janet @ the taste space

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad with a Chile-Lime Dressing

In Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads, Sides on August 13, 2015 at 7:06 AM

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad
This summer has been a lot of tofu.

Jamaican tofu skewers

Grilled tofu steaks

Even a tofu salad

I’ve been missing my beans.. and then all of a sudden, I had a craving for a mixed bean salad.

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad

My last mixed bean salad was Symphony in a Can aka My 5-Minute Symphonic Mixed Bean Salad which has a more classic flavour profile: lemon, mustard and onion for the mixed beans.

This time I went with a Southwestern inspired bean salad with a chile-lime dressing. Lots of vegetables including bell peppers and tomatoes along with fresh cilantro. I worked with a medley of beans and then added in extra red kidney beans. They are perfect for salads and I don’t use them nearly enough.

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad
I think my chile powder has been losing its freshness/spiciness so my newest trend (you may have already spotted it) is adding some Sweet Mesquite Seasoning which has plenty of oomph. Either that or my palate is warming up… Probably the former.

In any case, this salad received a lot of praise during my last barbecue. I think you will like it, too. Enjoy!

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad

I am sharing this with My Legume Love Affair, Meat Free Mondays, and Cooking with Herbs.

Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad with a Chile-Lime Dressing
Adapted from The Spicy Vegan Cookbook

1 (19-ounce) can mixed beans, drained and rinsed
1 (19-ounce) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 red or orange or yellow bell pepper, chopped (my pick was orange)
1 large tomato, diced
1 large ear of corn, grilled and shucked (I added directly from the grill, after photographing)
2 tbsp olive oil
1/4 cup lime juice
1/2 tsp Ancho chili powder
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (I used 1/2 tsp Sweet Mesquite Seasoning)
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 avocado, diced (optional, did not use)

1. In a large bowl, place the rinsed beans along with the chopped bell pepper and tomato. Add the corn, if available. I added the corn directly before serving since we were grilling it for the barbecue.

2. In a separate small bowl/mason jar, whisk together the oil, lime juice, chili powder, garlic, cayenne and salt. Pour dressing over the bean mixture and stir to coat. Stir in the fresh cilantro. Allow to marinate at least 1 hour, if not longer, in the refrigerator.

3. Prior to serving, add the avocado (and freshly grilled corn). Stir to combine.

Serves 6.

  1. I love bean salads because they are more of a complete meal and leafy salads. Love the flavour combo!

  2. This sounds like a very filling salad with a delicious spicy kick!!

  3. I love beans. They are so incredibly versatile and this salad sounds delicious.

  4. […] peaches. I was lusting grilled peaches after seeing this beautiful post and pulled out my latest (not-so-secret) weapon in the kitchen. A mix of melted coconut oil, Sweet Mesquite Seasoning and a touch of coconut […]

  5. […] 10. Southwestern Mixed Bean Salad with a Chile-Lime Dressing by The Taste Space […]

  6. just bookmarked this one – keep seeing dishes by you on blog events and realising I am missing lots of great dishes on your blog – thank goodness for events which help me keep up when I am busy – have bookmarked this for summer

  7. I was *just* wondering to myself what kind of salad I should make a big batch of for lunches this week. I was thinking of making one of my tired, but tried & true old salads – but I think I’ll give this a go. It’s new & sounds delicious =)

  8. I am liking this, i know its still summer here, but its a very autumnal salad and very very appealing – I am so liking the dressing. Thanks for sharing with MLLA the round up will be up tomorrow.

  9. Am so looking forward to this. I keep going back to the pics & visually eating it.🙂
    I plan to also morph this into soup once the weather changes…think it will be spectacular.

What do you think?

