janet @ the taste space

Avocado Chimichurri

In Appetizers on June 20, 2015 at 9:49 AM

Avocado Chimichurri

This is another great dish to come out of our cottage escapades.

It was a true pleasure to know that I did not have to worry about vegan options. I brought a few veggie burgers for the grill, but otherwise, the vegetables were plentiful. And avocados. All avocados at the cottage. When you get tired of guacamole (is that possible??), this is a fun dish.

Avocado Chimichurri

I had been thinking of trying to make chimichurri for a while but hesitant with the amount of parsley in most recipes. Parsley is possibly my least favourite flavour, right up there with celery which is slightly more tolerable. This was great, though. A nice amount of spice that was not overrun by herbs. Chuimichurri is a green typically used for grilled meats but here, the chunks of avocado substituted to make a fabulous dip. The original recipe suggests using it as a bruschetta topping but everyone simply lapped it up by the spoonful. Because it is simple to prepare the chimichurri sauce in advance, this is a fancy looking dip but also very portable and simple to make. I can see this becoming a staple around the barbecue this summer. Enjoy!

What do you like to make with avocado?

 

Other dishes avocado fans will love:

Guaca-Chi (Guacamole with Kimchi)

Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Guacamame or Edamame Guacamole)

Pineapple and Cucumber Guacamole (Guacamole Con Piña y Pepino)

Tofu Avocado Salad

Cucumber Avocado Sandwiches With Dill and Mint

Avocado Chimichurri

Avocado Chimichurri
Adapted from Vegetarian Times

2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp minced garlic (3 cloves)
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 large avocados, peeled, pitted, and cubed

1. In a small bowl, combine lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, salt, red pepper flakes, oregano, and black pepper. Whisk in the oil, and then stir in cilantro and parsley. Fold in avocado cubes. Can eat with a spoon, as a chunky dip or put on top toasted bread as a bruschetta.

Serves 4-6.

 

  1. I’m sure they serve this in heaven, it is out of this world! And I came across a Guac recipe in 365 ways with Quinoa which includes adding cooked quinoa in the food processor, making the guac a protein rich appie. Love that version! In addition, adding avocado to salad dressings helps me get this beautiful fruit into my older boys who aren’t yet in love. My favourite way is to serve a toasted mini pita with coconut oil on one side, Acropolis olive oil on the other, avocado, spinach and micro greens. When our youngest son eats that (almost every day, with or without the greens) I know he’s getting an amazing dose of healthy fats. Makes me happy. (^8

  2. Oh wow! THIS with CHICKEN = BOMB… Or really, just eaten with a spoon !LOL!

  3. Ooh, yes please! This sounds like such a fantastic snack to make when you’re tired of guacamole (wait, do people get tired of guacamole?). I would definitely serve this with chips or scoop it onto a piece or two of sourdough toast for lunch.

  4. It is not humanely possible to get sick of avocado. It’s just not ;p
    This sounds like a fun new way to enjoy avo!

  5. Oooo….simple and delish. Love everything avocado. I’ve been eating it every morning on toast, topped with red onion, nutritional yeast, cucumber and a dash of sea salt.

  6. I LOVE Avocado…and Chimichurri…so together is a great way to eat them!!

  7. This looks delicious. I have some avocados that I need to use up. Now I know what I’m going to make 😀

  8. Mmmmmm! I love the look of this! I am having a bit of a love affair with avocados at the moment and I just have to try this!

What do you think?

