janet @ the taste space

Reuben Collard Wrap with Sauerkraut, Caramelized Onions, Caraway Tempeh and Raw Thousand Island Dressing

In Mains (Vegetarian) on October 8, 2015 at 7:11 AM

I grew collards this year. Initially, the brassica loving bugs ate the leaves mercilessly. And quickly, too, I might add: within a week of planting. You can see the moth-eaten appearance below. I had to take drastic measures otherwise I knew I would have zero leaves for myself.

I made a simple solution of water, detergent and rubbing alcohol (recipe here) and sprayed my collard plants. The next day, the leaves were all shrivelled and covered in a white substance. At that point, I remembered I used ultra concentrated detergent and worried I had killed my plants altogether. A few weeks later, though, there were new leaves and new growth. And no evidence of any more bugs. Success!

A hardy green leafy plant, they will still be good into the fall, even after the first frost. Nice!

sad collards with bugs

Pardon my sub-par photos of the wraps. I have a hard time making wraps and sandwiches pretty.

What this loses in looks, it makes up for in deliciousness.

Caraway Tempeh is the bulk of the sandwich but it is smothered in caramelized onions and sauerkraut, slathered with a creamy raw Thousand Island dressing and then wrapped in a collard leaf or two.

Vegan reuben concoctions always impress me because they taste infinitely better than the non-vegan versions. I never craved Reubens when I was an omnivore, but now I love to order it when I go to restaurants. This recipe has been loving them in my home. Enjoy!

I am sharing this with Credit Crunch Munch (main page here) and Meat Free Mondays.

Reuben Collard Wrap with Sauerkraut, Caramelized Onions, Caraway Tempeh and Raw Thousand Island Dressing

1-2 collard leaves
1/4 cup Raw Thousand Island Dressing (recipe here)
1/4 recipe Caraway Tempeh (see below)
2-3 tbsp caramelized onions (see recipe here)
1/4 cup sauerkraut

1. If you have not made any ingredients yet, start with the caramelized onions, then the tempeh and finally the dressing. If you are making your own sauerkraut, you need to plan a few weeks in advance.😉

2. When ready to assemble, de-stem the collard leaf. Layer dressing in the middle, top with caraway tempeh, caramelized onions and sauerkraut.

2. Wrap and eat!

Serves 1.

Caraway Tempeh
Adapted from Post Punk Kitchen

1 lb tempeh (one package)
1 large yellow onion, chopped
pinch salt
1 tsp caraway seeds
4 cloves garlic, minced
Fresh black pepper
2 tbsp tamari, liquid aminos or soy sauce
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (from 1/2 a lemon)

1. Start by steaming your tempeh. Place the tempeh in a microwave-safe dish with half a cup of water. Cover it with a lid and microwave on high for 5-6 minutes. Drain any excess water. Break into bite-sized pieces once cooled.

2. Meanwhile, prepare your tempeh filling. In a large nonstick frypan over medium heat, add onions and saute for 7 minutes, until softened. Sprinkle with salt. Add the caraway, garlic and fresh pepper, to taste. Stir and saute for 1 minute.

3. Add the tempeh and saute for 10 minutes, until nicely browned. Keep the pieces bite sized, but if they crumble, that is ok, too. Sprinkle with tamari and lemon juice, deglazing any brown bits on the bottom. Add salt to taste.

Makes 1 cup.

  1. This sounds so tasty and fresh! Thanks for a great entry to #CreditCrunchMunch:-)

  2. I once made tempeh many moons ago, I don’t think I have had it since, which is a shame as it is delicious. Thanks for sharing with #CreditCrunchMunch

  3. […] Reuben Collard Wrap with Sauerkraut, Caramelized Onions, Caraway Tempeh and Raw Thousand Island Dres…from The Veg Space wins the longest recipe title in this round-up and what a fabulous array of flavours to tickle the tastebuds! […]

What do you think?

