janet @ the taste space

Pickle and Green Bean Potato Salad

In Salads on September 1, 2015 at 6:42 AM

Pickle and Green Bean Potato Salad

I hope you’ve been enjoying the recipes from Vegan al FrescoI don’t normally share so many recipes from the same cookbook (at least at once, because we all know I love to share Tessfabulous recipes).

I was immediately drawn into this recipe. Adding a chopped pickle to a potato salad seemed ingenious. Adding the pickle juice to the dressing was doubly intriguing.

A perfect make-ahead salad for my next picnic.

Pickle and Green Bean Potato Salad

The original recipe called for asparagus, which I am sure would be lovely, but not currently easily accessible. I liked Rika’s idea to substitute green beans for asparagus and ran with it. With a minimal amount of steaming, they were perfectly tender-crisp. And while I have been using tiny creamer potatoes all summer long, this time I had new potatoes and chopped them very small so that they would cook quickly. (Teaching tip: We tried to barbecue little pieces of potato like this and it took over 45 minutes, potentially because they were steaming because our steamer basket was overfilled).

I was worried this salad would be very salty (pickles + pickle juice) but it wasn’t at all. Definitely trust, Carla. She’s got your back. It definitely needed the salt called for in the recipe. I ended up fortifying the salad as a main course by adding some white flageolet beans.

Pickle and Green Bean Potato Salad

Other than burgers, where do you like to add pickles?

Recipes from Vegan al Fresco spotted elsewhere:

Buckwheat and Onion Mini-Loaves
Caper and Edamame Dip
Grilled Eggplant Sandwiches
Grilled Zucchini Sticks
Groovy Multigrain Burgers
Hearty Three-Grain Salad

Melon and Corn Salsa
Mojito-Inspired Tofu
Pumpkin and Corn Cakes
Roasted Beet and Quinoa Salad

Pickle & Asparagus Potato Salad

PS. Enter for a chance to win a copy of Vegan al Fresco right here.

PPS. I am sharing this with Meatless Mondays, No Croutons Required, and Eat Your Greens.

Pickle and Green Bean Potato Salad
Adapted from Vegan al Fresco: Happy & Healthy Recipes for Picnics, Barbecues & Outdoor Dining

Author’s note: I have always preferred mayo-free potato salads, for their lightness and their flavour. And this salad is full of bright with the taste of sweet & sour pickles and fresh asparagus, with the potatoes as a creamy backdrop.

3 cups cubed firm yellow potatoes, such as Yukon gold (peeling optional)
3 cups chopped green beans, ends trimmed (Janet’s note: I swapped green beans for asparagus)
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp pickle juice
1/2 tsp smooth Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp agave syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper
2 tbsp finely chopped dill pickles (Janet’s note: I just used 2 dill pickles (combined) instead of the bread-and-butter pickle)
2 tbsp finely chopped bread-and-butter pickles
1 garlic clove, minced
1 small shallot, minced
small white beans like flageolets, optional (Janet’s note: added to fortify leftovers to make a main course salad)
Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

1.  In a medium pot fitted with a steamer basket, steam potatoes for 8 to 10 minutes, until fork tender. Refresh under cold running water, drain, and cool to room temperature.

2. In same pan, steam the green beans for 4 minutes, until brilliant green and slightly tender. Refresh under cold running water, drain, and cool to room temperature.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together oil, brine, mustard, agave syrup, salt and pepper until well emulsified. Stir in pickles, garlic and shallots. Add potatoes and green beans and toss to coat. Cover and chill for at least 1 hour. Taste and season as desired.

Serves 4-6.

Recipe from Vegan al Fresco: Happy & Healthy Recipes for Picnics, Barbecues & Outdoor Dining by Carla Kelly. Published by Arsenal Pulp Press (2014). Recipe reprinted with permission.

Last photo courtesy of Tracey Kusiewicz / Foodie Photography

  1. I like to add capers to salads. They would probably be good in this potato salad but maybe not 4 T!

  2. Love it!! I’ve got potatoes, green beans AND pickles🙂

  3. Potato salads with vinaigrette are the best! Especially with plenty of green beans. It’s such a perfect combination. I generally don’t do pickles in my potato salad, but they go all kinds of other places! Pickled cabbage with pupusas or chili, pickled red onion, carrots, or jalapenos on tacos, pickled peppers on practically anything. I actually tend to eat classic dills on their own, but everything else is a garnish.🙂

  4. […] (which was mostly Rob’s domain), I definitely increased my side salad repertoire. Potato salads a plenty, as the produce shifted, I worked with my abundance of tomatoes. Along with an abundance […]

  5. Be fab for a working lunch too. I love making pasta and potato salad with pickled Jalapeno liquid, its awesome, so know I would love this. The round up for eatyourgreens will be up today PS I know you sent me an image, but as its from the book and not yours I will not use it as I do not have permission to republish it, so will use your pic, hope that is okay.

  6. Lovely idea. Now I am pretty much vegan, I adore salads without mayo. The NCR roundup should be up soon. Thanks as always for your continued support.

  7. […] but it wasn’t so long that we were grilling up a storm over our BBQ this summer. That was when I enjoyed experimenting with Carla Kelly’s cookbook Vegan al Fresco. Understandably, I was […]

  8. […] Fresh Green Bean, Walnut, and Feta Salad with olive oil & a fresh mint vinaigrette – the author notes it seems like an odd flavour combination, but promises it won’t disappoint. […]

What do you think?

