janet @ the taste space

Mexican Soy Curl Saute with Lime and Cilantro

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) on June 2, 2015 at 6:46 AM

Mexican Soy Curl Saute with Lime and Cilantro

I recently finished reading The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and OrganizingRob put it on hold at the library in December and we finally made it to the front of the list. Just in the knick of time, too, as we start to pack our house again for our (hopefully) last move ever. Have any of you read it and started tidying? I have seen a few reviews around the blogosphere (example), so I knew the premise to declutter was to only keep things that brought you joy. I am waiting for Rob to finish reading it (at least the first part on purging) prior to beginning to tidy. It will be easier if we are on the same page (said the one that has been slow to adopt the minimalism).

Rob has already packed my cookbooks, and I wouldn’t want to undo his efforts, so we’ll keep them all for now (HA!). Honestly though, one of my favourite cookbooks (definitely one I would keep) is Isa Does It (see my review here). Quick and simple, creative recipes that deliver loads on flavour. This is one such example. This was definitely more than the sum of its parts. Mushrooms and corn are pan-fried with soy curls and then spiced with chilies, lime and cilantro. Isa uses seitan but I think chickpeas could work well, too. She also recommends black beans which would fit with the Mexican theme.

So, please tell me, which cookbook brings you the most joy?

Mexican Soy Curl Saute with Lime and Cilantro

I am sharing this with My Legume Love AffairMeat Free Mondays, Cooking with Herbs and ExtraVeg.

Mexican Soy Curl Saute with Lime and Cilantro
Adapted from Isa Does It (original recipe here)

1 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 onion, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp Aleppo chile flakes, or to taste
4 oz soy curls, rehydrated in hot water for 10 minutes and drained
1 cup corn kernels (frozen is fine)
8-10 oz cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, plus more for garnish, if desired
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
Lemon pepper seasoning (or fresh pepper), to taste
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
3 tbsp fresh lime juice (from 1 lime)

+cooked brown rice/quinoa/wrap

1. In a large bowl, heat water and rehydrate your soy curls.

2. In a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat, add 2/3 of the oil and once hot add onion. Sprinkle with salt and stir in chile flakes. Saute onion until soft, around 3-5 minutes.

3. Squeeze out the water from the soy curls and add to skillet along with the corn. Cook until soy curls are lightly browned, stirring occasionally. This will take around 8-10 minutes. Stir in mushrooms and cilantro. Sprinkle with salt and lemon pepper seasoning, to taste. Cook until the mushrooms wilt down, around 5 minutes more.

4. Push mixture to the side, and add remainder of the oil. Stir garlic into the oil and allow it to sizzle but not burn. Stir into the remainder of the dish. Sprinkle with lime juice. Adjust seasoning to taste and garnish with additional cilantro.

5. Can serve overtop rice or quinoa, or in a wrap… or all by itself.

Serves 3-4, depending on sides.

  1. Well, I read it, and I think a couple things. First, many of the ideas and methods can be useful. But second, they’re not universally applicable and will not magically fix everything. So essentially I think a grain of salt is in order. Also, I would have a very hard time picking out just one cookbook above all others! Ten I could do, but not one.🙂 Here’s hoping your move goes well and you succeed in eating the majority of your pantry beforehand!

  2. Ten years ago I would have said the Looneyspoon Cookbooks by the two sisters…but now that I’m transitioning to a plant based database I think I come to the Tastespace Website as my go-to cookbook….thanks….I also find I’m enjoying the recipes in the Oh she glows cookbook and I love the beautiful pictures in the new Plant Powered Way……

  3. so database is of course way of eating….

  4. Love the idea of using soy curls in a Mexican-based recipe. I have that cookbook & love it. I have most of her cookbooks, they all bring me happiness =) I’m not sure I could pick just one favourite cookbook… I love them all! I haven’t read the book, I may at some point. But honestly, I feel like I have the de-cluttering thing down. I do a good “spring” clean every few months and only keep things we regularly use. I don’t see the point in having a bunch of stuff we don’t use (or doesn’t make us happy – whichever way you want to look at it). And we’ve downsized considerably in the past 2 moves, so it was necessary to offload. Good luck with the final move!

  5. Such a fabulous dish!!Thanks for sending it across to MLLA. And of you ask me to choose a cookbook that brings me joy, then it will be like choosing between my kids!!! I love each and every book in my collection and each one brings me joy! And hope your move went on well.

  6. Hi Janet! I have posted the roundup of MLLA here…Do take a look🙂

    http://www.seduceyourtastebuds.com/2015/07/roundup-my-legume-love-affair-84.html

    Thanks for your participation in the event …

  7. Thanks for taking part in #ExtraVeg! Good luck with the move. I am going through everything and pretending we are moving. A good declutter is so good.

What do you think?

