janet @ the taste space

Blackberry, Avocado and Walnut Salad with a Ginger Lime Vinaigrette

In Favourites, Salads on July 11, 2012 at 5:45 AM

Lettuce for hostage.

I almost had 3 huge heads of lettuce to go through this week. In addition to my two heads of lettuce, a friend left their lettuce in the fridge by mistake and went home solo. Oops!

I told him I would allow him to have his lettuce, if he would trade it for some blackberries from St Lawrence Market. Earlier, he had taunted me, telling me how small and sweet they were on his last trip.

Surprisingly, he agreed to the ransom! (To be fair, I rescinded a piece of the Raw Key Lime Pie)

So I was back to 2 heads of lettuce. And now blackberries. With avocados from the week before. And walnuts from the pantry. These ingredients, alone, would be a great combination of sweet, creamy and bitter… but then it is drizzled with a sweet ginger lime vinaigrette. I didn’t think it would be so flippin’ fantastic, but it was. Instead of my morning oats, these blackberries are being renewed for another round of this salad! Thanks Matt! 😀 What are you making with your lettuce? 🙂

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes, to this week’s potluck party for fruit dishes, to this week’s Ingredient Challenge Monday for blueberries, to this week’s Summer Salad Sundays, to this week’s Wellness Weekend and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Blackberry, Avocado and Walnut Salad with a Ginger Lime Vinaigrette
Adapted from Rawmazing

zest and juice from 1 lime (3-4 tbsp lime juice)
1/2 small shallot, minced (1 tsp)
1/2 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp hazelnut oil
1 tsp agave, or to taste
salt and pepper, to taste

4 cups lettuce, coarsely ripped
2/3 cup blackberries (blueberries would work well, too!)
1/2 cup avocado (half a small avocado)
1/2 cup walnuts (preferably toasted if you don’t follow an all-raw salad)

1. Whisk together the lime juice, zest, shallot, ginger, oil, agave and salt and pepper. Set aside until ready to dress the salad.

2. Toss together the remainder of the ingredients and drizzle with the dressing.

Serves 2.

  1. Great looking salad! I love the ginger in the dressing – I bet it was the perfect “zing” with the creamy avocado and sweet berries!

  2. You’re welcome Janet! I’ve already made a standard garden salad with mine, and tonight I’m going to use some on this: http://www.closetcooking.com/2012/07/creamy-guacamole-egg-salad-sandwich.html

  3. I almost thought those blackberries were mulberries, since they’re so skinny! Of course, blackberries are more than welcome too. 🙂 I’ve been doing salads of the “big pile of greens with cooked legumes and chopped veg on top” variety, but some fruit woud definitely be a welcome addition…

  4. Oh boy this looks amazing! So when I live 5 minutes from St. Lawrence market (like I will in September), I’ll buy you some blackberries (or seasonal produce of your choice) and you’ll make me delicious salads, yes?

    Haha in all seriousness, I love the sound of this salad! Definitely bookmarking it!

  5. I need to start demanding ransoms from my boyfriend whenever he comes over…great idea…I could get a lot of fruit out of this! Love this salad dressing! Anything this gingery sounds good to me!

  6. Smart to ransom for the fresh berries! 😉 I made a blueberry and avocado salad recently and I love that berry-avo pairing–yum! Thanks for sharing this with Souper Sundays. 😉

  7. Delicious ransom! The salad looks so good!

  8. […] my week of the salad, I tried so many different leafy salads. I am not that heavy with salad dressing, so they last a long time. I still have […]

  9. Great idea to use blackberries in a salad – it’s almost blackberry season here, and they’ll be more than I know what to do with! Looks so tasty! Thanks for sharing this with Summer Salad Sundays, look forward to seeing you again soon.

  10. […] Blackberry, Avocado and Walnut Salad with Ginger Lime Vinaigrette from The Taste Space, adapted recipe from Rawmazing […]

  11. […] blog is Rawmazing, which introduced these fabulous recipes to me: Raw Thai Pineapple Parsnip Rice, Blackberry, Walnut and Avocado Salad with A Ginger-Lime Vinaigrette, Raw Sweet Potato and Mushroom Sliders, and […]

  12. […] Blackberry, Avocado and Walnut Salad with a Ginger Lime Vinaigrette […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.