janet @ the taste space

Mung Bean Tostadas & Lusty Vegan Cookbook Giveaway

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian) on December 9, 2014 at 8:01 AM

Lusty Vegan's Mung Bean Tostadas

I told you it was a good time for vegan cookbooks. Here is the latest cute offering, The Lusty Vegan. It is a cookbook focusing on relationships. Being vegan in a relationship can be a little tricky at times and there are approachable tips and delicious recipes to satisfy the most un-vegan. Trust me, there is almost nothing as sexy than a man that can cook and these recipes span the gamut of simple to complex, such that you might actually want to work together in the kitchen.

Heart of Palm Lobster Rolls, anyone? Tempeh Fries with Dill Avocado Dip? Miso-Vermouth Braised Drunken Bok Choy? Habanero Jackfruit Fajitas? Cherry Cobbler with Cocoa Nibs? These recipes are unique but I will admit, mostly on the elaborate side. They are matched by the stage of the relationship – trying to impress your partner, trying to impress the parents, classic vegan dishes and even desserts if you ever break up.

They make me want to try new dishes but let’s be honest, right now I try to keep things stress-free in the kitchen and I think that helps both Rob and I. Of course, it is natural to want to impress your partner, but it isn’t sustainable. Does that mean we’ve become a boring couple? I certainly hope not. Life just doesn’t always revolve around food.🙂

Lusty Vegan's Mung Bean Tostadas

So now, a little about these tostadas. Instead of pinto beans, mung beans substitute in the refried beans. I was curious to try them in something new, although they were a bit mealy for my liking. Although after I covered it with toppings, I barely noticed. I added cooked quinoa, cabbage and carrots, as an ode to my Lime-Spiked Black Bean and Quinoa Kale Wrap. Feel free to add whatever you have lurking in your fridge.

Recipes from The Lusty Vegan spotted elsewhere:

Cajun Tofu and Dirty Quinoa

Classic Tofu Loaf

Hearts of Baltimore Crab Cakes with Garlicky Dill Aioli

Lemon Meringue Chia Pudding

Mexican Hot Chocolate-Covered Strawberries

Sriracha Tempeh Sliders with Ranch Dressing

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me whether you have found your food preferences have caused difficulties in your relationships. The winner will be selected at random on December 17, 2014. Good luck!

Lusty Vegan's Mung Bean Tostadas

I am sharing this with My Legume Love Affair.

Mung Bean Tostadas
Courtesy of The Lusty Vegan

Prep time: 5 Minutes | Cook time: 40 minutes | Serves 2 to 4 | GF, SF

Note: If you can only find sprouted mung beans, remember that will reduce the cooking time by 7 to 10 minutes. If you use them, watch your beans closely.

2 cups water, or more
1/2 cup dry mung beans
1 tablespoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoon olive oil
4 corn tostada shells

TOPPINGS

1/4 cup chopped purple onion
1/2 cup chopped Roma tomatoes
2 cups shredded romaine lettuce
2 pickled jalapeños, chopped
Salsa
1 avocado, pitted, peeled, and sliced
2 limes, cut in quarters

  1. Bring the water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add the mung beans, cover, and lower the heat to medium-high. Cook for 10 minutes, then lower the heat to medium-low. Continue to cook until the water begins to evaporate and the beans split open, 35 to 40 minutes. At this point the texture of the mung beans will become similar to refried beans. When the beans break down, they will have a powdery taste, but when they’re almost done cooking, that taste goes away. You made need to add more water, 1/2 cup at a time.
  1. Once the desired consistency is reached, add the cumin, chili powder, and smoked paprika, stirring well to mix the ingredients together. Add the nutritional yeast, salt, and olive oil. Remove from the heat.
  1. Place a tostada shell on a plate and top with 1/4 cup of the mung beans. Add the toppings of your choice. Boom!

 Serves 2-4.

From The Lusty Vegan © 2014 by Ayinde Howell and Zoe Eisenberg. Used with permission from Vegan Heritage Press.

  1. Mung bean refried beans is a really interesting idea… I’m surprised as I thought they would look more… green? I’m glad to hear that they were tasty, I might just have to give it a try myself! I live with an omnivore and we don’t really have any conflict about cooking/eating, though of course I always wish he would go more in the vegan direction!

  2. You don’t need to impress me in the kitchen, Janet! I already think that you are awesome😀

  3. My husband is pretty flexible, but I find it hard when he wants to eat in a diner. There are not that many choices for me that I think are very healthy. One diner near us does have brown rice and vegetables which is okay, but not very tasty. However, other diners don’t seem to offer that choice.

  4. The toughest part, for me, dealing with others is when they went to effort/expense thinking they were meeting my food needs, yet what they so hopefully offer me contains foods I cannot eat. Beyond vegan, I also have food allergies & intolerances. My food world is pretty complicated, apparently indecipherable to outsiders.

  5. Living with a carnivore makes cooking meals that we will both eat mostly impossible. Mostly on our own.

  6. No issues. The people I surround myself with respect my choices around food.😉

  7. No difficulties just a lot of curiosity and questions.

  8. Food tends not to be a problem as long as they’re kind, caring individuals!🙂

  9. Sometimes I get some weird looks but, overall, those close to me are very understanding

  10. Usually it helps me build relationships. So no relationship issues.

  11. There are good parts and bad parts. People tend to be very curious and willing to talk with me about it, which I love. However at other times, often in group settings, I’ve noticed people like to poke fun at me for being vegan, which seems harmless to them but I find it hurtful sometimes in that it trivializes something that is really important to me. But nobody ever directly attacks my diet or anything, so I’m super grateful for that. I love being vegan!

  12. I was totally surprised by the in-laws. We went on vacation together in Barcelona and every night they went with us to a vegan/vegetarian restaurant and really enjoyed it! On the other hand, a close friend from college is feeling a bit betrayed that we can no longer eat queso together. : [

  13. MMMMM, NOTHING IS TASTIER THAN LUST.

    Ahem….I’m 19 and have NEVER been in a relationship (sniff) so I’ll go ahead and say that yes, it has messed with my relationship with my FAMILY. They’re really respectful about my needs, but they get so flustered when I come home and we go out to eat that it ends up ruining their whole night.

  14. That’s a really nice dish! Thanks for sending it across to MLLA

  15. My family is open to trying most things. I experiment a lot.

  16. Oooh mung beans in tostadas! Sounds so creative!
    I like the sound of the cookbook too. Terry is not vegan, but our kitchen is, which makes things easier for me. I used to stress about him not being vegan – but it obviously didn’t help anything. I’ve relaxed and, like you, try to keep things stress free in the kitchen. I’m happy with him eating vegan at home and so is he – so that works for us =)

  17. Fantastic and creative use of mung beans Janet. I’ll have to try this one.

  18. I have had a few difficulties. Mostly with my husband’s family who is always offering me food they know I won’t eat. LOL!! Thanks for the wonderful giveaway and Happy Holidays🙂

    Renee
    fattybumpkins at yahoo dot com

  19. I think good food always bring people together, so no relationship problem.

  20. No difficulties here, I just get where do you get your protein from co workers, in laws, friends? Love me some good vegan food. Ming beans on a tostada sounds extra yummy. Thanks

What do you think?

