janet @ the taste space

Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad + wedding photos

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on April 9, 2015 at 7:10 AM

Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad

Long time no write!

My longest blog hiatus is definitely worthy of a wedding and honeymoon. I know a few were interested in photos and here are a few teasers from our fabulous photographer, Gabe McClintock.

In case the embedded photos don’t work, the original posts are here and here.

Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad

After a partial whirlwind through Honduras and Guatemala following our wedding, we returned to Toronto earlier this week. I was hoping to bring a bit of spring and summer back with me, but Toronto is still fairly cold with (freezing) rain this week. Channeling my continuance of all things avocado (albeit of the Mexican variety), I could not resist them at the grocer. I still managed to stock up with lots of vegetables and then threw together this quick and easy salad.

Consider it a chunky avocado dressing, or an avocado scramble salad, the flavours are bright and flexible. The different veggies conferred different textures while enveloped by the creamy lime avocado mash with a hint of cheeziness from the nooch. The black beans help to make this a filling complete meal salad. It was excellent and I recommend eating it at once as the leftovers were not as vibrant. Alternatively, sprinkle with a touch more lime juice when reserving. While not necessary, I added the salad on top of leafy greens. I have a bad habit of buying leafy greens and then not eating them. Here’s to eating more greens. And warmer weather.

What are you wishing for lately?

Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad

I am sharing this with Eat Your Greens, No Croutons Required, My Legume Love AffairThe Spice Trail and ExtraVeg.

Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad
Adapted from Choosing Raw (original recipe here)

1 large avocado (~5-6 oz), peeled and, pitted, and coarsely diced
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
1/2-1 tsp southwestern seasoning (I used the one from Penzey’s but feel free to make one yourself)
1/8 tsp sea salt (or to taste)
1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 small red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 small carrot, grated (~1/3 cup)
3/4 cup cooked black beans
leafy greens, to serve (optional)

1. In a medium bowl, combine avocado, lime juice, southwestern seasoning, salt and nutritional yeast. Mash with a fork to evenly combine. Taste and adjust seasonings.

2. Stir in the red bell pepper, carrot, and black beans. Place overtop leafy greens, if desired.

3. Best if eaten fresh but consider reviving it with a fresh squeeze of lime juice if eating as leftovers.

Serves 1-2.

  1. Yay Janet! Avocados! Wedding! Hugs!

  2. Yay! Happy wedding! And happy salad/scramble, of course.🙂

  3. Congratulations!!! I can’t wait to see more pictures. Those are stunning!

  4. congratulaions!! Those pictures are jaw droppingly gorgeous. Hope the day and honeymoon were as special as it looks.

  5. Congratulations! Beautiful photos!!! And lovely salad🙂

  6. Congrats to both of you! Photos are breathtaking. And an avocado scramble sounds like a nice change from tofu scrambles.

  7. Congratulations – such beautiful photos – and nice to hear you don’t always eat all the greens you buy – it can be a struggle for me some days. I made your carribeans beer infused black beans again tonight and loved them all over again and so it is nice to see you post tonight and think about what great food you post.

  8. Ohhhh wow!!! Congratulation Janet for your wedding. Your pictures…gorgeous !!!!! And your avocado scramble…yummmm !!!

  9. Your wedding looked so beautiful! Congratulations again🙂

    I really like this idea of an avocado scramble, not that I need to eat more avocado- I practically eat one every day! But hey, some variety in preparation will be good😉

  10. Huh. I think this may just be my lunch tomorrow. Yum! I would love for you to share this at Healthy Vegan Fridays later this week =)

    Welcome back and congratulations! You look gorgeous! I know I’ve only seen two pictures, but they look completely spectacular!

  11. I love avocados but haven’t used them in anything more liquid-y than guacamole. Salad dressing with avocado seems like an inspired idea. I would quite happily put a layer of leafy greens under every single meal that I eat!!

  12. […] Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad from The Taste Space […]

  13. I absolutely love the look of this salad – it sounds so fresh and zingy! And thanks for sharing with this month’s #TheSpiceTrail challenge – it’s perfect🙂

  14. Lovely wedding photos. Congratulations! And thank you for contributing to MLLA.

  15. Congratulations on your wedding Janet – the photos you share with us are teasers, yet still stunning. Thank you as always for being part of the foodie challenges, your contributions always interest me as they are always different.

  16. Forget the salad (which looks great by the way!). I want more wedding photos! Anyway thanks for submitting it to No Croutons Required. The roundup is now live.

  17. Your wedding photos are something else! Just magical. Share more if you’re so inclined. And congrats!🙂

  18. Wonderful photos!

    thank you so much for linking up to #ExtraVeg

  19. Your wedding sounds amazing and the dish looks good too! #ExtraVeg

  20. […] brilliantly vibrant Southwestern Avocado Scramble Salad (3) from The Taste Space features classic spicing for a real taste of the US Southwest, along […]

  21. […] after 6 years. Lots of changes this year, both high and low, but the best of the best include marrying my best friend and moving into our new home. Here’s to a 2016 filled with lots of love, […]

What do you think?

