janet @ the taste space

Curried Tomato Spaghetti Squash & Chickpeas

In Mains (Vegetarian) on February 26, 2015 at 7:15 AM

Curried Tomato Spaghetti Squash & Chickpeas

Oddly enough, these last few months have been the hardest for me to blog. My new normal is scrambling the night before to cobble together a post. The recipes and photos are ready to go but I just don’t know what to say.

It isn’t that I am getting bored with my eats (I am most certainly not) but they are certainly fitting a similar theme each week. What can I say? I know what I like and I like to eat it.

Curried Tomato Spaghetti Squash & Chickpeas

Here, I took Gabby’s recipe which took an Indian-spiced tomato sauce with some (leftover, in my case) roasted spaghetti squash and cooked chickpeas. It did not disappoint in the slightest. Something a bit different than my bean-centric curries, loaded with strands of spaghetti squash. Totally a winner.

What are your oft-repeated meals?

Curried Tomato Spaghetti Squash & Chickpeas

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes.

Curried Tomato Spaghetti Squash & Chickpeas
Adapted from Veggie Nook

3 lb spaghetti squash
1 tbsp coconut oil, or oil of choice
1 large onion, diced
2 clove garlic, minced or pressed
3 tbsp curry powder
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp Aleppo chile flakes
1/2 tsp fresh ginger
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
30 oz strained/crushed tomatoes
2 cups cooked chickpeas, rinsed and drained if canned

1. Begin by cooking your spaghetti squash. Preheat oven to 400F. Place rack in centre of oven. (If you are fancy, try smearing the halved squash with garlic, oil and salt and pepper first). Pierce the spaghetti squash multiple times with a fork or knife. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes. Rotate squash and bake another 30 minutes or until the shell feels soft. Remove from oven and set aside until cool enough to handle. Once the squash has cooled, cut it in half and remove and discard the seeds and scrape the strands of squash out with a fork.

2. Once the squash has turned into strands, begin your meal. In a large skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Once hot, add onion and saute until softened and translucent. Stir in the garlic and saute until fragrant, around 1 minute more. Stir in curry powder, cumin, cinnamon, chile flakes, ginger and smoked paprika and cook one minute more.

3. Deglaze with the tomatoes, raise heat and bring the mixture to a boil/simmer. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes to allow the flavours to infuse the sauce. Remove the lid and allow to cook until the sauce has thickened to your liking. Stir in the chickpeas and cooked spaghetti squash and cook until heated through, 3-4 minutes more. Serve with chopped cilantro, cashews, etc, or with a side of rice or naan bread.

Serves 4.

  1. I hear you on the blogging! I’m in survival mode and the meal repeats are soooo boring. I have saved a lot of recipes to try when we get to CA. The mole tempeh is happening!

  2. ooh, i like this idea a lot. i want to try it next time i get my hands on a spaghetti squash.

    i hear you about the meal repetition. every week over brings at least two soups, almost always containing beans. i think it’s just a symptom of the season — we eat what’s comfortable, and what’s comfortable now, at least for me, is hot and stewy. thematically unvarying or not, i love to see what people are eating and how they’re navigating through the seasons with food.

    cheers!

  3. me too! i have been making so many soups, repeatedly–chickpea dill, minestrone, harissa split pea… they’re one-dish meals i know i can make without much thought or effort.

  4. Oh wooooow you totally made my recipe! Yay🙂 I’m glad you liked it!

  5. I think blogging goes through different phases – best just to go with it and know it will change some time! And you don’t need to say much when you keep coming up with interesting recipes like this – I have bought spaghetti squash a few times and always scrabble about for a recipe so this is in my bookmarks for the next one

  6. I’ve never tried spaghetti squash before, You don’t really see it here in Scotland. I am intrigued to try it though.

  7. What a fun, new way to try spaghetti squash! Sounds super delicious. And chickpeas just go with everything =) I think my most made foods are rice bowls. I love that it can have a grain, protein and multiple veggies and I can change the flavour every single time.

  8. […] less interest in writing on my blog, I wonder whether it has become boring. Have I reached a point where things are so similar they are […]

What do you think?

