janet @ the taste space

Yellow Split Chickpeas with Spinach (Chana Dal Sat-Bhaji)

In Mains (Vegetarian) on February 7, 2015 at 8:37 AM

Yellow Split Chickpeas with Spinach (Chana Dal Sat-Bhaji)

(Continuing with making a curry each week, although not necessarily blogging about them each week, ha!)

If you are looking for recipes with a pressure cooker, other than JL’s new book, I recommend checking out Indian cookbooks. Or more specifically, I knew there were plenty of bean-centric pressure cooker recipes in one of my Indian cookbooks, 1000 Indian Recipes. I ventured forth with a dish that required no pre-soaking and cooked reasonably fast.

Thank you, chana dal, which are split black chickpeas. They are more crunchy than most beans I cook although that may because I didn’t cook them with too much water (2:1 water to bean ratio, weird). This dish could also be made without a pressure cooker, it would just take longer and I would add the greens later.

While dill might seem like an unusual ingredient for curry, I know it works really well (see this fabulous chickpea dill curry). The tomato is familiar to both Indian and European foods although this is purely Indian with the ginger, cumin, garlic and cilantro. The spinach almost melted by the weight of the pressure cooker, so I may try something different next time (like using baby spinach added at the end) or use a heartier green like kale.

Rob gave me a high five for finishing up the last of our chana dal. I say high five for the chana dal for still being awesome after all these years on my bean shelf!! Yeah!🙂

Yellow Split Chickpeas with Spinach (Chana Dal Sat-Bhaji)

I am sharing this with Credit Crunch Munch, Cooking with Herbs and Eat Your Greens.

Yellow Split Chickpeas with Spinach (Chana Dal Sat-Bhaji)
Adapted from 1000 Indian Recipes

1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 large onion, chopped
2 large cloves garlic, minced or pressed
1 tbsp grated ginger
1 cup channa dal, rinsed and drained
1 cup tomato sauce
1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or to taste
1 lb spinach, coarsely chopped (I didn’t bother to destem)
1/2 cup chopped fresh dill
1 large parsnip, peeled and finely chopped
2 large carrots, peeled and finely chopped
2 cups water
2 tbsp lemon or lime juice
cilantro for garnish, optional

1. In a medium skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot, add cumin seeds and toast until fragrant, around 1 minute. Stir in the onion and saute until translucent, around 5 minutes. Add garlic and ginger and saute for another 30-60 seconds, until fragrant. Deglaze with the tomato sauce.

2. Attach pressure cooker and the remaining ingredients (except the lemon juice) or remove contents and add to an electric pressure cooker along with the remaining ingredients (except the lemon juice). Stir to evenly combine and then pressure cook on high for 15 minutes and allow a natural release.

3. Season with salt and pepper, stir in the lemon juice and garnish with cilantro prior to serving, if desired. Serve with a side of rice or naan.

Serves 4.

  1. I’m so going to make this. 

  2. Yes! Dal dal dal dal.🙂 I too have a stash of dry chana dal hanging around waiting to be used, so this may have to happen soon!

  3. i inherited a huge bag of chana dal from my mom and holy moly, has it taken me forever to get through it. i find them challenging to work with since they don’t break down and get starchy. i’m sending you a high five, too! i like how, in this recipe, the firm little beanlets are paired with other hearty textures — carrots, parsnips. i imagine that helps to keep them from feeling out of place like they do in a soupy setting!

    i love seeing dill pop up in unexpected places. i want to explore more persian food, which employs dill frequently alongside many familiar earthy spices.

  4. Interesting! I don’t generally think of dill in curries either – but I’m curious to try something like this! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  5. It sounds so tasty. I haven’t cooked chana dal before but I love the dals I have made.

  6. I made this tonight. Saluted the veggies on the spices and threw all the ingredients in a slow cooker. Was delightful. I did however, increase the chilli cause I like it hot.

  7. P.so are you on Twitter. Follow me please @cathehiggins I’m always uploading food stuff.

  8. I do not make curry enough! I actually have fresh dill in my fridge right now – I would have never thought of putting it in curry, but can totally picture it.
    I love ordering dahl at restaurants, but haven’t made it at home yet, I shall add some to my pantry!

  9. This looks awesome- great way to get the greens in. We use chana dal a lot; cooked with not much water and put into a tomato-y vegetable-y sauce it’s a good shepherd’s pie filling. If you have a high speed blender, it’s also awesome in pancakes.

  10. Oh this sounds amazing! Perfectly hearty and comforting. Thank you for sharing with Credit Crunch Munch!

  11. I like channa dal loads, but don’t get round to making it much. Liking the addition of the spinach. As always thank you for sharing with EatYourGreens, the round up should be up later tonight. I hope you will join again for March.

What do you think?

