janet @ the taste space

Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on February 12, 2015 at 8:21 AM

Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette

Life would be boring is I only ate the same thing everyday.

Except if it for a few days thanks to leftovers. That’s how I roll.

I used to eat a grapefruit every.single.morning. Now, I can’t even remember the last time I ate a grapefruit. Perhaps in Houston. Suffice it to say, it has been a while.

Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette

I probably should have spent more time devouring citrus while in Texas because ripe and sweet grapefruits are delicious. Sometimes you are lucky to find them in Canada, too. In this case, I went with something more unique and added it to a kale salad. I also experimented with raw fennel, which was a touch bitter for me (especially paired with the grapefruit), so add that to taste.  A bit of coconut was reminiscent of the Caribbean. The flageolet beans, perfect for adding to salads, was a way for me to make this a complete meals instead of a side salad.

Do you eat grapefruit?

Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes and Souper Sundays.

Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette
Adapted from Everyone Is Vegan

1/2 lb kale, stemmed and coarsely chopped
1/2 lb fennel, very thinly sliced (start with less in case you don’t like it)
1.5 tbsp lemon juice (half a lemon)
1.5 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp maple syrup, or sweetener of choice
1 cup cooked flageolet beans
1 grapefruit, supremed
1/8 cup toasted coconut flakes
1/4 cup almonds, chopped

1. In a large bowl, combine the kale and fennel. Add lemon juice and sprinkle with a touch of salt. Massage for 5 minutes until the kale wilted.

2. Stir in the olive oil and maple syrup and any extra grapefruit juice and stir until evenly combined.

3. Add beans and grapefruit. Sprinkle with coconut and almonds. Enjoy.

Serves 1-2.

  1. I love grapefruit, but haven’t had a ton lately either. I’m sure I’ll have plenty of citrus in California… you should come visit!🙂

  2. I have occasionally had grapefruit in juice mixes and liked it but I was put off grapefruit by seeing my mum eat them from breakfast as diet fruit every morning in my childhood. Sometimes I think I should give them a chance – they look so pretty in your salad

  3. I’m not a big grapefruit gal, but massaged & marinated kale makes anything taste delicious, so maybe I’ll give this a go!

  4. I must admit, I am not super into grapefruit, or even oranges most of the time. But I bet I would be if I lived down south because their quality sounds wayyy better than ours!

  5. This is such a pretty salad and I love the sound of that grapefruit vinaigrette.😉 Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sudays this week.

  6. Now why have I never thought of adding grapefruit to a salad? What a great idea. Thanks for entering it into Bookmarked Recipes, the roundup is now live

  7. […]                                                                  Kale Fennel Salad with Grapefruit Vinaigrette from the taste […]

What do you think?

