janet @ the taste space

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

In Favourites, Sides on August 6, 2015 at 7:26 AM

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

Toronto had a wicked storm this past weekend.

#torontostorm #junction

A photo posted by Neille Brockie (@vidabrockie) on

Yeah, that one. (Sorry for the rain tease for those in California!)
The next one is a video:

If you saw a plane trying to land at the Island Airport at that time (I didn’t see us in the video), I was there. We circled back and forth between Toronto and St Catharines as we waited for a clearing to land. The landing was probably the most rocky I had endured and it was only afterwards, gawking at the photos in the comfort of my own home, did I realize what we had missed.

(Hopefully they got some awesome wedding pictures)

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

Anyways, Rob and I had a very quick weekend trip over the long weekend out to New Hampshire for some relaxation and hiking in the White Mountain National Forest. Rob was in Boston for a conference but when I flew down, we opted to head outside the city instead. If you like outdoors, this is a great place to visit. We stayed with a host through AirBnB and it was almost like our own piece of heaven.

I had been talking about making Bourbon-spoked barbecue sauce for a while, but we had no Bourbon nor whiskey. Our trip to duty-free solved that and I quickly followed through with my promise of homemade barbecue sauce. Earlier this year, I made Miyoko’s zippy barbecue sauce (fabulous, by the way) and found it oh, so easy and was equally delighted with this concoction.

Smoky. Apple-infused although I couldn’t really taste the apple. And the Bourbon was in there, too. The Bourbon is more of an aftertaste after the alcohol is simmered away, adding depth to the sauce. A bit on the spicier side but I loved it. So, even if you do not like whiskey (hello, me!) and even if you do (hello, Rob!), you will love this. I imagine this will be gone by the end of the weekend. Veggie burgers really do better with something saucy slathered overtop.

Enjoy! Please let me know how you like it. Do you have a favourite barbecue sauce recipe?

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce

I am sharing this with Healthy Vegan Fridays and Credit Crunch Munch.

Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce
Inspired by Vanilla and Bean 

1/3 cup coconut sugar (brown sugar could be substituted)
1 small apple, cored and coarsely chopped (1/2 cup applesauce could be substituted)
2/3 cup ketchup
1/3 cup Bourbon whiskey
3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 tbsp vegan Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp Dijon mustard
1.5 tsp liquid smoke
1 tbsp Ancho chile powder
1 tbsp blackstrap molasses
1 tbsp Kirkland Sweet Mesquite Seasoning (this could be a reasonable copycat recipe with the addition of some mesquite)

1. Place all ingredients in a high-speed blender and blend until completely smooth. Place contents in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat and then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until thickened to desired consistency. Keeps for a week in the refrigerator.

Makes ~1.5 cups.

  1. […] tang with a touch of blackstrap molasses reminiscent of barbecue. This is also a fabulous Smoky Apple Bourbon Barbecue Sauce. See also Gena’s Tempeh Kebabs with Homemade Barbecue Sauce and Bianca’s […]

  2. Oh man this looks DELISH! I need to try this sauce🙂

  3. This sauce looks yummy! And thank you for sharing the pictures. I was driving through the storm and it was pretty scary, but I haven’t seen the photos – wow, beautiful!

  4. Hooray for homemade bbq sauce! I tend to just use the standard Joy of Cooking recipe for mine, but this is making me want to branch out. That apple is an interesting addition!

  5. Oh my word that is quite a storm! I cannot quite believe that it is over a year since I was in Toronto. Seems like yesterday.

  6. What a storm! Glad you’re ok!

    I love bourbon (as you know), so this will need to happen soon. I made a no salt version of a BBQ sauce when I was competing. Actually, I coated tempeh with it! I still like it, but a boozy version is always a winner in my book.🙂

  7. Wow, that storm is so intense and beautiful. Amazing. And this BBQ sauce! I want to dunk my face into that sauce! Great recipe!

  8. That storm! I’ve been out on the west coast so I missed it. Looks insane!

    And I’ve landed at the island airport in sketchy weather — scariest few minutes of my life. I was with a very senior lawyer from my law firm who was trying his best not to look terrified. He was gripping the seat and I’m pretty sure he thought this was it for us🙂.

    Looks like an amazing bbq sauce!

  9. Wow, that storm looks wild! And that sauce looks amazing – I’ve been telling myself for ages I need to make barbecue sauce, love the smoky-apple-bourbon-ness of this sauce!

  10. Oh wow – sounds really smoky & delicious. I’m totally digging liquid smoke right now. This would be a really great marinade for tempeh!
    Thanks for sharing this at HVF Janet! I am pinning your recipe =)
    ps. Thanks for sharing those cool storm pics!
    “Yeah, that one. (Sorry for the rain tease for those in California!)”
    Yea… *sigh*

  11. I’ve just been gifted a tonne of apples and have a mystery bottle of bourbon so this seems like a match made in heaven! Coming to you via last month’s Credit Crunch Munch link up! We don’t get storms like that here ever BTW- I don’t know if I should be relieved or jealous!

  12. […] her new favourite BBQ sauce made with rhubarb and I was intrigued. No stranger to making my own barbecue sauce, it sounded like a neat idea. Rob was digging a rhubarb chutney and I thought this could be a good […]

What do you think?

