janet @ the taste space

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

In Mains (Vegetarian) on July 7, 2015 at 6:18 AM

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

It has been a week in the new house and we’ve given our new barbecue a quick initiation.

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

Part of the beauty of the new grill is that meals are simpler. Fresh vegetables with a touch of oil, salt and pepper along with a veggie burger. It still hasn’t stopped me from pinning more creative recipes (follow my vegan BBQ pinterest board here).

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

These BBQ lentils are from my pre-BBQ days and a fun way to switch up your BBQ protein if you are tired of veggie burgers. While you could eat these as a side, I opted to construct a sandwich, reminiscent of Sloppy Joes but with a BBQ flavour. I topped it with my carrot-sriracha coleslaw for an easy topping.

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

Do you have any favourite recipes for the BBQ? I highly recommend these balsamic roasted portobellos which have been my go-to option whenever I had access to a grill in the past. I am also curious which brand of veggie burgers is your favourite. There are so many options. The one I have liked so far has been “Veg Out” Quarter Pounder. Oddly enough, I can’t even find a link with it on the google interwebs to share my find with you.

BBQ Lentil Sandwich

I am sharing this with Meat Free MondaysVegetable Palette for reds and My Legume Love Affair.

BBQ Lentil Sandwich
Adapted from The Great Vegan Protein Book (original recipe here)

2 cups dried green lentils
4 cups water
2 tsp coconut oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
3 medium carrots, peeled and trimmed, minced
1/2 cup ketchup
1/4 cup tomato paste
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp liquid smoke
2 tbsp agave nectar or pure maple syrup
2 tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
1.5 tsp onion powder
1/2 – 1 tsp fine sea salt, or to taste
1/2 tsp Aleppo pepper, or to taste

1 batch carrot-sriracha coleslaw
hamburger buns

1. Rinse and pick over the lentils, removing any stones. Place in a large pot, cover with water and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Once boiling, cover, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes, until tender but not mushy. Drain and set aside.

2. Meanwhile, in a medium pot over medium-high heat, heat oil. Saute the onions and carrots for 10 minutes until tender over medium heat. Remove from heat.

3. Preheat oven to 350F.

4. In a 9×13″ ovenproof dish, combine the ketchup, tomato paste, water, apple cider vinegar, liquid smoke, agave, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, onion powder, salt and chile flakes. Stir until well combined. Stir in the cooked lentils and carrots until they are well coated. Bake at 350F for 30 minutes, uncovered, until the sauce is slightly caramelized around the edges.

5. To make your sandwiches, place cooked lentils on top of a bun and top with the coleslaw.

Lentils will serve 8-10 sandwiches

  1. Glad you enjoyed the lentils from the Great Vegan Protein Book.

  2. Sounds like a great burger alternative – I could recommend some burger recipes though we don’t have a bbq so I can’t vouch for them on the barbie – one of my favourites in recent times was http://gggiraffe.blogspot.com.au/2014/10/watercourse-foods-tempeh-burger.html – oh and can you do arepas on the bbq? I still love that recipe you posted

  3. Hooray for the sloppy joe and all permutations thereof! Why don’t more people put beans in sandwiches? It makes such a hearty and homey comfort food. Needless to say, I want one of these immediately.🙂

  4. Glad you’ve christened the new house! I’ve ben wanting to make BBQ lentils for so long. This may be the week. It’s actually chilly here!

  5. Yum! We always make our own veggie burgers; my current fave is based on brown rice flakes, ground nuts/seeds, miso and grated capsicum. Love your lentils; been thinking to make pulled seitan this way soon. Happy bbqing😊

  6. Looks like it was a lentil kind of week in the Canadian blogosphere! That’s a tasty looking sandwich!

  7. 🙂 Lentils and us! I posted a lentil recipe today too!!!Lentil love we have!

  8. I think I would like this better than a veggie burger, especially with that coleslaw topping – looks great!

  9. I have made lentil burgers in the past on the BBQ. They are wonderful….my daughter loves them. These almost sound like they would taste like backed beans….yummy!! Will have to give them a try.

  10. Surely this recipe I am going to try very soon, thanks for linking it to MLLA#85🙂

  11. That’s a monster of a sandwich!!!! YES =)
    Can’t wait to make this protein-packed awesomeness. Also, thanks for sharing on HVF – this is being featured this week. I’m pinning & sharing!

  12. […] BBQ Lentil Sandwich from The Taste Space: […]

  13. Those lentils look soo good! It’s bit too long since I’ve made burgers or anything on a BBQ, the cold weather here has got me craving soups. I’m pinning this so I can make it in the summer😀

  14. I can almost taste them. Thanks for sharing with VegetablePalette.

  15. That is an inventive way to serve up lentils and veggies on a bun. I am most smitten with the seasoning here. I’ll be hosting the MLLA roundup for July on my blog soon on behalf of Jagruti. Thanks as always for sharing your creations.

What do you think?

