the taste space

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages & Vegan Finger Foods Review+Giveaway

Posted in Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on June 28, 2014

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages & Vegan Finger Foods Giveaway

Perhaps it is fitting that my last post from Houston should be a review for Vegan Finger Foods. It was in Houston, that I found and dived head-first into the “vegan potluck” community. Bounded by a common interest (delicious food), people came from various backgrounds. Some were vegan, others vegetarian, some omnivores, but all were included and encouraged to eat and enjoy the plentiful vegan food.

For me as a cook, it was (mostly) fun to try new recipes or share old favourites. I tend to gravitate to one-pot meals, but now I experimented with appetizers and desserts, knowing there would be plenty of Janet-friendly dishes to sample. As a person, it was comforting to meet others with similar interests, even if only within the realm of veganism. Although especially within the realm of veganism when I first moved to Texas.

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages & Vegan Finger Foods Giveaway

Vegan Finger Foods is a fun cookbook, overflowing with ideas for your next gathering. Not only are the recipes suitable for vegan parties and potlucks, they can be mixed and matched for regular main meals at home. There are vegetable-centric bites (think “Bacon” Wrapped Water Chestnuts, Harissa Carrot Zucchini Cups), Finger Foods (think Brewpub Cauliflower Dip and Chips), Dips and Stuffed bites (like Baked Buffalo Tofu Bites with Pantry Raid Ranch and Pulled Jackfruit Mini Tacos), Bread-Based Bites (including Salsa Scuffins) and not forgetting bite-sized desserts (lots of cookies, cupcakes and even Goji Berry Cacao Bites and Tahini Caramel Popcorn).

I appreciate that each dish is a star in itself, even the veggie-centric dishes. I also liked that many dishes are hearty enough to be a main meal (ie, Sweet-and-Sour Sloppy Joes (with tempeh), baked lenteja taquitos (with lentils), baked frittata minis (with tofu) and even a few homemade seitan dishes, including these Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages. No need for company to eat well.

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages & Vegan Finger Foods Giveaway

I tried a few dishes from the cookbook, but this one was my favourite and thankfully helped use up some odds-and-ends lingering in the kitchen. Reminiscent of my previous (vegan) cheese-stuffed sausage, these sausages are stuffed with kimchi. Kimchi is also incorporated into the batter making for a flavourful yet chewy sausage. I found it easier just to serve it with a side of even more kimchi, but I love suggestion to pan-fry it and then sprinkle with sesame seeds and green onions. Pan-frying would accentuate the flavours even further.

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages & Vegan Finger Foods Giveaway

Thankfully, the publisher is letting me share the recipe AND give a cookbook to one reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered, please leave a comment here, telling me about your favourite dish to share at potlucks. I will randomly select a winner on July 30, 2014. Good luck!

Other recipes from Vegan Finger Foods shared elsewhere:

Vegan Potato Puffs with Tapenade

Kale Cucumber Cups

Rasta Salsa

Corn Fritters with Tomato Thyme Gravy

Baked Jalapeños

Spinach Swirls (with another giveaway, too)

Pull Apart Pesto Bread

Quickie Marinara

Fig and Nut Canapés

Sushi Rice Rolls

Salsa Scuffins (with another giveaway, too)

Better Buckeyes

Other dishes I shared at the vegan potluck this year:

Peach & Hazelnut Kale Salad with Maple Miso Vinaigrette

Pecan and Cranberry Vegan Cheese Log

Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice

Curried Chickpea Salad with Carrots and Currants

Peanut Butter and Jam Energy Balls

Tahini Cups with a Sweet Coffee Infused Filling

Kimchi-Stuffed Sausages
Reprinted, with permission, from Vegan Finger Foods

4 ounces (113 g) extra-firm tofu, drained, crumbled
1 3/4 cups (396 g) drained kimchi, not squeezed, divided
1/2 cup (120 ml) water, plus more if needed
3 tablespoons (50 g) organic ketchup (Janet’s note: I used red pepper paste)
1 tablespoon (15 ml) tamari
2 teaspoons ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon Korean hot pepper powder
1 teaspoon ground white pepper
1 1/2 cups (216 g) vital wheat gluten
1/4 cup (30 g) nutritional yeast
1 tablespoon (15 ml) neutral-flavored oil

Korean sauce from Baked Buffalo Tofu Bites (see below)

Minced scallion and sesame seeds, for garnish

1. Combine the tofu, 1 cup (226 g) of the kimchi, water, ketchup, tamari, coriander, ginger, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, and peppers in a blender. Process until smooth. Whisk together the vital wheat gluten and nutritional yeast in a medium-size bowl. Add the tofu mixture, and stir to combine with a fork. Mix together well. The mixture should be cohesive and able to be formed. Add 1 tablespoon (15 ml) water or (9 g) vital wheat gluten if needed to make a dough.

2. Prepare a steamer and six 10-inch (25 cm) pieces of foil. Divide the mixture evenly among the foil pieces: each piece will be 4 ounces (113 g). Shape each into a 6-inch (15 cm) log. Make a deep indentation down the center, leaving the ends intact. Fill with a generous 2 tablespoons (28 g) of the remain- ing kimchi, and pinch closed well. Try to center the filling so the sausages will not tear when cooking. Shape into a sausage and close the foil, twisting the ends. If the log isn’t sealed well, the kimchi may fall out when slicing or cooking. Repeat with the remaining sausages, and steam for 1 hour 10 minutes. Refrigerate until serving.

3. Use a serrated knife to carefully cut the sausages into 1/2-inch (1.3 cm) rounds. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cooking in batches, cook the sausages until browned, about 4 minutes per side. Turn over to cook the second side, about 3 minutes. Keep warm. When all the sausages are browned, return them to the skillet along with the sauce. Stir to coat, and cook for 1 minute.

4. Transfer to a plate, and sprinkle with the scallions and sesame seeds.

Korean-inspired sauce

3 tablespoons (60 g) Korean red pepper paste
3 tablespoons (45 ml) tamari
3 tablespoons (45 ml) seasoned rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons (33 g) organic ketchup
1/2 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
2 scallions, thinly sliced
2 teaspoons toasted sesame seeds

1. Combine the first five ingredients in a small bowl. whisk to combine. The sauce may be prepared up to 2 days ahead. To serve, spoon over bites and garnish with the scallions and sesame seeds.

Makes 3/4 cup.

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ali Seiter said, on June 28, 2014 at 8:14 AM

    These look great! Gotta love kimchi. For potlucks, I’m a big fan of bringing BBQ seitan “ribs” and sweet coleslaw.

  2. Shannon Y-I-V said, on June 28, 2014 at 8:27 AM

    Those sound SO good! I remember similarly drooling over the “cheese”-stuffed sausages, too. For potlucks I usually go old school with a nice, creamy vegan potato salad..hummus, or bean dip :)

  3. Paulette said, on June 28, 2014 at 8:59 AM

    I love making chocolate hummus to see other people’s reaction when I tell them what it is (literally just cacao powder or even regular chocolate powder and garbanzo beans). It doesn’t sound like something that should work, but it does! My guac with peaches is always a hit too.

  4. Ali said, on June 28, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    I love bringing the quinoa, mango, and black bean cold salad from Veganomicon to get-togethers.

  5. Linda said, on June 28, 2014 at 10:41 AM

    Sounds like a wonderful recipe; thanks for doing the giveaway! I usually bring a batch of baked beans; folks don’t realize they don’t have any of the health-stealers of SAD baked beans.

  6. Sandy Zimmer said, on June 28, 2014 at 11:32 AM

    I make Western Baked Beans and Potato Salad for potlucks

  7. Terri Cole said, on June 28, 2014 at 11:50 AM

    The hubs and I are usually the only vegans at pot-lucks so I tend to make something hearty, like a main-dish salad with beans and grains. Thanks for the chance to win this book!

  8. Connie said, on June 28, 2014 at 12:30 PM

    Anything but a salad! I want people to know that veganism does not mean just eating salads. I organized the last potluck at work ( hard core carnivores ) and my theme was plant based. I made lasagna without any type of faux cheese so that people could see how tasty and great vegan food is. I also made falafel sliders. There were no leftovers! It was pretty cool to see people get so involved and to see their reaction to the event because it was vegan and the food was so good and filling. Vegucating people through their tummies :)

  9. cynthia said, on June 28, 2014 at 12:48 PM

    I usually take broccoli salad.

  10. Jessica Eagle said, on June 28, 2014 at 1:02 PM

    Ohhhh…Janet, you’re so generous. Thanks again for this wonderful giveaway. This seems very interesting. Wow !!!…your recipe sounds amazing. I’m in love with kimchi :)

    I don’t go very often to potluck since all my environment is omni, but I like to bring vegan dip, hummus with all kind of fresh veggie. It’s always a winner. However, the next time I go to a potluck, I’ll certainly bring a potato & asparagus salad, the one from Oh She Glows Cookbook. Yummm !!!

    Have a nice week-end Janet :)

  11. Becca said, on June 28, 2014 at 8:01 PM

    I like bringing spinach artichoke dip :)

  12. Elizabeth said, on June 28, 2014 at 8:13 PM

    I like to bring a stellar pizza-flavoured hummus with veggies and pita bites to a potluck, because I want to bring something even I go gaga over! Btw, I want to go to one of Ali’s (previous commenter) potlucks. Seitan ribs n coleslaw?! I’m so there!!

  13. Lydia Claire said, on June 28, 2014 at 9:38 PM

    Potato salad is always a big hit!

  14. Corrine said, on June 28, 2014 at 10:09 PM

    I usually like to bring stuffed mushrooms. =)

  15. Eileen said, on June 28, 2014 at 10:11 PM

    These sausages sound super interesting! Are they seitan, or does the tofu make them some kind of unnameable hybrid? I guess it doesn’t really matter, as long as they are delicious, which they clearly are. KIMCHI. It’s hard to narrow down a favorite potluck dish! I often just bring a big green salad and toss with a simple vinaigrette on the spot. I am going to opt out of the giveaway since I already won a cookbook, but best of luck to everyone else1

  16. myredsandals said, on June 29, 2014 at 6:25 AM

    One of my favorite dishes to take to a potluck is my Roasted Corn and Red Pepper Salad. Depending upon how many people will be present, I take 1-2 bags of frozen organic corn, and toss it with 1/2-1 finely diced red bell pepper, a little bit of EVOO, salt and pepper and roast it on a baking sheet at 425° for about 15 minutes. So simple yet so delicious!

  17. Cadry's Kitchen said, on June 29, 2014 at 7:56 AM

    Whenever I go to a potluck, I like to bring something that will work as a meal since there may or may not be anything vegan available. I like to bring a kale salad with lentils or fried rice.

  18. Samantha said, on June 29, 2014 at 9:29 AM

    Amazing! I can’t go to a (non-vegan) party without a hummus (Canada Day party tomorrow = miso hummus, yum!) or a bean dip. Healthy & loved by all! I tend to branch out when it’s vegan and I know there will be other delightful food…

  19. rockmyvegansocks said, on June 29, 2014 at 1:14 PM

    I’m not a huge kimchi fan, but I am quite intrigued by this dish. The cheese stuffed sausage sounds amazeballs ;p

  20. KathyD said, on June 29, 2014 at 5:27 PM

    Lasagna is my favorite dish to share at potlucks. One dish, easy to transport and easy to freeze any leftovers,

  21. Saniel said, on June 29, 2014 at 11:37 PM

    Spinach artichoke dip and vegan quest.

  22. Johanna GGG said, on June 30, 2014 at 6:52 AM

    oh – just found I hadn’t commented on this thought I read it a day or two ago – these sausages sound delicious and a great farewell to Houston – hope you are having a great break

  23. Diane said, on June 30, 2014 at 3:23 PM

    Moroccan Carrot Dip with pitas. The best!

  24. Jerilyn said, on July 1, 2014 at 1:32 PM

    I usually make a pasta or couscous salad :)

  25. Holly Hilly Hutcheson said, on July 4, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    I like to serve a veganized chili cheese dip in a crockpot… Amy’s chili, daiya cheese, tofutti cream cheese, chopped olives, green peppers, and rotel. Definitely not health food, but so nommy.

  26. Jenny K said, on July 7, 2014 at 10:02 AM

    I haven’t been to a potluck in ages, but vegan lasagna was always a winner

  27. stacey said, on July 8, 2014 at 9:02 AM

    EZ and delish potluck dish is a roasted red pepper dip with pumpkin seeds and za’tar, yummo! Thanks so much for the chance to win!

  28. Lizzie said, on July 8, 2014 at 12:46 PM

    Oh my, those sausages look fantastic!!!

  29. thepeacepatch said, on July 14, 2014 at 2:57 AM

    I like to bring a simple chickpea veggie vinaigrette salad, which seems to go over well with everyone, including those with food sensitivities or on special diets. Many thanks! :)

  30. Josiane said, on July 17, 2014 at 9:36 AM

    Last time I went to a potluck, my homemade ranch dip was a huge hit with everyone, and so were my marinated tempeh bites and the raw cheesecake I had brought. I would love to expand my repertoire of potluck-friendly food, though, and I’m a huge fan of Celine’s recipes, so that book is high on the list of next additions to my bookshelves.

  31. Liz said, on July 24, 2014 at 6:55 AM

    I usually bring cupcakes, hummus, or pasta salad. I’m always know as the ‘vegan’ at the parties so I stick with things that are pretty usual.

  32. Annette said, on July 29, 2014 at 4:14 PM

    I like to make and serve potato chowder.


What do you think?

