janet @ the taste space

Abby’s Vegan Pumpkin Pie with a Pecan-Oat Crust

In Desserts, Favourites on September 30, 2014 at 7:30 AM

Abby's Vegan Pumpkin Pie with a Pecan-Oat Crust

While it still feels like summer in Toronto, it is hard to believe Thanksgiving is quickly approaching. And as I was writing up my recipe for raw macadamia vanilla cream, I realized I never shared this fabulous recipe with you.

It still makes me smile that one of my co-workers, Abby, made a vegan and gluten-free pumpkin pie with me in mind for last year’s Thanksgiving.  Abby graciously let me take home all the leftovers which I enjoyed. Sadly, I was hoping to get better photos. I don’t think these do it any justice but figured I should still share the great recipe with you.

Abby's Vegan Pumpkin Pie with a Pecan-Oat Crust

Pumpkin pies are ubiquitous in the US around Thanksgiving but this pie was better than your traditional fare. A mixture of both pumpkin and sweet potato purees with a custard texture from tofu worked really well here. It was perfectly sweetened with a hint of savoury notes from the cinnamon and nutmeg. The recipe will make more filling than you need for one pie, which might work out nicely if you have a vegan friend who really wants all the leftovers.😉

The crust was awesome, too, just a bit on the brown side, but with a spiced pecan background that worked well with the pumpkin pie.  As I pay more attention to the recipe, it looks like Abby took some inspiration for the crust from my pecan-shortbread crust I used with a lemon-cheesecake. You may not even need to pre-bake the crust like Abby did, so keep that in mind.

Are you ready for fall yet?

Abby's Vegan Pumpkin Pie with a Pecan-Oat Crust

I am sharing this with Simple and In Season and the Virtual Vegan Link-Up.

Abby’s Vegan Pumpkin Pie with Pecan-Oat Crust

Crust
1 cup oat flour
2 cups pecans
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp powdered ginger
1/2 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
pinch cloves
1/3 cup agave (or honey for non-vegans)
2 tbsp or more coconut oil

Filling (this will make more than you need for one pie):
1 cup pumpkin puree*
1 cup sweet potato puree*
16 oz silken tofu
2-3 tbsp coconut milk (full fat) for consistency
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp powdered ginger
1 tsp ground nutmeg
large pinch cloves
large pinch allspice

1. To make the crust:
In food processor process pecans until they start to form a ball, but not so far as they form a butter. Process in the oat flour, sugar, and spices. Put mixture into bowl, add agave/honey and coconut oil and work in with hands. Add more coconut oil as needed to bring mixture together. Press into a well greased 9″ pie plate. Cover the edges in foil and bake in oven on 350F for 10-12 minutes, making sure not to let it burn. Allow crust to cool.

2. To make the filling:
Combine pumpkin puree, sweet potato puree, and silken tofu in a bowel*. Mix in the brown sugar and spices. The consistency should not be runny, but it should be somewhat loose. Depending on the consistency you prefer you can drizzle in the coconut milk. Pour the filling into the prebaked crust and bake at 375F for 30-45 min until surface darkens. (Abby recommends covering the edges of the crust to prevent it from over baking).

Crust makes 1 pie and filling more.

*When Abby made this she used real sweet potato and pumpkin (not from a can). For the pumpkin roasted it whole with slits poked in the sides until it softens and started to collapse. Let it cool, cut it in half, scoop out the seeds, and then scoop the flesh into the food processor to puree it. For the sweet potato: peel it, cube it and put it in a baking dish with a couple of tbsp of water. Cover that with plastic wrap and microwave it on high for about 10 minutes until soft (be careful pulling the plastic wrap back the steam will burn you). Add them both of these to the food processor and processed them together. This gives you more then you need for one pie, but you can use it for other pies too.

  1. This looks amazing – I love the idea of adding pecans into the pie crust. Yum!

  2. Reblogged this on veggiewitch and commented:
    Yum!😀

  3. This is likely the pumpkin pie I’ll be making this fall! Thank you.🙂

  4. Definitely ready for fall and all of the pumpkin I can eat :-)!

  5. Yum!! I made a similar (non-vegan/non-gf) pie last autumn. I love using pecans in the crust – I think they add much needed flavor and texture to an otherwise ok pumpkin pie (I’m usually more of an apple pie person). Yours looks delicious!

  6. Oh goodness this looks so good! I especially like the sound of the spiced pecan crust. Pumpkin pie isn’t a thing here but I discovered it last year when I made Dreena’s delicious recipe. In fact I made it twice as my whole family loved it. Maybe I’ll try this recipe in the upcoming months….

  7. This definitely drives home the season – and looks fantastic! Like Emma, the spiced pecan crust sounds amazing to me.

  8. strangely enough it is spring and yet the time of year I start thinking one of these days I will make pumpkin pie because they do pop up regularly on the blogosphere

  9. Not one bit ready for fall…I’ve got eternal summer in my soul but yumful bites like this make the seasonal transition easier. Especially if I can eat it for breakfast. 🙂

  10. This looks incredible, I love the sound of that crust!

  11. […] pie is more photogenic than mine but her recipe uses blackstrap […]

What do you think?

