janet @ the taste space

Jackfruit Vegan Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce + Vegan Without Borders Giveaway

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides on January 24, 2015 at 8:00 AM

Jackfruit Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce

See below for the worldwide (!!) giveaway.

I don’t pay attention to food trends, mostly because I have learned I am usually ahead of the pack! Quinoa before the masses. I was talking about amaranth in 2010! Kale and cauliflower, I have you covered… Although I am still waiting for the world to catch on to the love of beans.

Anyways, Bon Appetit top prediction for 2015 is gyros.

Vegans need not fret. I am presenting to you: jackfruit vegan gyros for 2015.

Gyros sound finicky and complex. They are probably confused mostly in their pronunciation (hint: it sounds more like euro).

And yes, I also think jackfruit is looking to be the next culinary trend (and humble-brag alert, I’ve been eating jackfruit since 2012).

Jackfruit Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce + Vegan Without Borders Giveaway

This recipe is courtesy of Robin Robertson’s Vegan Without Borders. A very prolific author, this particular cookbook has focused on mostly authentic vegan recipes from around the world. The cookbook is divided into sections based on geography and highlights recipes from Europe (Italy, France, Spain and Portugal, Greece, Eastern Europe, British Isles), The Americas (United States, Mexico, The Caribbean, South America, Africa, The Middle East, India, and Asia (China, Thailand, Japan, Korea, Vietnam, Southeast Asia Islands).

The recipes, so far, have been solid. They are earmarked as gluten-free, soy-free, low oil/no oil and quick and easy. Because Robin has tried to maintain authenticity to the dishes, there are a bit more convenience foods as ingredients than I like (sour cream, cream cheese, etc) but you could definitely try substituting homemade versions, too.

Jackfruit Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce

These gyros, though, were fabulous. The jackfruit had an excellent texture, similar to pulled pork and the flavours were bright and fresh. Because I didn’t have yogurt or sour cream on hand, I made my own version of tzatziki which complemented the pita well. I opted for a tofu base since I thought the meal needed an extra hit of protein.

As leftovers, once I ran out of the pita, this was also excellent as a quinoa bowl, with the jackfruit and veggies piled high and a generous serving of the tzatziki overtop.

Jackfruit Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce
Recipes from Vegan Without Borders spotted elsewhere:

Baked Eggplant Fries

Bibimbap

Chickpea and Kale Wat

Cucumber and White Bean Ceviche

Farinata with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Olives

Injera

Mango Rice Verrines

Pina Colada Squares

Pissaladiere

Roasted Ratatouille with Basil Pistou

Seitan Jagerschnitzel

Szechuan Bok Choy

Tzatziki Sauce

Umbrian Lentil Salad

Vegetable Paella

Vegetable Tagine

Watermelon Paletas

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living anywhere in the world. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite cuisine (Thai, German, etc). The winner will be selected at random on February 1, 2015. Good luck!

PS. I am sharing this with Souper Sundays.

Jackfruit Gyros
From Vegan Without Borders by Robin Robertson/Andrews McMeel Publishing, LLC. 

Robin’s note: The meaty texture of jackfruit, and its ability to absorb surrounding flavors, makes it an ideal choice for these gyros. Look for frozen or canned water- or brine-packed jackfruit in Asian markets or well-stocked supermarkets (do not get the kind packed in syrup). You can shred the jackfruit in a food processor if you don’t want to use your hands. If jackfruit is unavailable, substitute your choice of seitan, steamed tempeh, mushrooms, or reconstituted Soy Curls.

1 (20-ounce) can jackfruit in water or brine, rinsed, drained, and pulled apart into shreds
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons dried oregano
½ teaspoon ground coriander
¼ teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon soy sauce
¾ cup vegetable broth
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
4 pita loaves, warmed
Shredded lettuce
Sliced tomato
Tzatziki Sauce (see below for my version, her original recipe can be found here)

1. Use your fingers to shred the jackfruit or shred it in a food processor using the shredding disk. Set aside. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Lower the heat to medium and stir in the garlic, then add the jackfruit, stirring to combine.

2. Cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until browned and caramelized. Stir in the oregano, coriander, cumin, soy sauce, and broth. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Decrease the heat to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes, then stir in the lemon juice and continue cooking until most of the liquid has evaporated.

3. Spoon the jackfruit mixture into warm pitas along with shredded lettuce, sliced tomato, and tzatziki sauce.

Serves 4.

From Vegan Without Borders by Robin Robertson/Andrews McMeel Publishing, LLC.

Vegan Tzatziki
Adapted from JL Goes Vegan

1 12 oz package soft silken tofu, drained (I used Mori Nu)
Juice of 1 large lemon (3-4 tbsp)
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 clove garlic
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tbsp fresh dill
1/2 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 cup cucumber, grated

1. Place tofu, lemon juice, vinegar, salt, dill and 1/2 cup chopped cucumber to a blender. Blend until smooth.

2. Remove from blender and stir in grated cucumber.

3. Chill prior to serving. It thickens and improves in flavour, getting a bit sour.

Makes 1.5 cups.

  1. I’m big on vegan Latin@ cuisine right now! Love me some tacos.

  2. I really like vegan Thai cuisine!

  3. Indian cuisine – yum!yum! ….yum!yum!

  4. My favorite vegan quisine is Mediterranean

  5. Would you believe me if I tell you I’ve never had a gyro before (vegan or otherwise)? I’ve actually been on the lookout for water-packed jackfruit for another recipe. Where did you find it in Toronto? (I’d imagine it’s somewhere in Kensington but I haven’t ventured out there yet.)

    Oh, and I’m all about Middle Eastern food. It’s the best!

  6. Ohhh…nice !!! What a wonderful giveaway…thanks🙂
    My favorite cuisine is propably Asian, especially Chinese and Japenese. However, I have to say that I love all kind of cuisine from around the world. They all have something special and delicious to offer🙂

  7. I love Indian cuisine – north and south!

  8. Its so hard to pick just one cuisine! South Indian is definitely high on my list.

  9. I’m a huge fan of Indian and Persian food.

  10. That would be amazing! I have a personal preference for Mediterranean cuisine but I also love South-East Asian cuisine.

  11. My favorites are Thai and Ethiopian!

  12. Please don’t enter me for the giveaway as I already have the book and absolutely love it. Well done to the publishers for making this a worldwide giveaway. Too many giveaways are restricted to US readers and that is a shame when there are so many potential customers overseas.

  13. Mediterranean and Middle Eastern flavors are my favorite. Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. My favorite is Mediterranean – bread, beans (esp. garbanzos), vegetables, fruits.

  15. Finding it hard to choose ‘one’….I love Labanese -Baba Ghanouj – Garlic and Tahini – Frittata’s -olives – vine leaves…but I also love Japanese too…miso, wasabi, nori, mushrooms…and countless others too.
    I think I would absolutely LOVE this cross-cultural mix of recipes;) in this cookbook you are featuring!

  16. I don’t know how to choose! Maybe Lebanese? This cookbook looks fabulous!

  17. Hmmmm interesting! I have never even tried a gyro – not even in my pre-vegan days as it didn’t sound particularly appealing. And I can definitely claim to be ahead of the masses in certain things (decor and clothing choices), but not with food. I have never tried jackfruit! I have to track it down and try it. This sounds so good!

  18. i cant get enough Koran food! Pickled everything!

  19. It is so hard to pick just one! Pretty much any cuisine that features bold, hot, spicy flavours and favours vegetables/legumes over meats as the main component of a dish… Mexican (real Mexican, not the gringo versions), Nepalese, Ethiopian, Indian, Thai. If I had to pick one, I would go with Ethiopian.

  20. Today, I’ll say Italian food is my favorite. Ask me on another day, though, & I might just as easily say Thai. This book looks like another Robin Robertson gem!

  21. Thai, Indian, Chinese, Sandwiches, Italian, Fusion (ha) : ) Love additions of breading/crust, bread and dipping sauces. in general. Also enjoy sweet/savory combos.

  22. Impossible to pick just one but I’ll go with Italian.

  23. My favourite cuisines are a tie between Thai, Indian, Middle Eastern, Korean and authentic Mexican!

  24. Wonderful recipe and cookbook🙂 I don’t have a particular favorite cousine but I do love fusion cuisine. I feel it’s more gratifying if you pick up influences from all over the world and bind it peacefully in a wonderful dish.

  25. I love the grand banquet of south India, it is one of the healthiest and delicious I ever ate. I also hold high regard for traditional Japanese cuisine.

  26. Mexican or indian

  27. Thai would be my favorite cuisine, I love the bold bright favors and I love curry.

  28. I think I’d have to say Indian is my favourite! Or maybe thai… They’re both just so good!!

  29. Just one?!? Pre-vegan is was Mexican but I’m still transitioning into making it without faux cheeses and stuff so I would have to go with Indian. It is (or can be) so flavorful and filling without being heavy and so easy to do vegan.

  30. Woah, my favorite cuisine.. I like thai food a lot! Sour, spicy, hot – awesome! But I couldn’t eat it all the time. I guess I tend to Mexican food: Hearty, spicy, quick, rich in legumes, perfect for crowds. Difficult question, Suzy😀

  31. Gyros are my ALL TIME FAVORITE —- Jackfruit scares the crap outta me! It looks like tuna! LOL!

  32. My favourite is Mexican, where I can express my love for beans. A close second Lebanese and Turkish. But as a Puerto Rican, I am cooking more often the dishes that I grew up eating.

  33. It’s a toss up between Southwestern/Mexican and Indian; I believe the tie has something to do with my undying love of cumin.🙂 I’m pretty sure I would eat cardboard if it was infused with the spice. LOL

    Are these authentic tasting? I’ve never had a gyro (long-time plant-based eater with an early history of food pickiness), but I’ve been SO curious about them for a very long time. Ditto for jackfruit. I think this recipe may be the final push to explore both of them.🙂 Now, I just need to find me some jackfruit!

  34. Right now I’m loving Caribbean cuisine

  35. So hard to choose a favorite cuisine! I think it would be Mediterranean food, though🙂

  36. I can’t really choose a favorite, so I’ll just say that this week it’s Thai. 🔥

  37. Robin is a wonderful author! Thanks for doing the giveway.

    My favorites are Mexican and Italian…but I’ve admittedly not had much exposure to far-flung cuisines.

  38. My favorite is thai. So delicious.

  39. O! my favorite cuisine is whichever set of spices/condiments I happen to use. For example I cooked up some pinto beans before our big storm thinking vaguely of coconut rice n beans and some roti. But then I started feeling like something soupier/juicier and then thought of 3 sisters: beans/corn/squash–because I had a pile of cleaned butternut in the fridge. So then I griddled up some Guajillo chilis, onions and garlic, whizzed em up in the blender, and ended up with a big pot of mexican ish chile…..

  40. Torn between two – the South Asian woman in me shouts Indian cuisine, but the adventurous vegetaran – shrieks vegetarian Mexican.

  41. I love Asian food, especially Thai! I also love good veggie sushi.

  42. I love exploring the tastes of ethnic food. Anything besides American is good, but I especially love Japanese cuisine. Sushiiiiiiii!

  43. I love many cuisines from around the world, but the one I have in mind right now is Caribbean cuisine. Having had the opportunity to eat at One Love Vegetarian while I was in Toronto for a few days this past weekend reminded me of how much I adore the flavours used in Caribbean cooking. It was extra great to eat something that reminded me so much of sun and warmth while it was pretty chilly outside!

  44. Lately I’ve been enjoying Korean a lot, but gosh those gyros do look yummy!

  45. Indian cuisine is my favorite

  46. Delicious!!!!! I love jackfruit!

  47. Mexican has always been my favourite, with Thai a close second.

  48. Vegan Thai is my absolute favorite!!!

  49. My favorite cuisine is Indian.

  50. What a fabulous sandwich. I don’t use jackfruit enough and this is a fabulous use for it. I think I could eat up the tzatziki sauce with a spoon. Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays.

    Robertson has some great books and recipes and this one is on my list.😉 It’s hard for me to pick a favorite cuisine–I supposed if pushed, it would be Thai, Indian or Greek.

  51. Had the absolute best gyro from a little shop in a NY City alleyway – the vegan version you have shared on here sounds ab fab too. Always into Thai here at home or if we are going out to eat.

  52. […] although we skipped the chocolate part. And we snuck in some leftover tamarind chickpea curry from Vegan Without Borders. But is was still […]

  53. […] Jackfruit Vegan Gyros with Vegan Tzatziki Sauce – The Taste Space […]

  54. Thai, easily. Mediterranean close second. Making these gyros tomorrow!

What do you think?

