janet @ the taste space

Corn Chowder Salad

In Salads on September 17, 2015 at 6:56 AM

Corn Chowder Salad

Aren’t vegetables just the cutest?

The purple and white fingerling potatoes, red and orange bell peppers and fresh corn were all from a recent haul from the farmer’s market. I hope you aren’t enthralled by winter squash just yet because I am happily munching through the summer bounty.

Corn Chowder Salad

When I spotted Deb’s original Corn Chowder Salad, I knew I wanted to make it vegan. The only part that wasn’t vegan was the bacon. Even though there was a recipe for bacon grease in Complete Guide to Even More Vegan Food Substitutions (and I knew coconut oil with liquid smoke would probably suffice), I hunted down magic vegan bacon grease (spotted at Fiesta Farms for those in Toronto). Apparently it has been flying off the shelves over the summer and I was lucky to find it in stock.

Corn Chowder Salad

In addition to the flavourful coconut oil, I added in sun-dried tomatoes. The texture was a bit chewy instead of bacony crisp but the umami lent perfectly to the salad. With a simple douse of apple cider vinegar, the salad was well balanced. Enjoy!

Are you still eating through the summer foods or beginning on the fall favourites?

Turn your favourite soup into a salad: Corn Chowder Salad #vegan #recipe

I am sharing this with this month’s Credit Crunch Munch.

Corn Chowder Salad
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

2 tbsp magic vegan bacon grease (or coconut oil)
1 lb potatoes, chopped into 1 cm chunks (I used a combination of coloured fingerling potatoes)
1 small onion, thinly sliced
2 bell peppers, chopped into 1 cm chunks (I used red and yellow pepper)
4 sun-dried tomatoes, thinly sliced
4 large ears of corn, kernels removed (Rob grilled these in advance, optional)
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 Aleppo chile flakes, or to taste
salt and mesquite seasoning to taste

1. In a large frying pan over medium heat, heat vegan bacon grease or coconut oil. Once hot, add potatoes and cook until they are brown and almost tender, stirring occasionally, around 5-10 minutes, depending on the size of your potatoes.

2. Stir in the onion and saute for 4 minutes more, until translucent and softened. Stir in the bell peppers and sun-dried tomatoes. Continue to cook another 5 minutes until all the vegetables are cooked. Stir in the corn kernels and heat through, another 3 minutes. Remove from heat and pour the apple cider vinegar overtop and season with the chile flakes and mesquite seasoning. Consider adding liquid smoke if only using coconut oil. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serves 6.

Corn Chowder Salad @ the taste space

  1. Janet! I think that YOU are the cutest!!

  2. Yay for corn chowder! We must be chowder twins, because I just made a giant vat of chowder myself. Using the ingredients to make salad is such a great idea! Now I need to get my hands on even more corn before it leaves the market…🙂

  3. Yum! This salad looks so fresh and tasty. I love corn chowder so I’m pinning this recipe to make soon!

  4. I love corn, but always put in on the side of a salad – this looks so tasty and love how you combined it with all the other veggies, delicious!

    theglowwithin.com

  5. First – Cool salad! I like the idea of turning soup into salad. And Second – Magic Vegan Baking Grease!! What? Really cool! I’m not a vegan, but I forwarded it to my vegetarian friend!

  6. Magic vegan bacon grease? Intriguing! I think I once had something with that in it, although I’ve never seen the grease for sale on it’s own.
    The chowder salad sounds great! I love the look of the cute purple potatoes – what a confetti of colour =)

  7. You really do make the most magical plant based dishes – I adore how bright and vibrant this is. Thanks for sharing with #creditcrunchmunch

  8. […] Corn Chowder Salad from The Taste Space: […]

  9. Spotted this chowder on #creditcrunchmunch and I love the riot of colour! So tempting! I’m not sure if we have the bacon grease or liquid smoke here in the UK, but am sure I can find coconut oil. This chowder looks like the perfect complement to our Indian summer🙂

    Stephanie Jane

What do you think?

