janet @ the taste space

Vegan Bigos (Polish Sauerkraut Stew) + Great Vegan Protein Book GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian) on April 24, 2015 at 11:29 AM

Vegan Bigos (Sauerkraut Stew) + Great Vegan Protein Book GIVEAWAY

Lest you think I have bounced back from my surgery in record time and couldn’t wait to go back into the kitchen, I am working on some sharing some special meals prior to our trip. Truthfully, my appetite has taken a while to bounce back and we suspect my standard vegan diet contained too much fibre for my (at-the-moment) delicate gut.

As we move towards spring produce, this quick and easy stir fry with mushrooms, cabbage, sauerkraut and soy curls is delightful with a hit of fresh dill. The recipe is from The Great Vegan Protein Book and was originally called “Cabbage-n-Kraut with Seitan” but I alternated the main protein source, swapping seitan for soy curls. After a taste test form Rob, he told me I had just made a vegan version of the national Polish dish, Bigos, traditionally known as a Hunter’s Stew with different kinds of meat simmered with cabbage, sauerkraut and mushrooms with a touch of tomato. Score!

Vegan Bigos (Sauerkraut Stew) + Great Vegan Protein Book GIVEAWAY

For those concerned with protein sources as a vegan, The Great Vegan Protein Book helps by tackling that question directly. Main vegan protein sources, legumes/beans, whole grains, nuts/seeds, tofu/tempeh and seitan are highlighted in the recipes. Ingredients less often thought as protein-dense, such as nutritional yeast and vegetables such as mushrooms, broccoli and Brussels sprouts, are also highlighted making recipes that are quite diverse. There are also snacks and desserts, including a No-Bake Choco Cashew Cheesecake with 9 g protein per serving.

Vegan Bigos (Sauerkraut Stew) + Great Vegan Protein Book GIVEAWAY

All recipes include the protein content of each dish, although no other nutritional information like total calories which is a shame. Certainly the dishes featuring tofu, tempeh and seitan contain the most protein. Examples include Tempeh Banh Mi (41 g protein/serving), Higher Protein Sausage (86 g protein/sausage), Sesame Seitan Super Salad (55 g protein/serving), Pecan-Crusted Seitan Cutlets with Brussels Sprouts (51 g protein/serving), Braciola (68 g protein/serving) and Homestyle Potpie (47 g protein/serving). There is also a Beans and Greens Bowl with 23 g protein/serving and the BBQ Lentils with 12 g protein/serving.

Personally, I like to plan my meals around some sort of vegan protein. Once you figure that out, the rest of a balanced meal naturally takes place. Beans will contain protein and carbohydrates, tofu and nuts contains protein and fat, etc. Rounded out with some vegetables, this is how I try to craft my eats. This book is welcome to my cookbook collection with its varied and balanced meals.

Vegan Bigos (Sauerkraut Stew) + Great Vegan Protein Book GIVEAWAY

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the United States or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite vegan protein and how you like to cook it. The winner will be selected at random on May 1, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes from The Great Vegan Protein Book shared elsewhere:

Apple Breakfast Farro Burrito (with a giveaway, too)

BBQ Lentils

Seed and Nut Ice Cream

Unicorn Tacos (with a giveaway, too)

Wild Rice Pilaf

High protein seitan recipes shared here previously:

Vegan Chorizo Sausage

Seitan Sausage Buns

PS. I am sharing this with Cooking with Herbs, Bookmarked Recipes and Vegetable Palette.

Vegan Bigos aka Cabbage-n-Kraut with Seitan 
Adapted from The Great Vegan Protein Book

Author’s note: Adding mushrooms to this dish not only increases the protein, but also adds to the taste and texture. For a more traditional Hungarian dish, add a dollop of vegan sour cream with the garnish, if desired.

1 to 2 tablespoons (15 to 30 ml) olive oil
12 ounces (340 g) Kind-to-Cows Seitan (page 138), sliced into strips (I used 2 cups dry soy curls)
1 medium onion, sliced
2 cups (180 g) chopped green cabbage (I used 230 g)
8 ounces (227 g) cremini mushrooms, quartered (I used 1 lb)
1 teaspoon caraway seeds
1 teaspoon Hungarian paprika (I used smoked paprika)
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 cups (284 g) drained sauerkraut
1/4 cup (60 ml) dry white wine, or vegetable broth (I used vegetable broth)
1 tablespoon (16 g) tomato paste
1 tablespoon (8 g) nutritional yeast
8 ounces (227 g) farfalle or other flat pasta, cooked per directions (Reserve 1 cup [235 ml] cooking water.) — omitted
Juice from 1/2 of a lemon
Salt and pepper
1/4 cup (16 g) minced fresh dill, or 1 cup (30 g) fresh spinach, minced, for garnish

Janet’s note: Since I used soy curls, the first thing I did was soak the soy curls in warm vegetable broth until reconstituted and then I simply substituted in the recipe directly for the seitan.

1. Heat 1 tablespoon (15 ml) of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook the seitan for 6 to 8 minutes, stirring occasionally, until browned. Remove and set aside. Reduce the heat to medium. Add the onions to the same skillet with the additional tablespoon (15 ml) of oil, if needed. Cook for 4 to 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until softened. Add the cabbage and mushrooms, and cook for 3 to 5 minutes until the cabbage is bright green. Stir in the caraway seeds, paprika, and red pepper flakes and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in the sauerkraut.

2. Mix the wine or broth, tomato paste, and nutritional yeast in a small bowl. Add to the skillet, along with the seitan, and cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, to meld the flavors. Stir in the pasta, and splashes of reserved cooking water, as needed, to create a saucy dish. Stir in the lemon juice, and season to taste with salt and pepper. Garnish with the dill or spinach when serving.

Serves 4.
Protein content per serving: 38 g

  1. Would love to get a copy of this book. Simply cooked black beans have got to be my favourite protein. Rich and creamy.

  2. My favorite vegan protein is a toss up between seitan and soy curls. I would love to improve my preparation skills with both items. Currently, both of my favorite preparation methods are from Vegan Diner, the seitan ribz and the smoky soy curls.

  3. My favourite is Quinoa! I love to blend with black beans and make a nice summer salad with tomatoes, red onions and lots of coriander! Delicious!

  4. my favourite vegan protein is probably tofu – it is so versatile! I can get pretty good tofu at a store near me and it’s so nice and firm, I don’t have to press it or anything. It’s so easy!

  5. I’ve never heard of cabbage-n-kraut with seitan before. I’m intrigued…

  6. Great book find. As a prairie-raised gal, if you didn’t have meat at each meal, you weren’t eating🙂 BUT I am so happy to be freed of that mindset, and happy to explore and pursue recipes of the plant-based sort. This would undoubtedly be a good read and bring some dancing tastebuds to the table.

  7. My favourite vegan protein would have to be a toss-up between tofu marinated in soy & sesame oil, or tempeh, as it depends on what I’m preparing. Sounds like it would be a very useful cookbook to have.

  8. My fave vegan protein is tofu

  9. I love marinated and pan fried tempeh (and tofu) but what’s probably used most in my house is garbanzo beans. I pressure cook 2 lbs at a time and then freeze them in empty peanut butter jars–they’re the perfect size! The bigos look amazing, btw.

  10. This book looks great! I love home cooked black beans and chickpeas (carbs and protein in one). So much better than what comes out of a can. Broccoli is up there too – roasted or raw, I can eat it like candy – and mushrooms. Yum!

  11. This looks amazing! My favourite would be chickpeas or tempeh! I loooove baking tempeh until it gets a bit crispy, so yum.

  12. I like marinating and baking dry-packed super-firm tofu! Then I eat it hot in sandwiches or cold as a salad topper. I hope you feel better soon so you can get back to your standard vegan diet!

  13. Ohhh yeahhhh…what a nice giveaway !!! I’m definitely interested in having it. Mmmmmmm…the tempeh bahn mi sounds delicious. Hummm…and your recipe…wow !!! It’s really my kind of meal so I’ll do it for sure🙂 Thanks for sharing Janet.

    Now, as far as my favorite protein, I love them all but I really enjoy tempeh. It is so versatile and I like to add it to any kind of salad full of fresh veggies. I marinate my tempeh in different kind of sauce and heatly mix and than cook it. Miummm !!! The lentil are probably my favorite kind of legumes-beans, especially the French lentil. I love them in salad and soups…miummm !!!

    Good luck to me and everybody🙂

  14. What an awesome giveaway! My favorite protein is beans; I use them in many ways. Glad you are recovering well…

  15. Definitely tofu. Lately I’ve been loving it in a sweet and spicy peppered stir fry, I’ll share the recipe with you soon! Hope all is well with you Janet, can’t wait to catch up!

  16. My favorite protein is northern beans. They’re so creamy and since their taste is mild I can add them an veggie dish. I always make them in large batches in a slowcooker and then freeze small portions. I would love a copy of the giveaway book. Looks amazing.

  17. My favourite protein is tofu! So versatile – you can marinade it in anything🙂

  18. I love to use beans, nuts and seeds for added protein. I say added protein because most vegetables have some amino acids so they contribute to total protein.

  19. I have a few cookbooks by Celine Steen, and love them. I have to add this one to my collection!
    My favourite vegan protein is beans and lentils. There are so many different varieties that I can always easily find one that’s perfect for the meal I want to make, they are really versatile, and they’re delicious. What’s not to love?
    I hope you’re recovering well, and will soon be feeling much better. Take care!

  20. My favorite vegan protein in tofu, but I’m lazy and often don’t end up cooking it…I toss it cubed and raw into my salads!

  21. My favourite vegan protein is black eyed peas, followed VERY closely by the mighty lentil, in all its forms. Then of course there’s kala chana, toor dal, mung beans, adzuki beans … okay. I embrace all legumes!

  22. My favorite vegan protein is tofu. It’s just so versatile. My favorite preparation for it and one of the easiest is to make tofu scramble.

  23. I like soy beans as tofu, soy curls, textured protein and soymilk.

  24. This book looks great! Any excuse to eat sauerkraut is a win by me.

    My favorite protein is tofu. I make some scrambled tofu several days a week for breakfast. It’s a quick and filling start to the day.

  25. Black beans are my favourite protein. I love blending them with salsa and cilantro to make a yummy dip!

  26. Sounds great! And super gut-friendly =)

  27. My favorite is tofu, and since I discovered the marinade in Isa Does It, I tend to use that and then bake. Yum!

  28. It’s a toss up between tempeh and soy curls…. I probably use tempeh most, but just recently found soy curls locally and gave them a try. My hubby and I both love them.

  29. I eat beans pretty much every day. Cheap, easy and full of protein!

  30. I think tofu bacon is one of our favourite protein sources! Sounds like an interesting book. This stew looks interesting and I have bookmarked it as I always wonder what to do with sauerkraut

  31. Tofu, thanks for book chance!

  32. It’s hard to pick a favorite but seitan and tofu are at the top of my list

  33. I love quinoa in a cold salad

  34. My favourite vegan protein is tofu, pan seared. I should probably mix it up a bit—this book sounds like it would do the trick.

  35. I love tofu plain from the box, scrambled with mushrooms for breakfast with toast, sliced and marinated in a sandwich, baked into chewy cubes, pan “fried” and tossed with a saucy stir fry, blended into a sauce…I would et it here or there, I would eat it anywhere!

    I also love garbanzo beans!! In any possible recipe. They are the best bean.

  36. Oh, I am so making this stew! *Love* cabbage and kraut! As for my fave vegan protein, I’m a tofu gal. Every which way!! (Though, when I do baked tofu, I am lucky if I have enough left for the dish I am making it for because I can’t stop myself from sneaking a bite here, a bite there… :])

  37. I have to pick only one???! Well, I’m going to go with baked tofu, because the marinades and shapes into which it can be cut seem endless, and the texture of baked tofu is SO addictive. This recipe looks awesome! I’m going to have to try it.

  38. I guess tofu since it’s so versatile. =)

    • I forgot to say how I like to prepare it. But baked, fried, in stir fries, made into pudding. The list goes on and on.

  39. […] 27. Vegan Bigos (Polish Sauerkraut Stew)  – the taste space […]

  40. Beans, beans, the musical fruit…..

  41. Fav vegan protein would have to be tofu. There’s so many ways I like to prepare it but my favorite is pressed, pan seared and topped with a homemade spicy Asian sauce.

  42. I am a huge fan of tempeh, though, I don’t cook it as much as I’d like.

  43. Yum! And my best to you!

What do you think?

