janet @ the taste space

Portobello Carpaccio, Tofu and Strawberry Spinach Salad

In Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on July 21, 2015 at 7:02 AM

Portobello Carpaccio, Tofu and Strawberry Spinach Salad

Even though we have had the BBQ on in full force since it arrived, it is (mostly) limited to the weekends. However, I love bulk cooking on the weekends, so we’re trying to keep things simple mid-week.

Here I multipurposed leftover portobello carpaccio (just as good with a longer marinade) into a glorious summer salad with strawberries, fresh (not grilled) tofu, all over a bed of baby spinach, doused with a balsamic dressing.

Portobello Carpaccio, Tofu and Strawberry Spinach Salad

Jessica asked about mosto cotto in my previous posts. It is a sweet balsamic reduction and a simple 1-ingredient dressing. A balsamic vinaigrette could easily be substituted, so I decided to make my own and use it all week. I made a glorious full cup to share with Rob.

Except the world was against me, and I tipped 75% of my dressing. Onto my shorts, onto my slippers and behind my stove. I am not sure if bird poop or balsamic vinegar makes a worse stain, but I quickly disrobed and cleaned my shorts and next my slippers. My black shorts fared better than my slippers which may now look a bit more brown than white. Oops….

Anyways, the salad was fabulous. I hadn’t planned to share it but the mushrooms added a wonderful earthy contrast next to the sweet strawberries and savoury balsamic vinaigrette. Delicious. Enjoy!

Portobello Carpaccio, Tofu and Strawberry Spinach Salad

I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays.

Portobello Carpaccio, Tofu and Strawberry Spinach Salad

1 portobello carpaccio
1/4 package fresh tofu, chopped into bite-size pieces
1 cup stemmed, chopped strawberries
4 cups baby spinach
balsamic vinaigrette, to taste (see below)

1. Mix all the ingredients together.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 tsp mustard (I like a spicy grainy mustard)
1 clove garlic, pressed or minced
1/4 tsp salt

1. Mix all ingredients together.

  1. Miumm…! I’ll definitely try this salad with the portobello carpaccio and fresh strawberry 😉. Thanks for the dressing recipe but my God…poor you with your balsamic everywhere 😱. I can’t imagined the mess.

  2. Great photo on this post! Making this right now for lunch ☺

  3. This sounds amazing! I love all the flavors there and especially that portobello. MMMMMM

  4. Sounds great – and such a great summer dish – sorry to hear about your clothes getting manky – but just must be a reason to make more dressing

  5. Ooh this is such a great alternative way to serve your portobello carpaccio – now there’s two reasons to make it!

  6. Sounds like a great salad. Perfect for summer =)
    Ugh… I hate spilling stuff. Especially something so messy like balsamic.. d’oh!
    Glad your shorts are ok at least!

What do you think?

