janet @ the taste space

My Favourite Vegan Restaurants for Non-Vegans in Houston

In Events/Round-Ups on October 2, 2014 at 7:35 AM

I had been meaning to write this up in my final days in Houston but only now getting around to polishing up my recommendations. You will notice that most of my recommendations are not for vegan-only establishments. Those are few and far between in Houston and let’s be honest that most of my friends are not vegan and I like it when we can all enjoy our company and all enjoying eats together.

Without further adieu, here are my favourite places in Houston for vegan meals where there are also options that will satisfy serious non-vegans.

1. Green Vegetarian Cuisine

I originally encountered Green shortly before I switched to eating only vegan after a trip to San Antonio in 2011. Perhaps it was their scrummy dishes that reinforced I could totally eat vegan that made it easier to switch. Who knows, but what I do know is this Houston outpost is a vegetarian restaurant offering delicious vegan eats. They opened early in 2014 and I had many repeat visits. I recommend their sweet potato pancakes for brunch and their BBQ sandwich. I loved the filling so much, I would usually get the filling as a side to a protein bowl. YUM!  In retrospect, my recent hankering for BBQ sauce may have been spurred by a Green craving.

Vegan goodness.

A photo posted by Green Vegetarian (@greenvegetarian) on

Our Fish & Chips. So good that you think it's the real deal. Reposted from @veganhouston.

A photo posted by Green Vegetarian (@greenvegetarian) on

Today's special: Buffalo Tofu Salad. #vegan #vegetarian #SATX #gcsa15 #sanantonio

A photo posted by Green Vegetarian (@greenvegetarian) on

 

2. Khun Kay Thai Cafe (website currently down, so use info from HappyCow)

Thai restaurants are usually friendly for vegan eats but this Thai eatery excels with fresh, flavourful and light fare with a whole vegan section on their menu (including vegan coconut ice cream). It was their seitan mock duck larb that inspired me to make these delicious Laotian Larb Tofu Lettuce Wraps, so at least I will have the ability to make this from miles away.

#365grateful #redcurrytofu #khunkaythaicafe I'm grateful for a delicious lunch with my son!

A photo posted by Karen Stirling (@whirlingstirling) on

A photo posted by Peter (@sprintjuice) on

 

3. The Dosa Factory / dgn factory

They may have changed their name to dgn factory, but they still serve healthy dosa stuffed with your favourite worldly combinations. Not just Indian masala, they have cauliflower Manchurian and even Mexican-inspired options. My standard order was the not-spicy spring veggie dosa hold the cheese with the vegan kheer for dessert. Yes, it was their kheer that inspired me to make this Chai-Spiced Rice Pudding. My friends raved about their authentic AYCE sambhar.

Puduina Paneer Tikka: Dosa spread with mint chutney & paneer, garlic & onion! #yummy #dgnfactory #dosagonenuts

A photo posted by DGN Factory (@dgnfactory) on

 

4. Hugo’s

I loved going to Hugo’s. Mostly because my guests would positively rave about their food. They serve traditional but inspired upscale Mexican food. Think nopales and huilacoche. This is not standard TexMex. I think my friend still talks about the mole-stuffed cornbread. And that was a side. In any case, they have a vegetable-heavy vegetarian sampler platter (from their old menu so off-menu) that can easily be made vegan. Plus, once they know you are vegan, they will tailor the dishes for you. The churros: totally vegan but they will make sure there is no milk in the side of hot chocolate. If you call ahead they can make their refried beans vegan as well.

 

5. Radical Eats (now closed, so sad)

This is a vegan resto that went omni after relocating to my former neighbourhood. They offer an overwhelming multi-course Sunday brunch which is a great way to sample their food. Meat options are available but I think the vegan meals would satisfy even the serious meat lovers. Comfort Mexican-inspired treats, I found their vegan desserts were stellar. Call in advance to see what they have available. For a while we tracked down their vegan tres leches cake until Rob was more content with the non-vegan but best tres leches in Houstin from El Bollilo. They also offer free drop-in vegan cooking classes on a monthly basis so pay attention to their Facebook feed for details.

 

6. Pondicheri Cafe

This restaurant was already in Rob’s good books before we moved here as it was a favourite amongst our Houston friends. They have a handful of vegan options (I was partial to their uttapam and beet and barley salad since they were not too spicy). They serve fusion Indian food with options for everyone.

Get your #veggie on for #meatlessmonday – #pondicheri #htx #livespicy

A photo posted by Pondicheri (@pondicheri) on

Once a week, skip the meat – #meatlessmonday specials all day at #pondicheri #htx

A photo posted by Pondicheri (@pondicheri) on

 

Have I missed your favourite restaurant serving vegan meals? Tell me more!

  1. Great list! Hugo’s is awesome. I would add Seasons 52 to it, too. They have two locations and are very vegan friendly.

  2. I’ve never been to Houston, but I have to say that I really want some sweet potato pancakes now!

  3. LOVE THIS LIST!!! Ugh Green sounds so good–why must it be in San Antonio?!?! I am def putting the Thai restaurant/Dosa Factory on the top of my list to go ASAP. And of course, now I’m craving the chips + tamales at Radical Eats so badly. Vegan food, why you be so goooood🙂

What do you think?

