the taste space

Brazilian-Style Savoury Orange Rice

Posted in Sides by janet @ the taste space on October 19, 2010

I had a veritable Brazilian meal. Along with the Portobello Feijoada (Brazilian Black Bean Stew with Portobello Mushrooms), I also made a savoury side of rice, Brazilian-style of course.

This recipe was also found in Viva Vegan, which is a treasure trove for Latin food recipes. I must admit my bookcase was severely lacking in this area, and I am starting to learn more about Brazilian cooking. Brazil may be my next vacation destination, but since there are so many countries on my vacation hit-list, I will have to settle (for now) to cooking up Brazilian specialties at home. It is a lot cheaper than an airplane ticket, and a lot more fun too (the airplane ride is less fun, not the Brazilian vacation!).

This rice is unique because it incorporates not only slow-cooked onions and garlic, but also has a touch of sweetness from the orange. It paired well with the less-sweet Portobello Feijoada, but could work well with any other savoury dish.

This is my second submission to AWED this month, featuring Brazilian food, and to Priya’s Complete my ThaliRice event.

Brazilian-Style Savoury Orange Rice

2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 small onion, minced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 cup uncooked long-grain rice (I used brown rice)
1 1/4 cups hot vegetable broth
1/3 cup freshly squeezed orange juice (I used the stuff from a bottle and I think it suffered a bit)
grated zest of 1 orange (I skipped this, too, but I wouldn’t next time)
1/2 tsp salt, or to taste

1. Heat the oil in a small pot over medium heat. Add the garlic and fry 30 seconds while stirring. Add the onion and cook until onion is soft and translucent, 6-8 minutes. Add the rice and fry, stirring occasionally, until the rice turns a light tan and golden brown colour, about 4-5 minutes. Add the water, orange juice and zest and salt, and stir.

2. Increase the heat and bring to a boil, stir once more and lower the heat to a low simmer. Cover lightly and cook for 20 minutes, or until the rice is tender and all the liquid has been absorbed.

3. Remove from the heat, fluff the rice with a fork and serve hot.

Serves 4.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on October 19, 2010 at 6:27 AM

    I think a Brazilian vacation sounds like a FANTASTIC idea. I routinely see decently priced flights down there. Let’s not give up on it, yet :)

  2. Joanne said, on October 19, 2010 at 8:19 AM

    Seeing as how I absolutely detest flying, I’ll take pleasure in traveling the world with you through food. Both the feijoada and the orange rice look so tasty. Latin American flavors are the kinds of things that I crave. Those, and Middle Eastern, and Indian, and Mediterranean….man I am just a glutton. :P

  3. Priya said, on October 19, 2010 at 3:29 PM

    Absolutely great looking orange rice..

  4. Saraswathi Iyer said, on October 19, 2010 at 10:45 PM

    Tempting and yummy rice. Thanks for the entry dear.

  5. [...] around and I still have the rice cooker, without having made Tamarind Lentils myself. But lots of rice, mind [...]

  6. nath pereira requena said, on July 15, 2011 at 4:09 PM

    Its been almost 1 year since this was posted, so I hope you’ve made it to Brazil for your vacations..if not, please do so, we (I’m Brazilian, hehe) will be happy to welcome you.

    Feijoada is REALLY GREAT, and we usually eat it with some orange slices on the side, because the mix of all the meats and the acidity of the orange works really well, and having this idea to mix feijoada with an porange rice i brilliant, I’ll try that out!

    Congrats on the blog ;)
    Nat


What do you think?

