janet @ the taste space

My 12 Favourite Recipes from 2014

In Favourites on January 1, 2015 at 11:10 AM

If I thought 2013 was filled with change, it was nothing compared to 2014. Moving from Houston back to Toronto was bittersweet, leaving a community and friends I still miss dearly. However, I am finally working at my “forever” job, and it only took 14 years of school after high school. After a somewhat heart-wrenching vacation in Madagascar and South Africa wherein I broke my leg, and now lengthy rehab process, my health has remained important. In the kitchen, this has meant more simple recipes and now that I am back in the gym, I only go a few times a week. 2015 is going to be a wonderful year. At least the first part will be spent preparing for our upcoming wedding. Best wishes for all of you this upcoming year as well, wherever that may bring you.

These were my favourite eats from 2014:

1. Roasted Cauliflower and Mustard-Hummus Rice Bowl with Garlicky Spinach & A Vegan Mustard Tasting Party

As we embrace more minimalism, I certainly don’t have enough mustards to host a party right now, but this bowl of my favourite foods was a delicious result.

Roasted Cauliflower, Garlicky Spinach and Mustard-Hummus Rice Bowl (& A Vegan Mustard Tasting Party)
2. Laotian Larb Tofu Lettuce Wraps

Perhaps an odd choice for recipe #2, but I veritably feasted on these wraps in Houston and this is a way to bring a small part of Houston wherever I may be.

Laotian Tofu Larb Lettuce Wraps

3. Roasted Creole Cauliflower

Another fabulously oft-repeated recipe. A flavourful tomato-based marinade for roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Creole Cauliflower

4. Roasted Cauliflower Salad with Fried Capers and Pickled Currants

It is no surprise that 2014 was year of the cauliflower (Rob thinks it was year of the taco), but this was a delicious salad with roasted cauliflower, creamy avocado and my newest obsession: pickled capers!

Roasted Cauliflower Salad with Fried Capers and Pickled Currants
5. Cali-Coco BLT Quinoa Salad

Another favourite salad combination from this year: coconut bacon, creamy avocado and smoked tofu with quinoa and arugula.

Cali-Coco BLT Quinoa Salad
6. Cuban Beer-Infused Black Beans

One cannot forget to include beans and this was one brew that was utterly delicious.

Cuban Beer-Infused Black Beans

 

7. Mango Chana Masala

Certainly not authentic (my Indian Chickpea Curry with Mango Powder is more traditional), but this curry uses mangoes instead of mango powder for a fun twist on chickpea curry.

Mango Chana Masala

8. Manchurian Chickpea Bowls

Probably the quintessential 2014 dish with both beans and roasted cauliflower, the spiced saucy sauce made this a wonderful bowl of goodness.

Manchurian Chickpea Bowl

9. Coconut Chana Saag

While I only shared this a few days ago, this has been repeated a few times over the year and it has yet to disappoint. Hearty leafy greens like kale work well against the flavourful broth.

Coconut Chana Saag
10. Raw Brownie Cake with a Chocolate Avocado Frosting

In my quest to use massive amount of coconut flour, this was a delicious no-bake cake that was a deliciously decadent dessert.

Raw Brownie Cake with a Chocolate Avocado Frosting

Bonus: 11. Angela’s Glo Bars

This recipe was the beginning of a relove of granola and granola-type bars. This was my favourite of the bunch packed with oats, chia seeds and sunflower seeds.

Ange's Glo Bars

Bonus 12. Chai Spiced Rice Pudding

These are a bit labour intensive to make (which is why they are a bonus favourite) but the flavours cannot be beat. A luscious dessert that is sure to please.

Chai Spiced Rice Pudding

 

What were your favourite finds from the year? Did I miss any of your favourites?

Here’s to a happy new year!

Favourite here, previously:

My 10 Favourite Recipes from 2010

My 11 Favourite Recipes from 2011

My 12 Favourite Recipes from 2012

My 13 Favourite Recipes from 2013

Top 13 Reader Favourite Recipes from 2013

My Ongoing List of Favourite Recipes

 

 

 

 

  1. These all look phenomenal! I love your food… can’t wait to see what you come up with next! Happy 2015!

  2. So glad you posted these favorites! I had not discovered your blog until later in the year, so glad I am not missing them. I too love roasted cauliflower.

  3. Hooray! Happy new year to you! And I may have to go get a cauliflower very soon now.🙂 Those Manchurian chickpea bowls sound so warming and delightful!

  4. It was definitely the year of the cauliflower! I certainly fell in love with it in 2014 anyway. I’m definitely trying that cauli, mustard, hummus rice bowl😀
    All the best for ’15. It sounds like you’ve got quite the year ahead of you!

  5. Happy 2015! It’s always so hard to pick favourites from the year. I thought your 3 Sisters Soup from October was my favourite this year, but then your last post of 2014, the miso split pea soup with hemp seeds just blew my mind. Happy cooking and congrats on your upcoming wedding!

  6. Oh noo!!!!!!! So sad to hear that you broke your leg!!! Wishing you a smooth and speedy rest of your rehab process😦

    LOVING this round up of your favorite recipes. They all look like things I just want to grab right off the screen and devour! I’ve been dying to try coconut bacon! That creamy avocado cauliflower salad, yum! And the raw brownie cake–swoon! I’m so in awe of your ability to cook up all these delicious, wholesome recipes. Bravo and can’t wait to see what 2015 brings from your amazing blog!!

  7. Happy New Year to you.
    I’m relatively new to your blog and am just pleased that I discovered it. I love how your transform down to earth ingredients into food we would really want to eat. The Roasted Cajun Cauliflower here looks delicious. and excited to read that we have a wedding on the cards, look forward to hearing more. May 2015 be a wonderful year for you. PS I think the 3 Sisters Soup is one of my faves, personally.

  8. I remember the creole cauliflower very well – i loved it!!! Thank you for a great selcetion and all the best for 2015 x

  9. such beautiful looking recipes – I don’t even like cauliflower much but I’m looking at the pictures and wanting to make that roasted caulifower!

  10. […] I said our meals have become more simple, this is probably not what you had in mind.  I had not planned on sharing this either, but the […]

  11. What a wonderful collection! Everything looks so good, especially the Raw Brownie Cake. Pinned it for making it later🙂

  12. Awesome recipe roundup!
    Yikes! I missed the part where you broke your leg (or forgot… some blogging buddy I am!). I hope your recovery is going well.
    Hope 2015 treats you well Janet =) Happy New Year!

  13. […] My 14 Favourite Recipes from 2014 […]

What do you think?

