janet @ the taste space

Roasty Smoky Brussels Sprouts with Chickpeas

In Mains (Vegetarian) on January 15, 2015 at 7:53 AM

Roasty Smoky Brussels Sprouts with Chickpeas

With all this talk of cold going around here, you might be reasoning it is because I forgot what winter was like while I was in Texas. I assure you, this is not the case. But it does kind of make me resent it slightly and appreciate the cold spells.

Truth be told, we have been having difficulties with our furnace. During the coldest days, it also goes on strike. I spoke about it briefly here and thought a new thermostat was going to keep us warm over the winter. Imagine my dismay as I come home after work to a frigid home… and I could not get the furnace to work. Our landlord told us to sit tight, he would get us a space heater and the repair man would arrive the next morning.

Um, yeah. Not a happy camper. I went upstairs and decided to warm up the bed. It would be a cold night.

Turns out when Rob came home, he had a bit more patience in the freezing basement and reset the furnace. We were saved!

Obviously I didn’t make this with our frigid kitchen but it would have quickly warmed it up. (I opted for a quickie rewarming of leftover broccoli dal instead). It is a rather simple combination of spices and nooch for roasted chickpeas and brussels sprouts. Easy peasy and quite delicious. Definitely give it a try and let me know what you think.

If you like this, you may also like these:

Roasted Chickpeas and Cauliflower with Dukkah

Forty Clove Roasted Chickpeas and Broccoli

Salt and Vinegar Roasted Chickpeas

Roasty Smoky Brussels Sprouts with Chickpeas

I am sharing this with Extra Veg.

Roasty Smoky Brussels Sprouts with Chickpeas
Adapted from More Quick Fix Vegan

1 lb Brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered
1.5 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed, drained and dried if canned
1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp lemon pepper seasoning

1. Preheat oven to 400F.

2. Wash, dry and trim your Brussels sprouts as your oven warms up. Place chopped Brussels sprouts on a silpat-lined baking sheet. Drizzle with a touch of oil, dispersing as best you can. Sprinkle with a touch of salt and spread out evenly in the baking tray, trying not to crowd them. Bake for 10 minutes.

3. Add chickpeas, drizzle with remaining oil, stirring to combine and flip the Brussels sprouts. Return to oven and bake another 10 minutes.

4. Sprinkle with nutritional yeast, smoked paprika and lemon pepper seasoning. Stir to coat and bake for for an additional 5 minutes until they are crisped to your liking.

5. Remove from oven, sprinkle with a touch more nutritional yeast and season to taste. Best eaten warm. Serve as is, or overtop rice or quinoa.

Serves 2 as a main, 4 as a side.

  1. Reblogged this on veggiewitch and commented:
    LOVE!

  2. Lovely dish! I definitely think you and i share very similar tastes🙂

  3. I have been known to turn on the oven in the winter just because I’m cold.

    I love Brussels – I could eat them all day. Great flavors combination too! I put nutritional yeast on everything.🙂

  4. Oh man! Furnace woes are the worst — I know because our furnace died in December. Granted, this was not as big a problem here in CA as it would have been pretty much anywhere else, but still. No heat is bad news. Glad Rob was able to get things working for you guys. This mixed chickpea and brussels sprout roast sounds delicious! Perfect for the depths of winter.

  5. My two favourite things, Brussels sprouts and chickpeas! This looks amazing🙂

  6. Oh gosh, furnace giving up on the coldest days? How rude! I’m glad you guys warmed up though, yay Rob!

  7. One of my favourite recipes is roasted brussels sprouts with chickpeas & rice. I love the sound of this one – especially with nutritional yeast. Yum!
    So glad Rob managed to fix the furnace. I can’t believe you almost had to wait overnight in such cold temperatures:/

  8. Oh gosh, I can’t imagine coping without heating here and we don’t get much below ‘3’C or so! Canadian winter without heating sounds horrendous. I hope it’s sorted soon and this looks like a great dish for days when time in a cold kitchen needs to be minimised (or all days actually)🙂

  9. I simply do not understand why so any people do not like sprouts. Granted when over boiled they are horrible, which is how they were served in my school dinners of yesteryear. Let’s hear it for delicious sprouts.

  10. This sounds amazing! I’ve only recently come to really love brussels sprouts {have no idea why I waited so long to give them a chance?!?} — can’t wait to try out your version next though. Thanks so much for the recipe!

What do you think?

