janet @ the taste space

Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing + Cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads on October 1, 2015 at 6:51 AM

Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing

I am holding onto summer as long as possible.

Our last trip to the farmer’s market had us splitting a basket of summer peaches with our friend. We sampled the offerings and found the stall that had the ripest, juiciest peaces. It was the stall we had been purchasing from all summer long.

Just as I am keeping up with the salads as we roll into October.

Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing

And while this noodle salad appears to be summer inspired, it is composed with plenty of root veggies available year round. Beets, carrots and jicama (if you can find it) along with crispy cucumbers. I also added zucchini, my favourite vegetable to turn into a noodle.

The recipe may seem familiar, at least it did to me, reminiscent of the Tangled Thai Salad from Toronto’s chain of Fresh restaurants. The dressing is a bit different but still peanut-lime at its core. I embellished the salad with elements from Fresh’s salad topper (puffed quinoa, goji berries, currants) more as an homage to the recipes roots, than out of necessity. The salad is fresh and vibrant and literally bursting with vegetables. You will likely need extra dressing as your vegetables become such voluminous noodles.

Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing

The recipes comes from 150 Best Spiralizer Recipes. While not a vegan cookbook, it is very vegan friendly. The recipes are broken down into gluten-free recipes, paleo recipes, vegan/vegetarian recipes and raw recipes. This means you can focus on a specific area, and ignore the rest that do not interest you. However, if you care to substitute your favourite plant-based protein (beans, tofu, etc), the paleo recipes would also be very accessible.

150 Best Spiralizer Recipes

Beyond salads, there are soups, main dishes and even desserts. I can’t wait to try some of the recipes like Bountiful Thai Tofu with Peanut Sauce, Kung Pao Tofu and Zoodles, Kohlrabi Slaw, Lettuce Wraps with Pineapple, Curly Jicama and Water Chestnuts and Carrot Pasta with Coconut Lime Dressing. I also would like to veganize the Southern-Style Bourbon Chicken and Sweet Potatoes. I think chickpeas could work well.

Tangled Thai Salad

I like how the recipes suggest less common vegetables to be used in the spiralizer: turnip, plantain, butternut squash, kohlrabi and daikon while still including more common vegetables/fruits like apple, carrot, beet and zucchini. I look forward to becoming more creative in the kitchen.
Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the US or Canada. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite fruit or vegetable to spiralize. How do you use it? The winner will be selected at random on October 14, 2015. Good luck!

Tangled Thai Salad with a Lime Peanut Dressing

PS. I am sharing this with No Croutons Required, Vegetable Palette (for orange), Pasta Please for seasonal vegetables and Extra Veg.

PPS. There is still time to enter the giveaway for Food52 Vegan.

Twisted Thai Salad with Peanut Lime Dressing

Author’s note: A bounty of vegetables is topped by a sassy peanut lime dressing that will awaken your taste buds.

Food processor or blender

3 carrots, peeled and ends cut flat
3 yellow beets, peeled and ends cut flat
1 jicama, peeled and ends cut flat
1 small cucumber, ends cut flat
1/2 small head green cabbage, outer leaves peeled and ends cut flat
1 clove garlic, coarsely chopped
5 tbsp peanuts, divided
1/4 cup peanut oil
1 1/2 tsp peanut butter
1 tsp liquid honey (I substituted maple syrup)
1 tsp tamari or soy sauce
Grated zest and juice of 2 limes
3 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
Janet’s addition: puffed quinoa, dried goji berries, dried currants and chopped hazelnuts, for garnish (as homage to the Fresh inspiration, optional)

1. Using a spiralizer, cut carrots, beets and jicama into thin strands. Pat jicama strands dry. Cut cucumber and cabbage into wide ribbons. Pat cucumber ribbons dry. Trim all strands and ribbons to 4-inch (10 cm) lengths. Toss together in a large serving bowl.

2. In food processor, combine garlic, 3 tbsp (45 mL) peanuts, peanut oil, peanut butter, honey, tamari, lime zest and lime juice; process until almost smooth and only a few chunks remain.

3. Drizzle dressing on top of salad. Garnish with cilantro and the remaining peanuts.

Tips

When spiralizing, you always end up with a little bit of vegetable or fruit that is too small to spiralize. I use these pieces to taste-test my dressing before adding it to the salad.

The dressing doubles easily and can be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 3 days. It’s delicious on a variety of salads or as a dipping sauce for tofu satay.

Serves 6-8 as a side.

Courtesy of 150 Best Spiralizer Recipes by Marilyn Haugen & Jennifer Williams © 2015 www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with publisher permission. Available where books are sold.

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

  1. My favorite veggie,although boring, is the zucchini because I love using pesto or marinara sauce for a quickie and easy supper..

  2. I love spiralizing heirloom carrots because it can add such a vibrant splash of colour to dishes.

  3. Of course zucchini is the old stand by, but the different ingredients in this book sound exciting

  4. My favorite is zucchini. I would love to make some tasty pasta with zucchini.

  5. I’eve never thought to spiralize jicama! Can’t wait to try that out. It’ still hot as hell here, so we are loving raw/cooling meals.

  6. Choose me Choose me!!!
    I have a spiralizer that hasn’t made it out of the box since our recent move. This post highly motives me to rescue it from the piles in the basement🙂
    Such neat ideas of veggies to elongate into palateable strings — squash sounds great.
    Please choose me to win🙂

  7. I think I’d try making zucchini noodles and toss them with pesto.

  8. Spiralized eggplant for a summer version of eggplant parm I have slowly created =)

  9. Although I really love carrot noodles with tomato sauce my family prefers spiralized cucumbers as salad.

  10. Sweet potato!🙂

  11. Thanks for this wonderful giveaway Janet. Zucchini is my favorite vegetable to spiralize. However, I really enjoy all kind of veggie, such as beetroots, carrots, sweet potatoes, buternut squash and daikon.

  12. My favorite vegetable to spiralize has to be zucchini because it is the only vegetable I have ever tried to make noodles from. Although, since I am starting to eat more plant-based meals, I would love to try more spiralized variations other than just zoodles🙂

  13. I have only just got a spiralizer, certainly going to try this one with my last two courgettes!
    Thanks for sharing with #ExtraVeg

  14. Wow this looks delicious. A great way of using a spiralizer! Thanks for sharing with #PastaPlease this month🙂

  15. Eggplant and zucchini are awesome and easy for me to accomplish a delicious meal. I recently tried rutabaga and actually liked it.

  16. This sounds great – the flavours in that salad sound fantastic! Thanks for entering #ExtraVeg

  17. […] tangled thai salad from Taste Space may look summery but is actually made with lots of seasonal root […]

What do you think?

