the taste space

Chocolate Mint Chip Ice Cream & The China Study All-Star Collection Giveaway

Posted in Book Review, Desserts by Janet M on June 20, 2014

Chocolate Mint Chip Vegan Ice Cream

Houston gets me every single time. You leave for a week or two and you forget how hot and humid it is. Or maybe it just became hotter.

I thought it was ice cream weather before but now it has become a dietary staple. Just like salsas, we will have to wean ourselves from the vegan ice creams at Trader Joe’s.

I have no ice cream maker, but this recipe promised to deliver.

Mint ice cream with chocolate chunks – what’s not to like? I added some spirulina to make it a vibrant green base.

Sadly, it didn’t work out. I actually wonder whether it could be done at all without an ice cream maker.  I quickly realized the chocolate chunks would sink to the bottom if I didn’t stir. So, I stirred the ice cream as it become to freeze, almost every 30 minutes for a few hours. Until it was way too late to stay up. Of course, in the morning, it was solid as a brick and difficult to thaw. I had a hard time getting it into a scoopable form and ended up thawing it in the microwave! It was also a bit icy, I suspect because I didn’t remove the watery coconut water from the coconut milk.

I eventually refroze it into small quantities and ended up adding some soy milk to turn it into a smoothie. Next time, I may try Kari’s idea to put it back in the food processor to whip it back into a creamy state. Or fish out my ice cream maker from storage.

Chocolate Mint Chip Vegan Ice Cream

The recipe comes from The China Study All-Star Collection which is a collection of vegan recipes that focus on whole foods with limited refined oils, sugars and salt. Like my cookbook collaboration, the recipes hail from many authors. I was familiar with some of the authors (Dreena Burton, Ani Phyo, Christy Morgan, and Lindsay Nixon) but also new-to-me authors like Chef AJ and Del Sroufe among others.

A cookbook like this makes a great introductory cookbook. You are exposed to the styles of many chefs, hopefully finding a few that really resonate with you, or others that perhaps push you in new directions. Would you like to try Dreena’s Apple Lentil Dal? Or Christina’s Daikon Mushroom Fettuccine? Or Laura’s Cauliflower Steaks with Sweet Pepper Sauce? Or Heather’s Dark Chocolate, Sweet Potato and Black Bean Brownies? Yeah, me too. All four. In fact, you may notice a few repeats from the more prolific writers. Lindsay’s Quick Burgers have been shared earlier as well as Dreena’s Mellow Lentil “Sniffle Soup” and Black Bean Soup with Sweet Potatoes (I shared that one in the fall and it was fabulous!). If nothing else, it may open you up to a whole new library from a new favourite author.

Of note, due to the multiple authors, the writing style of each author is apparent, along with the quality of their accompanying photographs.

Recipes from The China Study All-Star Collection shared elsewhere:

Lemon-Lime Green Smoothie

Creamy Breakfast Rice Pudding

Pumpkin Seed and Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

Zucchini and Summer Squash Muffins

Barbecue Portobello Sandwiches

African Collard Stirfry

Gingered Collard Greens

Everything Minestrone

Peanut Butter Fudge Truffles (with another giveaway, too)

Dreamy Baked Bananas (with another giveaway, too)

Thankfully, the publisher is letting me give a cookbook to one reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered, please leave a comment here, telling me about your favourite ice cream flavours. I will randomly select a winner on June 30, 2014. Good luck!

PS. I am sharing this with Bloggers Scream for Ice Cream and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Chocolate Mint Chip Ice Cream
Reprinted, with permission, from The China Study All-Star Collection 

Heather Crosby says: A simple and refreshing recipe that can be prepared with or without an ice cream maker.

2 14-ounce cans coconut milk
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons peppermint extract
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
10 peppermint leaves (optional) — Janet’s note: use caution with mint, it may not taste as good as you think
Pinch of fine ground sea salt
1 3-ounce gluten-free, nondairy chocolate bar, roughly chopped, or 1/2–1 cup gluten-free, nondairy chocolate chips

1. Blend together all ingredients except chocolate bar.
2. If using an ice cream maker, chill ice cream mixture in the refrigerator until cold, then process in the ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Once firm, fold in chocolate bar and freeze until ready to serve.
3. If not using an ice cream maker, fold chocolate bar into ice cream mixture and freeze until ready to serve. (Janet’s note: This option is not recommended)

Serves 4-6.

TIPS
I often like to prepare this recipe with leaves from a chocolate mint plant.

The best place to find chocolate mint? Grow your own!

Make your ice cream green by adding 1/2–1 teaspoon of liquid chlorophyll—a detoxifying natural “dye.”
Janet’s note: I added 1 tsp spirulina to make my ice cream green.

Be sure to plan accordingly and thaw your ice cream on the counter for 10–15 minutes before serving.
Janet’s note: It took longer for mine to thaw and eventually had to microwave it. See more of my tips above.

41 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jessica Eagle said, on June 20, 2014 at 8:20 AM

    Thanks again for this wonderful giveaway Janet.

    My favorite ice cream ?! Hummmm…difficult to say but I’ll choose the basic, chocolate-banana ice cream. If we add a hazelnut flavor in it, we are in cadillac….hi hi !!

  2. The Vegan 8 said, on June 20, 2014 at 8:27 AM

    Hi Janet! The ice cream looks delicious! One of my favorite flavors. Yes, most Ice creams I’ve found give completely different results when not used in a maker. All the air incorporated while churning really makes a huge difference. Otherwise you have to reduce the water in it. Looks good though and I hear you on the yucky weather in Houston! Oh and p.s. I have a new email system now that didn’t transfer over my WordPress subscribers, so you probably haven’t been getting my new emails. If you still want them, please resubscribe. Thank you! Happy Friday!

  3. Linda said, on June 20, 2014 at 8:30 AM

    What a fabulous giveaway! Thanks for doing it.

    My ice kream, these days, is a frozen banana run through my Omega 8004 juicer. Creamy soft serve, it is easy to dress it up as PB&J (just add a spoonful of peanut butter and one of whatever fruit spread is in the fridge; or dust it with cinnamon; or add peanut butter and cocoa for a peanut butter cup ice kream; or carob powder, shredded coconut and a splash of rice milk for a tropical treat. Sky’s the limit.

  4. Kathy Berman said, on June 20, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    Thanks for the recipe. I like chocolate and I like mint chocolate chip (lucky me that you did a recipe!).

  5. Concetta said, on June 20, 2014 at 8:46 AM

    This mint chocolate looks delicious.

  6. gabsodon said, on June 20, 2014 at 9:00 AM

    Oh come on you know you love the houston humidity ;) you’ll at least miss the heat when it gets cold in Toronto!
    Too bad you missed my birthday party by a day, I made a cherry garcia ice cream in my parent’s ice cream maker! But you could easily do it in a food processor with frozen fruit, it was just a bag of frozen cherries, 3-4 bananas and a chopped up vegan chocolate bar for extra chunky chocolatiness. I actually really love making the banana ice cream in my food processor, especially when I swirl in extra peanut butter :D plus that’s something I can do every day without the sugar high. For all out decadence though, I’m a sucker for cookie dough and so delicious even has a gf version now!

  7. Lois said, on June 20, 2014 at 9:03 AM

    Vanilla is my favorite flavor because you can add any topping to it. Yesterday I had strawberry and peaches. Yum.

    Thank you for the giveaway. It looks like a great book!

  8. Alex said, on June 20, 2014 at 9:22 AM

    Coconut. There’s something about straight coconut flavor that I have always loved. I’ve always wondered whether someone could make a great apricot ice cream but I’ve never seen one so I guess not.

  9. Karen said, on June 20, 2014 at 9:25 AM

    Cookies and cream and cookie dough!

  10. lani said, on June 20, 2014 at 11:28 AM

    hmmm…it would have to be a variation of Ben and Jerry’s chunky monkey with nuts, banana and chocolate!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on June 30, 2014 at 12:38 PM

      Hi Lani, Congratulations! You were selected to win a copy of China Study All-Star Collection. Check your email for the information I need. :)

  11. Olivia Allman said, on June 20, 2014 at 11:53 AM

    hmmm strawberries and lemon all day long :)
    Or citrus and coconut milk :)

  12. Amber said, on June 20, 2014 at 12:25 PM

    My favorite ice cream has always been mint chocolate chip, though I do tend to go for the triple chocolate chunk type flavors every once in a while :)

  13. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts said, on June 20, 2014 at 2:32 PM

    Thanks for the link / shout out :) I know that experience of too hard ice cream and it is always dispiriting! You know there is a tasty dessert in there, but getting it from frozen to edible can be so challenging. It sounds like a great recipe nonetheless, and ditto the collection as a whole.

  14. Mackenzie Rifkin said, on June 20, 2014 at 6:05 PM

    Mint chocolate chip has always been my favorite ice cream flavor since I was a little girl.

  15. charj said, on June 20, 2014 at 11:19 PM

    Chocolate with almonds is one of my favorite ice cream flavors

  16. thepeacepatch said, on June 21, 2014 at 12:19 AM

    Cherry Amaretto Ice Cream is my fave.
    Dig out your ice cream maker…soooo worth it! :)

  17. Harpers Faerie said, on June 21, 2014 at 6:39 AM

    Jamocha almond fudge is my favorite

  18. Johanna GGG said, on June 21, 2014 at 9:08 AM

    I haven’t had great success with ice cream and sometimes think if I really wanted to be serious about it an ice cream machine would help hugely – but I have seen kari and ricki do the food processor with solid chunks of ice cream and I guess I should give that a go to see how it works. I do love the colour of your ice cream

  19. Victoria Ess said, on June 21, 2014 at 11:55 AM

    My favourite ice cream flavour is pistachio.

  20. Ali said, on June 21, 2014 at 1:05 PM

    Coconut Vanilla with fresh berries.

  21. Katie said, on June 21, 2014 at 1:48 PM

    Peppermint is hands down the best ice cream flavour!!

  22. Kavey said, on June 22, 2014 at 3:39 PM

    Lovely! I have been thinking about running a dairy-free theme one month soon, so hope you’ll join us for that one too! Thanks for taking part. x

  23. Hannah said, on June 22, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    Pistachio, Licorice or salted caramel.

  24. Jerilyn said, on June 23, 2014 at 12:23 AM

    Big fan of vanilla ice cream =)

  25. Lydia Claire said, on June 23, 2014 at 4:30 AM

    Vanilla with caramel and chocolate!

  26. Corrine said, on June 23, 2014 at 4:30 AM

    Grasshopper Pie ice cream. =)

  27. rio4me said, on June 23, 2014 at 11:58 AM

    home made peanut butter chocolate fudge ice cream from Vitalita cookbook (free online)

  28. Jackie said, on June 23, 2014 at 12:13 PM

    Banana Ice cream.

  29. rockmyvegansocks said, on June 23, 2014 at 1:13 PM

    I’ve been debating whether to get an ice cream maker or not. The food processor seems to do the trick ok. It’s not great, but works in a pinch. This ice cream does sound really good! And so pretty!

    • rockmyvegansocks said, on July 2, 2014 at 7:05 PM

      Thanks for sharing this recipe at Healthy Vegan Fridays! I have pinned it to our Pinterest board.

  30. Anita Rebarchak said, on June 23, 2014 at 4:52 PM

    So many ice cream choices…but I pick chocolate as my favorite every time.

  31. Merrill said, on June 23, 2014 at 5:29 PM

    Mint chocolate chip is definitely my favorite. It used to be rum raisin but I’ve never found a vegan version so I haven’t had it in years. Unfortunately, I’m not a huge fan of coconut milk as a base, but I’ll take Trader Joe’s cherry chocolate chip soy ice cream any day!! yum

  32. jacquie said, on June 23, 2014 at 10:38 PM

    favorite ice cream flavor – just one? how can that be? “favorite” varies w/ season and mood. cherry chocolate chip, dark chocolate, pumpkin, chocolate peanut butter cup and rum raisin to name a few.

  33. elizabeth said, on June 24, 2014 at 8:38 AM

    Some of my favorites are coconut and coffee.

  34. Roberta said, on June 26, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    mint chocolate chip ice cream is my favorite

  35. Robin said, on June 28, 2014 at 1:52 AM

    This looks super yummy! I love the idea of adding spirulina to make it green. My mint chip ice cream is always white, and seems confusing somehow. I also love coffee ice cream and everything with chocolate in it, especially chocolate-chocolate chip.

  36. Joanne said, on June 28, 2014 at 9:15 AM

    Boo to this not working! At least it made for some tasty smoothies?

  37. Healthy Vegan Friday #3 | said, on July 4, 2014 at 7:01 AM

    […] Chocolate Mint Chip Ice Cream from The Taste […]

  38. Clotilde/Craftybegonia said, on July 4, 2014 at 6:11 PM

    Hi, visiting you via Healthy Vegan Fridays, that looks absolutely yummy, thanks for sharing!

  39. […] over at The Taste Space, used coconut to create her Chocolate Mint Chip Ice Cream, a refreshing cooler from the humid summer heat in Houston. Several long hours of stirring the […]


What do you think?

