janet @ the taste space

Vegan Creme Caramel with a Blueberry Chia Compote

In Desserts on September 3, 2015 at 7:11 AM

Vegan Creme Caramel with a Blueberry Chia Compote

Apparently, it isn’t a party unless there is dessert and as such, throughout the summer, I have been working on the perfect make-ahead dessert.

No oven needed, just a bit of stovetop whisking. Let it chill in the fridge and the dessert is ready when you are.

Vegan creme caramel.

Vegan Creme Caramel with a Blueberry Chia Compote

Yes, vegan creme caramel.

Little did I know that coconut sugar + coconut milk tastes just like caramel. You can’t substitute brown sugar since it won’t be the same, although you will have a delicious dessert.

I topped it with a quick and easy blueberry chia compote. I combined ideas from my blueberry vanilla chia jam and raspberry chia jam to make a saucier blueberry compote. Rob had the ingenious idea of adding a splash of blueberry syrup to accentuate the blueberry flavour. It was delicious.

And the real music to my ears? When I asked my guests whether they wanted dairy ice cream or this vegan creme caramel for dessert, and it was a resounding: VEGAN CREME CARAMEL. (As they astutely pointed out, they can get ice cream anywhere, but vegan desserts come specially from me!). YEAH!

Vegan Creme Caramel with a Blueberry Chia Compote

I am sharing with Vegetable Palette for purples/blues.

Vegan Creme Caramel with a Blueberry Chia Compote
Adapted from The Complete Coconut Cookbook

1/4 cup coconut sugar
4 tsp agar powder (the original recipe suggests 1.5 tsp agar flakes as a substitute)
dash of salt
2 cups full-fat coconut milk (well stirred)
1 tsp vanilla

1 cup blueberries (I used frozen)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp blueberry syrup, or to taste (or favourite sweetener of choice)

1. In a medium saucepan, stir together the coconut sugar, agar powder, salt and coconut milk. Let stand for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, place frozen blueberries in a small microwave safe container. Heat on high (~1 minute or more) until defrosted. Stir in the chia seeds and blueberry syrup. Place in fridge until needed, to allow the chia seeds to absorb the extra juices.

3. Place saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally until it begins to simmer. Whisk occasionally until the agar has dissolved, approximately 8-10 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. Immediate pour into ramekins or silicone muffin holders. Cover loosely and refrigerate for at least 1 hour until chilled and set.

Serves 4-6.

  1. The power of blueberries!!!!

  2. Hi Janet! This is my first time visiting — found you through FBC. This is so interesting! I’m also dairy free, and I had no idea about the coconut sugar and coconut milk combo tasting like caramel. I’m definitely going to try this out! Thank you so much for sharing, and have a great long weekend!🙂

  3. I’m going to have to try this coconut sugar and milk combo .. very intriguing. When I was a little kid, I had no idea what creme caramel was, but I wanted to sound fancy so I kept saying my parents made me creme caramel for dessert to impress everyone. To this day I think what I was describing was no where remotely like the actual thing lol.

  4. I feel silly – it took me awhile to figure out how to comment on this. I love the new blog look!
    I love the sound of the coconut sugar & milk combination – I think it would make a nice caramel flavour! Yum!
    Thanks so much for sharing this at Healthy Vegan Fridays – I’m pinning this compote!

  5. I may just have to make this as have most of the ingredients, thank you for sharing with Fruit and Veg Palette, the theme for October is Orange if your interested and the round up will be up very soon as I am due to go on a vacation.

What do you think?

