the taste space

Roasted Vegetable and Kale Chip Pizza with a White Bean and Quinoa Crust

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on March 23, 2012


Thanks for the feedback on yesterday’s post about changes after embarking on a whole food lifestyle (definitely check out Britt’s post with her experiences). Since I’ve cut out refined flours, I rarely eat bread-type things.

I am not sure why but I even have this thing against whole wheat flour. I’d much rather eat whole grains, in their original form, than rely on flours (unless I am making the flour myself in my food processor).

But here I am, enjoying pizza without any flours in sight.

Be forewarned, this isn’t your typical pizza crust.

Super flexible with any combination of beans and grains, I spotted this at Everyone is Vegan many moons ago. Here, white beans and cooked quinoa are whipped together with flax and spices to create a lovely bread-type crust.

The crust takes longer to bake than your typical pizza crust, which means you get the benefit of glorious roasted veggies. I normally wouldn’t put onion on my pizza, but I will if it is roasted as it is here. Red pepper also roasts well. Broccoli gets that delightful crispy edge. And the best part: laying kale overtop the veggies results in a pizza topped with kale chips!

Since I used the miso gravy from the Dragon Bowl, does that make this a Dragon Pizza?

Other pizza crusts, toppings, etc, I’d like to try:

Gluten-Free Chickpea Flour Pizza Crust from Making Love in the Kitchen
Choosing Raw Pizza with Quinoa Buckwheat Crust and Guacamole from Choosing Raw
Roasted Garlic and Beet Socca Pizza
from Sprint 2 the Table
Caramelized Onions on a Sweet Potato Socca Pizza
from The Lean Green Bean
Mediterranean Date & Olive Pizza on a Chickpea Crust
from Cara’s Cravings
Quinoa Oat Flatbread Mini Pizza with Spinach Hummus, Roasted Beets and Red bell pepper from Hobby & More
Cilantro-Hemp Pesto Pizza from Farmers Market Vegan
Butternut Edamame Pizza from Sketch Free Vegan Eating
Tex-Mex Pizza with Kidney Bean and Quinoa Crust from Dates & Quinces
Caramelized Onion, Shaved Butternut and “Goat Cheese” Pizza from Diet, Dessert & Dogs
Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onion and Mushroom Topping from What Would Cathy Eat?
Sweet Potato and Caramelized Onion Spread from She Let Them Eat Cake
Tomato-Tahini Pizza Sauce from Aria

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend and to Simple and In Season.

Roasted Vegetable and Kale Chip Pizza with a White Bean and Quinoa Crust
Adapted from Everyone is Vegan

1 cup cooked quinoa
1 cup cooked white kidney beans
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp water or reserved bean cooking liquid
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
salt & pepper

your choice of sauce -I used miso gravy but any tomato, white or pesto sauce will do

1 red pepper, sliced
1 red onion, sliced
1/2 cup broccoli florets, chopped small
3-5 large leaves of kale
1-2 tsp olive oil
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried oregano
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Combine all ingredients in food processor until dough forms a “ball.” Spread crust into one large or two small circles on oiled baking tray (I used my silpat). The dough is kind of sticky but my silicone spatula worked well to spread it out.

2. Spread your sauce overtop.

3. In a large bowl, mix veggies (except kale) with a bit of olive oil, basil, oregano and salt and pepper to taste. Top pizza with veggies. Mix kale in the same bowl, add a bit more olive oil and spices to thinly coat and place overtop veggies.

4. Bake at 350F for 30-45 minutes, until the crust is cooked through and the kale is crispy.

Serves 4.

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ali Seiter said, on March 23, 2012 at 7:06 AM

    Wowza, does this pizza look delish! I’m always on the look-out for wheat-free bread-like recipes, and this pizza crust sure fits the bill. I also usually hesitate to make pizza since it’s heavy on grains and relatively low in veggies, but this one definitely packs in the vegetables. I look forward to giving this recipe a try!

    • Ali Seiter said, on March 26, 2012 at 9:16 PM

      And thanks for the mention of my Cilantro-Hemp Pesto Pizza! :D

  2. sprint2thetable said, on March 23, 2012 at 9:20 AM

    Friday must be pizza day – I posted one with a beet crust! This look so tasty. I love the quinoa and bean it it – there must be a boat-load of protein in each serving.

    Have a great weekend!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 23, 2012 at 12:27 PM

      I added a bunch of links to other pizza things I have bookmarked, including your recipe. It looks delicious! :)

      • sprint2thetable said, on March 23, 2012 at 1:23 PM

        Whoa – thanks for doing that. I just bookmarked most of them to try! I’m honored to have been included. :)

  3. Alissa - Not Just Apples said, on March 23, 2012 at 9:39 AM

    Looks so good and healthy too! I love putting beans in baking… it makes for such an awesome texture :)

  4. Caitlin said, on March 23, 2012 at 10:05 AM

    this looks AMAZING and so healthy. my kind of dinner!

  5. Flavors of the Sun said, on March 23, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    What a great idea! Unfortunately for me, if I make a tray of kale chips (and I frequently do), I eat a tray of kale chips, leaving none for the pizza. But what a flexible recipe–with or without them. Love that crust!

  6. sara said, on March 23, 2012 at 12:41 PM

    Gorgeous! Love all the veggies! :)

  7. Joanne said, on March 23, 2012 at 9:35 PM

    Well, I have nothing against eating various flours but i am definitely still interested in trying alternative crusts! This one sounds super tasty and i love how good it is for you…as with all of your recipes!

  8. Kasandra Bracken said, on March 24, 2012 at 12:50 AM

    OMG. I was literally just looking for a gluten-free pizza crust to make! Thank you for posting this and linking to the other recipes as well. I think I am going to try making mine with half quinoa and half chickpea/garbanzo flour. I’ll try my best to post how it goes!

  9. Apples and Arteries said, on March 24, 2012 at 7:42 AM

    Looks delish! I’d have to figure out a sub for the oil…any ideas?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 24, 2012 at 9:20 AM

      You could likely omit the oil from the toppings. In the crust, perhaps substitute something like tahini? If you try it out, let me know how it goes. :)

  10. Richa@HobbyandMore said, on March 25, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    love the idea of the automatic kale chips on the pizza!:) that looks like one hearty and colorful beauty. Thank you for mentioning my Quinoa Oat tomato flat bread pizza!. I passed on the Versatile blogger award to you on the blog:)

  11. Emma said, on March 25, 2012 at 9:46 PM

    Lovely, really innovative recipe.

  12. Brighton Restaurant said, on March 26, 2012 at 9:44 AM

    Amazing, the colors are looking gorgeous. making the dish appear more tempting. Lovely, can’t wait to have it !

  13. Sonnet said, on March 26, 2012 at 12:51 PM

    This pizza looks amazing! I have seriously failed at every pizza crust I’ve tried to make, but I will definitely be making this one! :)

  14. Ashley said, on March 27, 2012 at 4:44 PM

    What an interesting sounding pizza crust!! Love the toppings you chose especially the broccoli.

  15. Kayla Hoffman said, on March 30, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    Love it! I will be making this for sure and linking you to my blog so people can check out your other yummies!

  16. [...] Janet at The Taste Tea, came back to is with this gorgeous creation, a Roasted Vegetable and Kale Chip Pizza with a White Bean and Quinoa Crust. Janet must be the healthiest blogger I [...]

  17. [...] is a recipe for it on your blog. I’ve made kale chips but it is not on my blog. Or does my kale chip pizza [...]

  18. [...] Chinese Five Spice Vegetable and Noodle Stir Fry [...]

  19. […] covered with more creative options: a delicious Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli and even atop a Roasted Veggie and Kale Pizza (with a quinoa-bean […]


What do you think?

