the taste space

Raw Cinnamon Spice Ice Cream Cake

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on August 12, 2014

Raw Cinnamon Spice Ice Cream Cake

I was hoping to update you with happy news that our stuff had arrived. Sadly, no. A mix up at the customs warehouse means we are still without all stuff. Except our car. We have that because my parents’ drove it down, hoping to help us unpack, only to find out our pod was not coming, as expected.

Anyways, I am ahead of myself. I am still reliving last weekend’s debacle.

Curious as to how so many people were able to help when we were stranded with the car in the middle of nowhere?

Turns out my brother and sister-in-law were also driving back to Toronto around the same time. They were in Ottawa for my SIL’s baby shower and we both left around the same time and thank goodness, they were still reasonably close when our distress call went out.

My mom hosted a fabulous shower and I had very little involvement. Other than suggesting some menu changes as there were limited vegan options. Considering I finagled 3 dishes, it was in directions only. I suggested some tried-and-true favourites for the appetizers: Pineapple and Cucumber Guacamole (my SIL stole the leftovers, so that was a success!), Cucumber Hummus Dip (very well received), and my Moroccan Chickpea and Carrot Salad as my main. I added a bit of cinnamon this time and liked that, too. I actually made a double batch so I could take the leftovers, but alas, they never made it. I hope my Mom liked it instead.

Raw Cinnamon Spice Ice Cream Cake

My mom totally outdid herself with the desserts (so.many.pretty.cakes!) so I knew any dessert I made would just be for myself. This was my experiment. And it was a very good experiment.  My Mom treated herself to a new Vitamix so I took full use of it!

I used Brandi’s recipe as my inspiration for this cinnamon spice vegan cheesecake. It was also my first time playing with a cake swirl!  I really liked the the cake. I think lemon juice would be great here, but I swapped it for orange juice, since that was what my parents’ had on hand. I also swapped a fresh apple for the apple juice. Because this is oil-free (no coconut oil or coconut butter), it is softer than my previous raw cheesecakes. This just means that you need to time it perfectly before you can eat it. If you leave it out at room temperature too long, it will melt into a softer cake. I liked it with still a bit of bite from the freezer, thus this was definitely an ice cream cake!

My swirling wasn’t perfect but this just means I will have to try again with my next attempt. (See my tips below for my next round).

Raw Cinnamon Spice Ice Cream Cake

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes.

Raw Cinnamon Spice Ice Cream Cake
Adapted from The Vegan 8

3/4 cup almonds
3/4 cup pitted dates
1 tsp cinnamon
dash salt

2 cups cashews (not soaked)
1 apple, cored
1/4 cup orange juice (I would try lemon juice next time)
1/4 tsp vanilla bean paste (or 1 tbsp vanilla extract)
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt, or to taste

1 tbsp cinnamon
2 tbsp maple syrup

1. Prepare your crust: In a food processor with its S-blade, pulse together the almonds, pitted dates, cinnamon and a dash of salt until it comes together when you pinch it with your fingers. You do not want to over pulse it. Add a bit of water if you dates are not moist to help it stick together. Push it evenly into an 8″ springform pan.

2. In a high speed blender, place the cashews, apple, orange juice, vanilla, maple syrup, cinnamon and salt. Blend until completely smooth. This is not too sweet. Adjust to your tastes. Spread evenly overtop your crust. Quickly rotate the pan to evenly distribute the batter.

3. Make your swirl. If you don’t know how to swirl, I suggest watching this video first. In a small bowl, combine the cinnamon and maple syrup. Drizzle it overtop your cake and swirl it with a thin utensil (I used a few tooth picks). Don’t necessarily use it all. I found it settled on top and ran into the separate rows… but in the end I didn’t care.

4. Cover and freeze, at least overnight. Remove 15-30 minutes prior to serving. I preferred it still ice cream cold. At room temperature it gets kind of melty.

Serves 8.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thepeacepatch said, on August 12, 2014 at 8:17 AM

    goodgolly your move is proving to be quite the challenge! It’s amazing how resourceful you can be when you’re put in a tight spot…and without your pod! And still you pull out superdelicious recipes like this cinnamon magnificence…I love your swirlyness! Thanks for the recipe and for the helpful video link. Maybe it might help to put the swirl syrup in a squeezy bottle to get more control? In any case I think it doesn’t matter how perfect it turns out…it must be cinnamon ice cream heaven! :)

  2. Lisa said, on August 12, 2014 at 10:45 AM

    That looks and sounds wonderful. I hope you can get settled in soon. Welcome back to Canada.

  3. Eileen said, on August 12, 2014 at 4:26 PM

    I hope you can get all the moving kerfuffle sorted out soon! It’s so frustrating to get stuck without any equipment for day-to-day life, and yet to not want to buy anything since you do HAVE that stuff…just not with you. At least you guys get cake, though, right? Cake definitely helps.

  4. Karen Burns Booth said, on August 13, 2014 at 4:54 AM

    This looks FABULOUS Janet and such a great recipe to have tucked away too!

  5. johanna @ Green Gourmet Giraffe said, on August 13, 2014 at 9:36 AM

    Wow I was surprised you said you need swirling practice as I thought this tart looks so pretty – much prettier than my image of ice cream cake which is those cheap store bought ones with horrid cream and sprinkles on top. And I love seeing a recipe without coconut oil because I have trouble enjoying the stuff – I think I just leave it too long and it gets smelly. Sorry to hear your stuff is still held up but glad you ate some good food at the baby shower.

  6. Emma said, on August 13, 2014 at 12:45 PM

    Family and friends to the rescue! Hope by now you have your things back :)
    This dessert is so beautiful. Make me really want to try a swirl on a cake! Brandi makes awesome desserts. I’ve made her blueberry muffins and NY style cheesecake and both were fantastic.

  7. […] Eileen said, the worst part is knowing stuff is going to arrive and putting off buying duplicates. So I have […]

  8. Gabby @ the veggie nook said, on August 17, 2014 at 12:59 PM

    I think your swirl turned out wonderfully! And I love that there is apple in there for a little flavour and sweetness. I do hope your stuff has arrived by now and that you’ve started to settle in!

  9. rika@vm said, on August 19, 2014 at 12:45 PM

    Wowza, this is absolutely stunning! I love Brandi and her blog, she makes beautiful desserts!

  10. rockmyvegansocks said, on August 21, 2014 at 6:45 PM

    Yikes… you did not have good luck with the move :/ I’m getting to this post late, so fingers crossed that you have all of your stuff now and are settling in nicely.

    This cake is GORGEOUS Janet! Wow – just wow! And sounds so super delicious =)


What do you think?

