janet @ the taste space

Tomato and Pomegranate Salad with Fresh Oregano

In Salads, Sides on September 8, 2015 at 6:55 AM

Tomato and Pomegranate Salad

It has been a while since I have gushed over an Ottolenghi recipe.

He came out with a new vegetarian cookbook, Plenty More last year but it wasn’t until I was overflowing in fresh herbs and summer produce did I take a stab at conquering his cookbook. Being that it is now September, I am sad I didn’t do it earlier.Tomato and Pomegranate Salad

Those familiar with his recipes know that he loves to highlight fresh vegetables with a pile of herbs with sometimes complicated methods. He uses interesting flavours with a unique, somewhat Middle Eastern-inspired twist. This salad was no exception and I honestly tried to pick a simpler recipe.

The recipe is deceptively simple and the most common complaint from others who have made this recipe was that he suggested to chop the tomatoes awfully small. I used a combination of tomatoes I got from my (new) favourite farmer’s market at the Etobicoke Civic Centre on Saturdays. I love it because it is a huge market with classic, heirloom and local vegetables and fruits, where regular (aka non hipster) people are seen carrying home overflowing bags of produce.

Tomato and Pomegranate Salad

Anyways, I digress. I chopped the kumato tomatoes (only advertised as “gourmet tomatoes”) along with some cherry tomatoes and larger cocktail tomatoes. The dressing was simple but the twist came from the pomegranate molasses and allspice which complemented the tomatoes well. I liked the addition of fresh oregano, as well. I skipped the actual pomegranate seeds, since they aren’t currently in season here, and I kind of wonder when one could ever get pomegranate and fresh tomatoes together at the same time.

The salad was well received by my family and Rob, who does not like raw tomatoes at all, said it was great (for a tomato salad). He won’t eat the leftovers (it is still a tomato salad, Janet) but that simply leaves more for me! Ottolenghi also has a roasted lemon and pomegranate tomato salad with mint that I am now itching to try as well.

How do you like to eat tomatoes?
Tomato and Pomegranate Salad

Recipes shared from Ottolenghi previously:

Miso Braised Cabbage
Thai Noodle Salad with Mango and Lima Beans
Lemon-Kissed Tomato Barley Risotto
Caramelized Fennel and Quinoa Salad with Cilantro and Dill
Snowpeas, Snap Peas and Fava Beans in a Tomato-Cardamom Sauce (Mixed Beans with Many Spices and Lovage)
Quinoa Wraps with Sweet Potato and Dried Iranian Lime and a Sweet Tahini Dipping Sauce (combination of Quinoa Salad with Sweet Potato and Dried Iranian Lime with his Sweet Tahini Sauce)
– Roasted Celeriac and Lentils with Hazelnuts and Mint
– Sea Weeds and Greens Salad (aka Kelp Noodles with Wakame and Radish Sprouts)
– Grilled Eggplant and Mango Noodle Salad with a Sweet Chili Dressing
– Cabbage and Kohlrabi Salad
– Ultimate Winter Couscous
– Socca Pissaladière

Tomato and Pomegranate Salad

PS. I am sharing this with Extra Veg (hosted by Feeding Boys, Michelle Utterly Scrummy and Fuss Free Helen) and Shop Local.

Tomato and Pomegranate Salad with Fresh Oregano
Adapted from Plenty More (original recipe found here)

2.5 lbs mixed tomatoes (chop larger tomatoes and halve smaller tomatoes
1 small shallot, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp ground allspice
2 tsp white wine vinegar
1.5 tbsp pomegranate molasses
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tbsp small oregano leaves, to garnish
Salt and black pepper

1. In a large bowl, make the dressing by stirring together the garlic, allspice, white wine vinegar, pomegranate molasses and oil.

2. Add the chopped tomatoes and shallot to the bowl. Stir to allow the dressing to completely coat.

3. Allow the salad to marinate for at least one hour, if not more.

4. Just prior to serving, add fresh oregano.

Serves 6-8 as a side.

  1. Janet, I love your blog’s new look! I have been meaning to try this recipe but tomatoes and pomegranates are in season simultaneously for about 2 seconds… Have you made the Raw Beet & Herb Salad from Plenty More? It was the biggest hit in my kichen this summer.

  2. My mouth is watering Janet. I just did a sauteed tomato sauce with kale and arugula. I just can’t get enough tomatoes even though summer is ending!

  3. Thanks for sharing this wonderful salad – I adore Ottolenghi recipes as they are full to the brim with flavour and always looks so stunning. Tomatoes have never been my favourite, but always taste better when we’re on holiday and they’re fruity, sweet and ripe. I probably love them best in a Greek Salad! Thanks for hooking up with #ExtraVeg this month🙂

  4. Wow — definitely an interesting combination! I’ve never seen pomegranate seeds in a salad quite like this before. So cool.

  5. I would have never thought of pairing pomegranate molasses with tomato. Certainly going to try it this week. Thanks for sharing with #ExtraVeg

  6. This looks gorgeous and is a great way of using pomegranate molasses. I have a bottle that I used a lot but seem to have forgotten about for the last few months. Definitely time to get it out again!

  7. […] salad repertoire. Potato salads a plenty, as the produce shifted, I worked with my abundance of tomatoes. Along with an abundance of fresh basil, this was a simple end of summer salad. Toasted bread […]

What do you think?

