janet @ the taste space

Fresh Tofu and Strawberry Salad with Mosto Cotto

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on July 9, 2015 at 6:59 AM

Fresh Tofu and Strawberry Salad with Mosto Cotto

If you are interested in the quickest of complete meals, this is what I ate most of last week after our move.

We found a nearby restaurant that makes its own homemade fresh tofu. Tofu made without any preservatives, they warned us it would spoil faster than commercial tofu. We got some for take-away and quickly ate through it.

I thought I knew a lot about tofu but this was different. Airy and light. (Despite my description, this is not silken tofu since they sell that too and I got the regular fresh tofu). Because it was so fresh, it was silky smooth and I did not feel the need to do anything to it. No marinade, no baking, no frying, simply nothing.

Fresh Tofu and Strawberry Salad with Mosto Cotto

It was a perfect addition to a quick salad. I added it to some other local specialties (fresh strawberries!) and made it into a simple salad after biking home from work. Pictured here with mixed greens and cucumber with a drizzle of mosto cotto, with a nod to my previous Vegan Green Power Bowl.

Do you ever eat plain tofu? Ie, straight from the package? If so, what is your favourite way to eat it?

Fresh Tofu and Strawberry Salad with Mosto Cotto

I am sharing this with Shaheen’s Eat Your Greens.

Fresh Tofu and Strawberry Salad with Mosto Cotto

1/4 container of fresh tofu, chopped into bite-size cubes
1/2 cup chopped and stemmed strawberries
1/2 cup cucumber,chopped into bite-size cubes
3 cups baby greens
1 tbsp mosto cotto, to drizzle (or your favourite balsamic vinaigrette)

1. Mix all ingredients together.

Serves 1.

  1. My 6 year old loves fresh tofu but I prefer it cooked – I have made my own tofu with a friend years ago and it does taste so good

  2. […] carpaccio (just as good with a longer marinade) into a glorious summer salad with strawberries, fresh (not grilled) tofu, all over a bed of baby spinach, doused with a balsamic […]

  3. What a creative way to enjoy tofu! I have tried eating it plain before, but haven’t been a big fan. This sounds great though!

  4. Intriguing and unusual salad recipe Janet. Thanks for sharing with EatYourGreens.

What do you think?

