janet @ the taste space

Calypso Pineapple Bean Pot

In Mains (Vegetarian) on January 31, 2015 at 8:08 AM

Calypso Pineapple Bean Pot

I have been blogging for over 5 years and one thing I have learned to keep this a sustainable hobby is: don’t sweat the small stuff. This recipe has been sitting in my draft folder for a while and I keep on hesitating to share it with its lackluster photos. However, the recipe is stellar and for some reason, once the snow hits, I am all about the tropical eats.

Calypso Pineapple Bean Pot

I used canned beans here. One can of red kidney beans (they never seem to get too much love in my kitchen) along with mixed beans (who remembers my Symphonic Mixed Bean Salad? With Mr Goudas’ 9th Symphony Bean Mix? YAH!). It still cracks me up: Eat and music will follow. Get ready to listen. I swear, it is written on the label. it almost sounds like Trader Joe’s would love.

Mr Goudas' 9th Symphony Bean Mix

In any case, the beans are mixed with a lime infused tomato broth spiked with pineapple and spiced with oregano and a hint of chile flakes. Serve with your favourite grainy side to sop of the juices.

I promise to return with some prettier photos (along with a giveaway) next week.🙂

Calypso Pineapple Bean Pot
PS. I am sharing this with this month’s My Legume Love Affair and Simple and In Season.

Calypso Pineapple Bean Pot
Adapted from Fat Free Vegan, who found it in The Meatless Gourmet by Bobbie Hinman

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
2 cups fresh pineapple, cored and chopped into small tidbits
1 cup chopped onion
4 cloves garlic, crushed
28 oz can whole tomatoes, drained (or 3 cups fresh tomatoes, peeled)
1 tsp grated fresh lime peel
2 tbsp lime juice (juice from 1 lime)
1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/8 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
19 oz can red kidney beans, drained (or 2 cups cooked)
19 oz can mixed beans, drained (or 2 cups cooked) – could substitute your favourite bean)
cilantro, for garnish

1. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Once hot, add the pineapple, and onion. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, 15 minutes or until mixture becomes dry and onion begins to brown. Add garlic and cook until the garlic becomes fragrant, around 1 minute more.

2. Add remaining ingredients, mixing well. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and cook 30 minutes, stirring several times while cooking.

3. Serve over quinoa, brown rice or any other cooked grain. Garnish with freshly chopped cilantro.

Serves 4-6.

  1. Thanks for posting! This looks like something my boys will adore!
    Do you think chopped mushrooms would be OK in this? Always looking to add more anti-cancer foods to their meals, and at first glance it looks like they’d hide here very well; do you agree?

    • If you mince the mushrooms up and don’t add too many, I think it could work! It depends how averse they are to mushrooms. My parents really do not like mushrooms, so I don’t think I could add them in at all other than in mined format.😦 Please let me know how everyone likes it if you do try it out.

  2. Thanks for sharing this with MLLA. I made this very same recipe last year from The Meatless Gourmet. I am so liking that tin of 9th Symphony Bean Mix – quite cool.

  3. I think your pictures look just fine! Also, beans and pineapple? Why have I never done this before? SUCH a good idea, especially when it’s cold outside!

  4. Beans and pineapple? Genius! I’ve never thought of this.
    ps. your lackluster photos are still better than most of my great ones ;p

  5. […] | Slow cooked lamb shanks with Seville orange and marmalade – Tales From The Kitchen Shed | Calypso pineapple bean bot – The Taste Space | Venison and red wine in slow cooker – Jibber Jabber UK | Slow cooked pork with red wine, […]

  6. I could eat pulses every day, this looks so tasty! Thanks for your Simple and In Season entry, round up now up at http://maisoncupcake.com/winter-sustenance-simple-season-january-round/🙂

  7. I’m all about the pineapple anytime of year. It adds something really special to savoury dishes!

What do you think?

