janet @ the taste space

Green Apple Kale Juice + Superfoods Juices Cookbook Giveaway

In Book Review, Drinks on May 12, 2015 at 6:56 AM

Green Apple Kale Juice + Superfoods Juices Cookbook Giveaway

I may have returned back to work full-time but slowly rekindling my interest in eating and blogging. Post-op, I found I had very little appetite but once I had enough energy, I was pretty excited about what I wanted to experiment with: juicing. With a tender digestive system (I always found this an all-too-common description amongst HLBs, albeit completely relevant in my case after a surgery), I knew I needed lots of nutrition without fibre overload. Green juice to the rescue.

I inherited my grandmother’s old juicer and must admit that I have only made homemade juice a handful of times. These past few weeks the old juicer was a real trooper. I also learned it was incredibly hard for me to juice kale and greens, although perhaps the hardest part was juicing the stem because once I stopped that, it went much smoother. I also found it easier to juice a lot at once so that I only had to clean the juicer once. With a quick shake, the juice lasts a few days in the fridge.

I played around with a few juices from Superfood Juices and my favourite was this green juice with kale, cucumber, celery and green apple. Yes, I even included the celery since it was not too much and it added a savoury hit to the juice. Beautifully balanced, light and not too sweet. It was lovely.

The juices in Superfood Juices are unique, yet approachable. Fruits and vegetables themselves are superfoods and this book aimed to include extra “superfoods” as well, such as coconut water, maca, cacao powder, acai berry powder, and also (more unusual) sea buckthorn berry juice, mangosteen juice, aronia berry juice and noni juice. This specific green juice also called for spirulina which I omitted without problems. There are suggestions for substitutions (like swapping unsweetened cranberry juice for aronia berry juice) but they are usually highlights to a recipe and could easily be omitted.

The recipes are enticing: honeydew mint chia fresca, mandarin ginger kombucha spritzer, kale martini, warm spiced fresh cider, carrot maca juice, but also seemingly impossible combinations like carrot ginger ice cream or chocolate-mint noni soft serve. A few more down-to-earth options are present too: strawberry rhubarb juice, cantaloupe ginger juice and celery greens juice.

Green Apple Kale Juice + Superfoods Juices Cookbook Giveaway

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the continental United States. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite juice flavour combination. The winner will be selected at random on May 20, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes from Superfood Juices spotted elsewhere:

Berries and Cream Juice

Carrot Maca Juice

Spectrum Juice (Carrot, Beet, Apple, Kale, Lime)

Spinach Pear Juice

Sweet Potato Protein Juice

Watermelon Goji Berry Juice

I am sharing this with Bookmarked Recipes and Simple and In Season.

Green Apple Kale Juice
Reprinted, with permission from Superfood Juices

2 large green apples, cored
1 cucumber
2 celery stalks
4 large kale leaves
1/4 tsp spirulina powder (optional, I skipped this)

1. Juice the apples, cucumber, celery and kale. Transfer the fresh juice to shaker cup or blender, add the spirulina powder and mix until incorporated.

Makes 18-24 oz. (mine was 24 oz)

  1. Thanks for doing the giveaway! I have an Omega 8004 juicer, which I use for much more than ‘just’ juicing…but my kids and I love to do juicing, too, especially during warmer weather. My boys’ favorite is bok choy, carrots, apple, and what they call the X factor–watermelon, grapes, cantaloupe or some other liquid-rich fruit. Since bok choy is such a great source of calcium, I am happy to see them drink up.

  2. Lately my favorite has been orange, carrot, and lots of ginger. Sweet with a kick!

  3. I like apple, carrot, celery, beet with ginger and some greens thrown in. These recipes sound so intriguing!

  4. I love Julie’s books! I don’t have this one but have her Superfood Smoothies, Superfood Kitchen and will soon have her Superfood Snacks. I tend to buy juice much more than I make it which is silly since cold-pressed juices are crazily expensive and I have a perfectly good juicer…
    This simple juice sounds right up my street.

  5. actually this green apple kale juice is everything I adore in a juice! Yum!

  6. I love apples, carrots and ginger. Reminds me of my mother, she juiced for me as a little girl.

  7. I have been so out of the loop with your blog Janet – I’m so sorry to hear you’ve had to deal with an unexpected surgery and hope you are slowly getting back to feeling yourself. AND belated congratulations on your marriage! Those photo teasers look absolutely amazing, I hope you’ll share more in the future🙂 This green juice sounds lovely. I tend to save my greens for smoothies and my favourite juice combo is carrot, apple & ginger, sometimes with beets too!

  8. I like juicing spinach and kale with apples, cucumbers, and a splash of lemon. Sometimes I throw a beet, carrots and ginger to the mix. I was actually working on a post for tomorrow about green smoothies and green juice. I recently completed a green smoothie cleanse and hope to do it again!

  9. Mmm a gorgeous green juice! I must try this! Thank you for sharing with Simple and in Season🙂

  10. I really like the sound of this juice. Funny to think that kale was never available when I used to go to juice bars from time to time years ago and now I would be surprised if they didn’t. I really like the sound of the strawberry rhubarb juice too. Lots of interesting juices here.

  11. I love cucumber, apple, kale and ginger! I like the sound of the honeydew mint chia fresca.

  12. Love the sound of this juice! Looks like a great book. My fave juice combo is apple, spinach, cucumber, lemon, ginger.

  13. […] PS. There is still time to enter the giveaway for Superfood Juices here. […]

  14. I love lemon, ginger, & apple. I have Julie’s smoothie book & enjoy it.

  15. Oh man, that recipe looks great! I’m a sucker for anything with beets and ginger.

  16. I like strawberry with ginger and lime.

  17. Glad you’re recovering nicely! The juice sounds wonderfully refreshing Janet =) I love adding spirulina to things!

What do you think?

