janet @ the taste space

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Cookbook Giveaway

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on May 19, 2015 at 6:21 AM

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Cookbook Giveaway

What a weekend, guys! Rob always complains the May long weekend is fraught with rain but this year, the rain was pushed away by all the sun. (We even managed to dry some clothes outside!)

It was a glorious long weekend and it was nice that my body was as eager to move around too. Rob and I spent a lot of time visiting family and friends, and the majority were stopping by our friends unannounced simply because we were in the neighbourhood. The stars were aligned because someone was always home for our impromptu visits. Score!

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Cookbook Giveaway

I finally have my cooking mojo back although my blogging mojo is still lagging behind. With the nice weather, I am drawn more to walking in my ‘hood instead of sitting in front of my computer. One thing that has helped to get me cooking again is the multitude of fabulous vegan cookbooks hitting the shelves. One of them is Annie Oliverio’s new cookbook, Crave, Eat, HealYou have probably met Annie through her blog at An Unrefined Vegan where we she shares plant-based recipes without refined ingredients. Her cookbook has the same philosophy and aims to show that there should be no deprivation. All of your cravings are answered.

CRAVE EAT HEAL_Final CoverOnly

Annie’s cookbook is broken down into 13 chapters, each focusing on a different craving: carbs, chocolate, comfort, cool, creamy, crunchy, green, junk, salty, spicy, sweet, tart and warm. I am used to the traditional setup of cookbooks organized by course or season, but this was unique. Oftentimes, I do have cravings for something with chocolate, or something crunchy, and this would be a different way to find something satisfying to eat. With this warm weather, of course, I ventured into the “cool” cravings. There were coolers, smoothies and popsicles. Even a sweet potato pie and apple pie spice ice cream that looked phenomenal (and totally happening next weekend). But I decided I needed something a little more substantial and dove into the butter wedge salad.

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Cookbook Giveaway

After my surgery, I was on a liquid diet for nearly a week and when I finally improved, all I wanted was to bite into something. Here I was biting and actually cutting into my meal. It has been a long time since I actually used a knife and a fork for a meal, and of all things, it was to cut my wedge of lettuce.

Perhaps Annie missed out on potential “cut into your meal” cravings, because I could understand missing this not-so-fun meal normalcy. In any case, the knife and fork allowed me to experience every part of the salad with each bite: crisp lettuce, subtly sweet/soft pear, salty/meaty tempeh bacon, creamy avocado and a creamy/cool sunflower peppercorn dressing. I used a peppercorn dressing base which made for a very intense dressing but it was well balanced with the remainder of the salad.

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Cookbook Giveaway

The recipes in Crave, Eat, Heal span sweet and savoury and most are accompanied by Annie’s photographs. Her recipes are nearly all oil-free (not necessarily low-fat), mostly gluten-free, and without processed foods like white sugar. Her photo of the salad can be seen below.

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing + Eat Crave Heal Cookbook Giveaway

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the Crave, Eat, Heal cookbook to a reader living in the United States. My international readers are eligible to win a copy of the ebook Crave. Eat. Heal. Outtakes. To be entered in the random draw for the book or ebook, please leave a comment below telling me what you crave most often (and please let me know if you are not from the US). The winners will be selected at random on May 30, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes from Crave, Eat, Heal spotted elsewhere:

Baked Almond Butter and Apricot Oatmeal

Buckwheat Noodles with Spicy Almond Sauce

Butternut Squash Queso

Carrot Cake Pudding

Carrot Ginger Turmeric Steamer

Cauliflower and Potato Wraps with Tahini Dressing

Cherry Pomegranate Refrigerator Jam

Date-Nut Truffles

Double Chocolate Berry Good Cookies

Lemon-Coconut Spirulina Balls

Lentil and Bok Choy Sweet Potato Nachos

No-Bake Breakfast Cookies

Raw/Not Raw Vegetable Barley Bowl

Roasted Garlic and Fresh Herb Cream Cheese (aka Vegan Boursin)

Zucchini, Apricot and Almond Salad

PS. There is still time to enter the giveaway for Superfood Juices here.

PPS. I am sharing this with Meat Free MondaysSouper Sundays, No Croutons Required, Vegetable Palette and My Legume Love Affair.

Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing 
Adapted, slightly, from Crave, Eat, Heal

Annie’s note: This take on a classic salad reminds me of many family dinners eaten out at The Brown Derby: a big, crunchy wedge of lettuce topped with a creamy dressing and sprinkled with salty bacon. My version subs tempeh for bacon and adds a little sweetness with fresh pears.

Dressing

1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds (roasted sunflower seeds were fine!)
1/2 cup non-dairy milk
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 clove garlic
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
Pinch sea salt
1 tsp. dried chives, or 1 Tbsp. fresh chives, chopped
1 Tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
(I substituted the pepper, salt, chives and parsley for 1 tbsp Penzey’s Creamy Peppercorn Dressing Base)

Salad

2 large heads butter lettuce, cut into quarters (I used 1 mega huge head)
2 ripe pears, cored and thinly sliced
1 large avocado, sliced (Janet’s addition)
Tempeh bacon, crumbled or chopped (exclude if going for 100% raw) (see recipe below)

1. Add the sunflower seeds through the salt in a high-speed or regular blender and process until very smooth. Add the chives and parsley and pulse a few times to incorporate. Set aside.

2. Place two butter lettuce wedges each in four bowls. Divide the pear slices, the tempeh bacon and the dressing between the bowls. Serve.

Serves 4.
Total Time: 15 minutes

Suggestions: If the dressing is too thick, add water, a little bit at at time, to get the consistency you like.

Tempeh Bacon
Reprinted, with permission, from Eat, Crave, Heal

Annie’s note: I’ve made this so many times I can practically do it in my sleep – but I never get tired of the salty-smoky flavor. It’s lovely on salads, alongside tofu scramble, or tucked in between thick slices of tomato, avocado, and arugula.

1 8-ounce (227g) package tempeh, cut into 16 pieces
1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
1 Tbsp pure maple syrup
1/4 cup tamari, soy sauce, or liquid aminos
3/4 tsp ground black pepper (Janet’s note: I omitted)
1/2 Tbsp liquid smoke
1/2 tsp dried onion flakes (I used dried onion granules)
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp garlic powder (I used garlic granules)

1. Preheat the oven to 425F.

2. In a 9 x 9-inch glass baking pan, whisk together everything but the tempeh slices. Add the tempeh slices and turn to coat evenly with the marinade. Let the tempeh rest for about 15 minutes.

3. Bake the tempeh for 30-45 minutes, turning once. If the marinade evaporates, add a splash of vegetable broth and cook for another 5-10 minutes. Tempeh should be a deep brown and beginning to crisp at the edges. Serve immediately or store in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

Makes 16 slices.

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 45 minutes

Suggestions: If you like your “bacon” thinner, cut the tempeh into 32 slices. Keep in mind that it will cook faster, so watch closely when baking – and you’ll need a bigger baking pan.

Recipe reprinted with permission from Ann Oliverio and Front Table Books.

  1. I crave carbs and cranky things. Love your blog. Hope you’re feeling much much better.

  2. Looks wonderful! Always craving salty, crunchy things. Best wishes to you Janet.

  3. Janet, your salad is totally knife-and-fork worthy!! How pretty and mouthwatering it looks! Thanks so much for being a part of the book tour and for the lovely review. xoxo

  4. No rain this Victoria Day this year! Yay!

  5. What a fabulous cookbook! Thanks for doing the giveaway. I think I’ll buy my first tempeh this week, so I can make ‘bacon’ for my boys.

    My kids tend to crave crunchy and/or sweet; I, on the other hand, am always ready for Mexican food flavors. Oh, and cinnamon, anything that smells of cinnamon.

  6. I crave fruit. Bananas and peanut butter are a decadent treat.

  7. This is such an interesting idea for a cookbook! I crave sweet and crunchy foods like fruit and really yummy fresh, tiny tomatoes!

    I’m in Canada for the giveaway. Thanks!

  8. That’s a tough question! It’s probably chips (fries), or creamy fruity/chocolatey desserts usually, but lately it’s been baked tofu.

  9. I crave anything salty…mostly popcorn and potato chips! And I’m from Canada🙂

  10. I crave French fries. Good crispy well cooked French fries.

  11. Cravings? I love to eat everything!

  12. I’ve tried a few of Annie’s recipes and I love them! I usually crave either peanut butter or chocolate. It’s always a battle for balance of salty and sweet.

  13. I tend to crave salty/crunchy things. Thanks for the giveaway! (U.S. resident here)

  14. I crave chocolate most often, followed by salt. I really like the unique concept of this book.

  15. I crave bread and crunchy things (like chips)

  16. I crave salt and carbs…and lately soy curls!!

  17. Chinese take-out….🙂

  18. How exciting that there is something for international readers (I am in Australia) – the book looks so good. I think I crave chocolate most though I also crave fresh vegies, esp if I have been on holidays or eating out where they don’t serve many fresh vegies. This salad looks so delicious I really want to try it.

    Re your comments about craving foods you can cut, I heard a discussion yesterday about elderly people in nursing homes who can choke to death if they don’t eat really soft food but the guy way saying that sometimes we have to understand that everyone has to have some risk to enjoy life and I thought it was really interesting, esp after having some horrid mushy hospital food in the past which I guess is so soft for this reason. Glad you are wielding the knife and fork again.

  19. For me it’s always carbs.

  20. I love creamy foods whether they be savory or sweet!

  21. Crunchy Stacy’s Pita Chips – but I don’t buy them because I’d eat them!

  22. I crave chocolate

  23. I crave salty things, unless I am away from civilization for a while and then I just crave yogurt!

  24. […] PPS. There is still time to enter this giveaway for Crave Eat Heal here. […]

  25. Chocolate

  26. Sounds like a nice long weekend! The cookbook sounds so good! Love the look of the salad…mmm tempeh bacon…

  27. Baked goods! And spaghetti. Thank you for the giveaway!

  28. I crave sweets and carbs!

  29. Greens, basmati rice and peanut butter granola.

  30. I crave pasta, especially spaghetti with Italian Sausage!

  31. […] PS. There is still time to enter giveaways for Plant-Powered Families and Crave. Eat. Heal. […]

  32. Anything with fruit. Especially bananas.

  33. I crave potato chips. So I guess it would be salty + junk🙂

  34. i crave sweets a lot which follows with savory snacks

  35. I crave sweets and then something savory

  36. Definitely crave dark chocolate, especially after my evening meal🙂

  37. What I crave are foods that are creamy in texture. Give me a piece (or two) of cheesecake, a lemon meringue pie, or some banana pudding and I’m in seventh heaven!!

  38. […] PS. There is still time to enter giveaways for Richa’s Vegan Indian Kitchen, Plant-Powered Families and Crave. Eat. Heal. […]

  39. Lovely recipe and just perfect for the hot weather we are experiencing in Ontario right now. Thanks for sharing with NCR. As for cravings, it always depends. My latest was coleslaw, with an avocado based dressing. Completely vegan as I don’t care for mayo.

  40. I have been eyeing Annie’s book for a while now but haven’t had the funds to buy it, so I would love to be entered into this giveaway (for the ebook though – non US). I’ve been craving chocolate lately…good quality dark chocolate…mmm!

  41. i crave berries! and i’m from canada😀

  42. I crave French fries haha

  43. […] recipe is adapted from the one in Annie Oliverio’s new cookbook, Crave, Eat, Heal. I shared my review of her cookbook earlier, if you are interested in learning […]

  44. […] Banana Bread Cookies from An UnRefined Vegan Butternut Squash Queso from Vedged Out Butter Lettuce Wedge Salad with Creamy Peppercorn Dressing from Taste Space Carrot Cake Pudding from Vegan Richa Carrot Ginger Turmeric Steamer (or Chiller) […]

What do you think?

