janet @ the taste space

Heirloom Tomato and Beet Panzanella + Food52 Vegan cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Salads on September 24, 2015 at 7:00 AM

Heirloom Tomato and Golden Beet Panzanella

This summer other than learn how to barbecue (which was mostly Rob’s domain), I definitely increased my side salad repertoire. Potato salads a plenty, as the produce shifted, I worked with my abundance of tomatoes. Along with an abundance of fresh basil, this was a simple end of summer salad. Toasted bread defines this as a Tuscan bread and tomato salad, aka panzanella.

Heirloom Tomato and Golden Beet Panzanella + Food52 Vegan GIVEAWAY

A warming twist with the addition of roasted beets accented by salty fried capers (one of my favourite culinary discoveries last year!) and roasted chickpeas (my addition). I contemplated substituting the bread with the chickpeas, but since we actually had some bread, I included them both. The toasted bread sopped up the red juices wonderfully.

Food52 Vegan GIVEAWAY

The recipe comes from Gena Hamshaw’s new cookbook, Food52 Vegana hardcopy spin off her The New Veganism column. The premise of her column, and cookbook, was to celebrate vibrant recipes that happened to be vegan. Foods that don’t scream “healthy!” but are nourishing while focusing on whole plant-based foods.

The recipes are approachable and will appeal to people who are not vegan. The recipes are a mix of classics and modern adaptations. Want a Five Minute No-Bake Granola Bar? Or the Perfect Pumpkin Pie for a traditional Thanksgiving meal? Gena has you covered.  There are simple recipes like Roasted Ratatouille with chickpeas and most complex meals like a Carrot and Fennel Pot Pie.  Whereas the Jamaican Jerk Chili with Quinoa and Kidney Beans is a fun twist on chili. Unlike Gena’s first cookbook, there is no particular focus on raw foods and the recipes seem a bit more grown up. Although that last point may be debatable with recipes for Butternut Mac and Cheese recipe and Lentil Sloppy Joes.

Lastly it behooves me to mention the stellar photography by James Ransom which is always a wonderful addition to a cookbook.

Heirloom Tomato and Golden Beet Panzanella + Food52 Vegan GIVEAWAY

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the US or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite salad. What do you put in it? The winner will be selected at random on October 4, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes shared from Food52 Vegan elsewhere:

Breakfast Tostadas with Refried Black Beans and Cabbage Slaw

Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese

Cauliflower and Oyster Mushrooms Tacos

Chocolate Layer Cake

Cucumber Soup with Mango Salsa

Ginger Carrot Bisque Recipe

Go-To Pumpkin Pancakes

Kale Salad with Kabocha Squash and a Maple-Dijon Dressing

Socca with Garlicky Greens + Lentil Walnut Crumble

Sweet Potato and Kale Stew with Kale

Heirloom Tomato and Golden Beet Panzanella + Food52 Vegan GIVEAWAY

I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Heirloom Tomato and Golden Beet Panzanella

6 tablespoons (90 ml) olive oil
2 heaping tablespoons capers, patted dry with a paper towel
1 small whole wheat sourdough boule, cut into 1-inch (2.5 cm) cubes (5 to 6 cups/1.2 to 1.4L)
12 ounces (340 g) beets, peeled and sliced about 1⁄2 inch (1.3 cm) thick (4 medium or 3 large beets) (note: the recipe called for golden beets, but I used red ones)
Salt
4 (heirloom) tomatoes, cut into 1-inch (2.5 cm) chunks
Pepper
1/4 cup (10 g) thinly sliced fresh basil
1 cup chickpeas, roasted (as seen here, but without the vinegar) (note: Janet’s addition, optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C).

2. Heat 3 tablespoons of the olive oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add the capers and cook, stirring occasionally, until very crispy but not burnt, about 2 minutes. Remove the capers from heat and set aside.

3. Spread the bread cubes evenly on two rimmed baking sheets and bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until brown and crispy, stirring halfway through.

4. Increase the oven temperature to 400°F (200°C) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

5. Arrange the beet slices on the lined baking sheet and use about 2 tablespoons of the olive oil to brush them evenly on both sides. Sprinkle with a bit of salt. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, until tender and just browning at the edges. Let cool to room temperature.

6. Put the tomatoes and beets in a large bowl. Drizzle with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil and season with salt, and pepper. Add the capers, bread cubes, and basil and gently toss until evenly combined. Taste and adjust the seasonings if desired. Serve cold or at room temperature. Stored in a covered container in the fridge, any leftovers will keep for 1 day.

Serves 4.

Reprinted with permission from Food52 Vegan, by Gena Hamshaw, copyright © 2015, published by Ten Speed Press, an imprint of PenguinRandom House LLC. Photographs copyright © 2015 by James Ransom.

  1. My favorite salad has to be a baby spinach salad with dried cranberries and toasted nuts topped with a creamy type of dressing. I make it often for company and vary the fruit and nuts. It is always well received.

  2. My favorite salad is a pomegrante, butternut squash, kale, lemon,salad with a champagne pear dressing..I would love to get a copy of Gena’s book!

  3. When I was able to eat lettuce, my favourite salad was a mix of greens topped with caramelized spicy pecans, blue cheese and pear. Now, I love bean and pecan vegan salad with a bit of onion and parsley

  4. looks amazing! My favourite salads always have local ingredients when possible – I love adding beets, grains (such as millet or couscous) and always a homemade dressing!

  5. Your pictures make this panzanella look amazing! Also, I love your addition of roasted chickpeas – great idea!
    The fun with salad is that we can create a new favorite all the time: they’re so versatile! That said, I’m partial to a good lentil salad (du Puy lentils are perfect for that), with quinoa, plenty of vegetables, and a tasty mustard dressing: it’s delicious, and makes for a fabulous meal.

  6. My favourite salad is taco salad with avocado, salsa, tortilla chips, black beans, corn, and romaine lettuce. I love Gena’s blog so I’m sure I’ll love this book!

  7. I’m a coleslaw girl, whether mayo or vinegar-based. I like to add shredded broccoli stems and carrots to the cabbage.

  8. I like to make a lemony cauliflower salad – it has lemon slices, cauliflower florets, chopped tomatoes, olives, and parsley! It’s refreshing salad that’s perfect for summer.

  9. Arugula, shredded carrots, red onions, pumpkin seeds salad with tahini-hemp dressing (tahini, hemp seeds, garlic, honey, lemon juice, water) topped with grilled salmon! Your picture looks amazing. Love Gena’s work.

  10. This salad looks fantastic! My favorite is one I discovered last year, a winter panzanella made with butternut squash, kale, balsamic vinaigrette, and cranberries. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it!

  11. What a lovely review of Gena’s new book! I agree that although this one is different from her last book in that there isn’t much focus on raw, the recipes are still wonderful and approachable.

    You know, I’m a bit of a salad snob. This time of year, I love mixing raw greens and shredded carrots with roasted veggies like beets and butternut squash, with a nice tangy dressing.

  12. Any green with warmed roasted vegetables on top and some balsamic vinegar.

  13. My favorite salad always includes whatever is in my refrigerator! It is different each time, but always fresh and delicious. Some staples in all of my salads are sunflower seeds, chickpeas, cucumbers, carrots, cooked sweet potatoes, and chopped apples. I love adding seasonal citrus fruit, too! For herbs, I love cilantro or basil. For dressing, always a balsamic based dressing with some delicious olive oil with freshly ground salt and pepper.

    Val

  14. My favorite salad definitely needs to have chickpeas, cucumbers, and almonds! I like all kinds of dressings, but mainly balsamic based. I enjoyed warm salads a lot in the winter too!🙂

  15. I love taco salad or niçoise salad (AfR). But this panzanella looks delightful.
    Chely C.

  16. Panzanella is one of my favorite salads, another is a vegan version of the classic Nicoise.

  17. I am boring; my favourite salad is still massaged kale with chopped cabbage, jicama, carrots and tomatoes, topped with warm beans, brown rice and mushrooms with a dijon/balsamic dressing. Yum every time.

  18. My favourite salad is a grain salad, with whatever is in season at the moment. We tend to use quinoa or wild rice and then add cooked and/or raw vegetables, chopped salad style. I make vinaigrette as needed, with whatever flavours seem to complement the salad components best.

  19. Hmmm…my favorite salad is a delicious vegan kale caesar with tempeh bacon. Thank you for the giveaway!

  20. One of my favorites is a shredded cabbage and carrot salad with a sesame/lime/rice vinegar dressing. I like to add Sriracha and/or chili flakes and top with roasted peanuts.

  21. Thanks for hosting the giveaway; it sounds like an awesome book. Favorite salad; hm, that’s a tough one. I guess it depends on time of year. Right now I’m loving to add shredded fruits, fresh off the trees, to add some sweetness and crisp bite to my salads. This is the first year we’ve gotten any Asian pears from our trees and we are all loving it.

  22. Fave salad — a recent one I’ve made a lot is grated carrot, rice vinegar and toasted sesame seeds. Easy, visual and tasty.
    This new books sounds good.
    Incidentally, thanks for posting about new V cookbooks. I like to request at my local library – and that is how I got to enjoy the Abundanct Diet cookbook. Much appreciated Tastespace🙂

  23. I love a chopped Israeli salad with mint and sumac

  24. My favorite salad is still a rubbed kale salad or what ever salad I’m eating at the moment.

  25. Gracious, this could quickly become a favorite. Right now I would have to say my vegan Caesar salad with a creamy cashew dressing. That sounds like a fine book too.

  26. My favorite salad is potato (with hard boiled egg), though I don’t eat it that often because of how unhealthy it is. lol I should probably find a healthier alternative… There’s gotta be some crunchy ingredients, though! Most of what I taste is the texture.

  27. I love a good taco salad: lettuce, tomatoes, corn, black beans, vegan cheese, tortilla chips, avocado and salsa or hot sauce

  28. spinach with and mushrooms, onions, and red cabbage

  29. my go-to salad has tons of mixed greens, veggies, chickpeas, brown rice, dulse seaweed flakes, basil or dill, and my famous liquid gold dressing, topped with kimchi.

  30. I love salad so there’s no way I can choose, but I LOVE panzanella and this one looks like a good one!

  31. This recipe looks great! I love panzanella. One of my favorite, easy, go-to salads is an Asian-esque salad. I usually do a mix of romaine and spinach and top it with corn, edamame (and/or chickpeas), roasted peppers, carrots, and spicy peanut dressing.

  32. I think that my all time favourite food is salad – they are so versatile! The best tasting ones have lots of greens, some crunchy veggies (cucumber, onion, snap peas, carrots), tomatoes, then some roasted veggies, a protein/grain for some chewiness/heartiness, and of course a delicious dressing to top it off. It is all about different flavours and textures – it is hard to go wrong.

  33. A vegan version of Chinese Chicken salad or another Asian themed salad is my favorite! But Taco Salad is really yummy too!

  34. I’ve always been really partial to Ceasar salads but of course I only eat vegan versions.

  35. The food photography really is gorgeous! Wow.
    I’m so excited about this cookbook =)
    My favourite salad is chickpea salad with mashed chickpeas, vegan mayo, peas, celery, pepper & fresh dill. Mmmm.

  36. Just one favorite? I can’t choose! I do have a super quick, go-to salad and that is romaine lettuce, a diced apple, cubed spicy baked tofu, red onion and a few walnut or pecans, with creamy wasabi dressing.

  37. My fave salad is a vegan Ceasar, Looks like a beautiful book!

  38. Ohhhh…I have sooooooo many salad that I love. It is difficult to only choose one, but I think the vegan ceasar salad from Oh She Glows is my favorite or at least in the top 5. I really enjoy the chickpea crouton in it and I use kale instead of the traditionnal romaine. The vegan parmesan made with hemps seeds is so delicious…miummm !

    Thanks Janet for that wonderful giveaway. You are so generous 😉. Your salad just sound gorgeous. I’ll try it soon since I have lots of tomatoes and beets in my garden. Thanks for sharing.

    And by the way, I think I never mentionned it, but your new look on your blog is just gorgeous. I really like it. Have a nice day.

  39. […] PPS. There is still time to enter the giveaway for Food52 Vegan. […]

  40. My favourite salad is served in a restaurant here in Montreal. It has guacamole, romaine lettuce, red bell peppers, sprouts, red cabbage, beets, and “végé-lox” (vegan smoked salmon made from carrots.
    Thank you for the giveaway, I love Gena’s first book!

  41. I love finely chopped Israeli salad

  42. my favorite salad nowadays is a kale salad with a nice, acidic dressing. i’m all about the dense, starchy toppings–potatoes, lentils. plenty of olive oil and sweet onions. yup. comfort salad is my salad of choice, at least for now.🙂

  43. I have had a lot of yummy salads and pretty much my favourite is the one I am eating at the time. However I wowed a daunting company crowd with a version of tabbouleh made with quinoa, lots of garlic, parsley, black olives, cherry tomatoes and feta. I was fairly new and met a lot of people at the pot luck as everyone wondered what the grain was.
    I also finally found a coleslaw to suit me. It is called St. Hubert’s Slaw; I didn’t realized that St. Hubert was a company but the hot dressing was key. I have since used that dressing on many romaine salads.

  44. Hi! Looks like tasty recipes! My fave salad is a quite simple one, vaguely middle eastern. It is almost like a fresh salsa to me. Whats in there is fresh raw tomatos, cut in small chunks, diced cucumbers, red onion diced and dill pickles, cut fine (they are what make this salad sing). You can also put a splash of lemon juice or some sumac powder. Look forward to hearing about everyone elses salads! Good luck all.

What do you think?

