janet @ the taste space

Mango Coconut Cups

In Desserts on August 26, 2014 at 7:05 AM

Raw Mango Coconut Cups

Third time was a charm. Rob and I finally got our internet at home this weekend. (YES!)

We also moved all our stuff previously stored in my brother’s basement.

I can no longer find my computer, though.

I mean, I know where it is, but it blocked by too many boxes to unpack.

OMG. We have a lot of stuff. I am truly a hoarder (of sorts).

Living a year without most of the stuff will make it easy to purge. Easier, I should clarify.

I am hoping to rebuild a decluttered home, but we have many boxes ahead of us. In time.

Otherwise, here are some quick and easy desserts to try. No need to wait too long for your mango to absorb any water, just blitz away. I added a touch of lemon zest to accentuate the sweetness of the mango. The coconut makes this luscious and decadent. These are more akin to a non-chocolate truffle in their consistency. I don’t think they would work well as a ball, which is why I put them in the small cups. Another alternative would be to pour the batter into a small square container and then cut them into your preferred size. Enjoy!

Hoarder or purger? Which are you?

I will hopefully become a ruthless purger.

Raw Mango Coconut Cups

Mango Coconut Cups
Adapted from Raw, Quick & Delicious

1 cup dried unsweetened mango, soaked for 15 minutes, then drained
1/2 dried unsweetened coconut, divided
2 tbsp melted coconut oil
zest from 1 lemon (~1 tsp)

1. In a food processor fitted with its S-blade, process the soaked mango, 1/3 cup coconut, the coconut oil and lemon zest until smooth. Taste and add sweetener if desired. The batter will be quite liquid. Scoop the batter into the cup liners (or roll into balls). Top with the remainder of the coconut. Refrigerate for an hour and then snack away. These freeze well.

Makes 10-12 mini cups.

  1. Nuh uh! I have unpacked some! Your computer is accessible again🙂

  2. Good luck with the unpacking and purging! I’ve just moved myself and forced myself to have a good clear out (having said that, I swear I cleared out half of my wardrobe but it still fills two full clothes rails, hmm).

    Anyway, this recipe looks amazing! I have a couple of mangoes in fridge that I’m wondering what to do with. Do you think the coconut oil could be substituted for anything else?

  3. I am quite concerned about how we will navigate our flat when our boxes arrive. I suspect there will be lots of inaccessible areas / things! In the mean time, these look gorgeous🙂

  4. We are definitely purgers at our house. But at least you have all your stuff now, right? No more being unable to make things because there’s no box grater! Or whatever!🙂

  5. Purger. But bf is a hoarder…our compromise is that he hides everything I would want to throw away if I discovered🙂

    This looks great! Would love to try it with other fruits…apricots maybe?

  6. Whew, glad you had Internet! We had internet issues in Oregon when we returned from Italy few weeks ago and it was the router issue, which wasn’t even that old. Comcast is getting on my nerves. These Mango Coconut Cups remind me somewhat of Khanom Tarn (Palm Cakes) and Khanom Thuay (Thai Coconut Custard), sorry about the Thai terms! Stunning Mango Coconut cups..mmmm! Wish you luck clearing up some space…we got rid of kitchen appliances, furnitures and camera gear we didn’t need and and it felt so clean, empty and minimalistic now! My mind felt a lot clear now. I’m sort of between – hoarder and purger. But my copain is definitely a purger!

  7. These are so cute & fun =) Glad the unpacking is going (sort of) well ;p I am a ruthless purger!!!! If you lived closer, I would show you the ropes. We moved a month ago with less than 2 dozen boxes and I can’t wait to purge some more once we’re completely settled!

What do you think?

