janet @ the taste space

Whipped Macadamia Cream with Berries

In Breakfasts, Desserts on September 27, 2014 at 7:22 AM

Raw Whipped Cream Berry Salad

Part of the allure for travelling to Madagascar and South Africa, other than the interesting animals (LEMURS! elephants! giraffes! rhinoceroses!) was the plant-life as well. I don’t like to scope out flowers (much) but I was excited to visit a tea plantation. Sadly, we were not in the right areas to visit vanilla plantations (Madagascar is the world’s top producer of vanilla) or cocoa plantations but we serendipitously stumbled upon fields and fields of macadamia trees in South Africa. Turns out South Africa is the second largest producer of macadamia nuts, after Australia where it is indigenous.

Raw Whipped Cream Berry Salad

So in addition to the chocolate, vanilla pods and tea, Rob allowed me to bring home some macadamia nuts too. A nice change from cashews, they bring a brilliant white to its sauces and possibly more creamy with all its fat. This is great news for those without a high-speed blender: silky sauces are just macadamias away.

Raw Whipped Cream Berry Salad

While the blogosphere feasts on the beginning of the fall produce (apples, pumpkin and my favourite: brussels sprouts), enjoy this berry-filled salad spruced with mint and topped with a creamy whipped macadamia cream. The vanilla is a pronounced flavour which countered the sweet berries well. Feel free to use it on top of your morning oats (see below), or as part of a parfait, or perhaps, more in keeping with fall, on top of a vegan pumpkin pie or fall-spiced hot beverage (pumpkin latte, pumpkin chai tea or hot chocolate, anyone?).

Are you ready for fall yet?

Raw Whipped Cream Berry Salad

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes.

Whipped Macadamia Cream
Adapted from The 30-Minute Vegan

1 cup raw unsalted macadamia nuts
1 tbsp agave, or to taste
3/4 – 1 cup water, or to reach your desired consistency
1/2-1 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a blender, combine all ingredients and blend until smooth. Add more water, to thin to your desired consistency. Store in fridge.  I served it with berries and slivered mint.

Makes 1.5+ cups.

  1. Interesting! I’ve never thought to use macadamia nuts much at all, really, but now I really want to give this a try. Nut creams for the win!

  2. Whoa, that looks super creamy…I’m going to have to get my hands on some macadamias!

  3. I’m travelling in europe right now but as soon as i get bak i am making this! I may even find a vegan crepe recipe and roll it all up! Can’t wait to get home to try this

  4. I’ve never used macadamia nuts in this way before! I bet it would be amazing on pumpkin pie.

  5. I always forget about macadamia nuts – they are underused, poor little guys.
    Beautiful dish Janet =)

  6. […] it is hard to believe Thanksgiving is quickly approaching. And as I was writing up my recipe for raw macadamia vanilla cream, I realized I never shared this fabulous recipe with […]

  7. This is so cool, I love Macadamia nuts but I find them so difficult to make milk and cream with because of how hard they are but if you manage it is amazing. I will have to try this recipe when I want to treat myself

  8. even though macadamias are australian they are still expensive here so I don’t use them a lot but this sounds interesting – and I now have a new blender that I need to experiment with so this sounds great

  9. I love how beautifully white your macadamia cream turns out. It’s so pretty ♥
    I love macadamia nuts but they tend to be expensive here in the UK. I’ll have to see if I can bulk order on the internet and get a discount as I’d love to try out your recipe x

  10. What a stunning dessert and a great idea! Thanks so much for sharing with this month’s round of Bookmarked Recipes🙂

What do you think?

