! I think it’s time :)

  29. Eileen said, on June 16, 2014 at 4:38 PM

    Ooh, congratulations! Such an exciting project. I’ve only read a few ecookbook samples before now, but I’m super excited to see what you three have come up with here! And PS: I totally want that plateful of rice paper rolls, even though I made some very similar ones the other day… :)

  30. myredsandals said, on June 16, 2014 at 6:08 PM

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX I don’t know what’s up with this comment box, but the “Enter your comment here” words never disappeared when I began typing, and the only way I could advance beyond it was to XXX through those words. Sorry!… As for your question, I’ve had a little experience with e-Cookbooks, and they are “OK”, but in my opinion, there is nothing quite like sitting in my easy chair, flipping through the cookbook of my choice, drooling over the pictures, browsing through the index at the back of the book, propping it up on my cookbook holder as I create a delectable dish to be inhaled. But, I am always willing to try again for the right author ;-) !

  31. Veganopoulous said, on June 16, 2014 at 6:52 PM

    Hit and miss with my ebook experience. Thanks for the giveaway!

  32. rockmyvegansocks said, on June 16, 2014 at 9:13 PM

    Congrats!!! That’s so exciting =)

  33. […] you so much for your positive response to my cookbook. You can see Johanna’s review of it […]

  34. Miss Polkadot said, on June 17, 2014 at 9:20 AM

    Maybe Rob intuitively knew you had bigger things coming up in your [cooking] life ;)?! Congratulations either way and fingers crossed for more e-books to come for you.
    While not specifically set out as an e-cookbook I downloaded one vegan cookbook on my Android a while ago. It’s been really handy to have on hand while shopping because I can easily forget an ingredient or two I need for a recipe if I didn’t write it down on my shopping list. Being able to double-check on my phone while out at the store or spontaneously browse for inspiration has been a true added bonus.

  35. erika said, on June 17, 2014 at 11:20 AM

    Congrats again Janet!!! I’ve only downloaded one “eating guide” ebook, so it wasn’t quite a traditional ecookbook, but it’s the closest I’ve got…it was really convenient since I usually cook while looking at recipes on my computer anyway! And I’m sure this one will be totally gorgeous :) Can’t wait!!

  36. Ami@NaiveCookCooks said, on June 17, 2014 at 11:24 AM

    Yay!! Congrats for your ebook!!

  37. lani said, on June 17, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    Anything you do turns to gold. I have 3 cookbooks but always worry how to put a meal together..Yours would be a blessing and a convenience!

  38. Sarah said, on June 17, 2014 at 6:44 PM

    I don’t have an ipad or tablet, so unless I print it out then I am constantly running back and forth to my laptop! However this doesn’t bother me if the recipe is delish!! :-)

  39. Simona said, on June 18, 2014 at 5:58 AM

    I think they’re useful although nothing beats going through a paper book. But ebooks are really useful when you’re searching for something specific!

  40. Jess said, on June 18, 2014 at 6:54 AM

    SO exciting! Congratulations on the ebook Janet, I can’t wait to check it out!

  41. greeneyedpear said, on June 18, 2014 at 9:05 AM

    Yes I like ebooks. They are very eco friendly.

  42. greeneyedpear said, on June 18, 2014 at 9:06 AM

    I like ebooks!!! Very eco friendly!

  43. Jackie said, on June 18, 2014 at 12:25 PM

    I have never used one, but would give it a try.

  44. Hannah said, on June 19, 2014 at 7:20 PM

    Congratulations, superstar!

  45. Joanne said, on June 19, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    How exciting!! Must must must check this out!

  46. […] China Study All-Star Collection which is a collection of vegan recipes that focus on whole foods. Like my cookbook collaboration, the recipes hail from many authors. I was familiar with some of the authors (Dreena Burton, Ani […]

  47. Lisa said, on July 16, 2014 at 12:11 AM

    Wonderful for you Janet. Your recipes deserve more attention.


What do you think?

