janet @ the taste space

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Garlic Tahini Dressing

In Salads on September 4, 2014 at 6:57 AM

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Garlic Tahini Dressing

Easing back into cooking in Toronto, I tried to highlight local, seasonal vegetables. We arrived too late to grow our own garden but we had a little help from family.

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Garlic Tahini Dressing

These cucumbers were courtesy of Rob’s mother’s garden and the tomatoes came from my sister-in-law’s parents’ garden. The dressing was a simple lemon-tahini-garlic combination that pretty much never fails. Although the twist was adding some olives. I don’t use them very often but it was an unusual and nice accent to the creamy dressing.

What are you growing this year?

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Garlic Tahini Dressing

I am sharing this with Souper Sundays and Bookmarked Recipes.

Cucumber and Tomato Salad with Garlic Tahini Dressing
Adapted from Tasty Yummies

1 large cucumber, thinly sliced
4 tomatoes, seeded if desired and chopped
1/4 cup olives, pitted and roughly chopped (I think I used Gaeta-style olives- the wrinkly ones!)
2 tbsp fresh mint, roughly chopped (I think dill would be great here, too)

2 tbsp tahini
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
4 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 small cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp maple syrup (or sweetener of choice)
sea salt and fresh pepper, to taste

1. For a less soggy salad, drain cucumber. Place cucumber slices in a colander and allow to drain. Pat dry. I skipped it. In a medium bowl, place the cucumber, tomato, olives and mint. Stir to combine.

2. In a smaller bowl, combine the tahini, oil, lemon juice, garlic, maple syrup and season to taste. Mix to combine.

3. Prior to serving, drizzle as much dressing as desired overtop.

Serves 4.

  1. Wonderfully elegantly simple…just the kind of recipe we need these days. We found some beautiful yellow tomatoes at the farmers’ market last week…they’d be fun to include in this salad so I hope they have more this weekend. Many thanks!

  2. lovely salad and must be lovely to be close enough to family to enjoy the produce of their garden

  3. You have to love the simplicity of a perfect tomato & cucumber salad.🙂 Glad to hear you guys got your hands on some homegrown garden veggies! SO GOOD.

  4. Yes! Garlic tahini dressing forever!

  5. My kind of stuff! Like the addition of olives in it.

  6. I like the addition of the olives and I think I could just eat that dressing up with a spoon. Thanks for sharing with Souper Sundays this week.😉

  7. I make a similar salad – I like adding artichoke hearts instead of olives, but switching it up sounds good too. I like the dressing! I don’t add tahini to my dressings enough.

What do you think?

