janet @ the taste space

British-Style Baked Beans

In Sides on October 10, 2015 at 9:26 AM

British-Style Baked BeansSomehow (Canadian) Thanksgiving snuck up on me this year. With the recent balmy weather and let’s be honest, no events that necessitate bringing a Thanksgiving dish this year, it has barely crossed my mind. All of a sudden a long weekend is upon us as we scramble to do all.the.things over the next few days.

Still thankful? Absolutely.

British-Style Baked Beans

This tomato-heavy baked bean recipe is actually not baked at all, using the stovetop to keep an easy eye on the pot of simmering beans. Enjoy your saucy beans all week and if you really want to eat them British-style. use them to smother a piece of crisp toast.

What is your favourite way to eat baked beans?

Other versions of baked beans shared previously:

Stovetop Apple Baked Beans

Mango BBQ Beans

Slow-Cooked Nova Scotian Baked Beans

Greek Baked Beans (Gigantes Plaki)

Baked White Beans with Roasted Garlic, Lemon and Herbs

British-Style Baked Beans

I am sharing this with Meat Free Mondays.

British-Style Baked Beans
Inspired by Deliciously Ella

2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
28 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 date, pitted and chopped
1 tsp dried thyme
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 cups cooked pinto beans
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce (use a vegan version) — not a classic ingredient but tastes great!
salt and pepper, to taste

1. In a large skillet, over medium heat, heat the garlic, crushed tomatoes, date and thyme. Raise to high and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

2. Add tomato paste, beans and Worcestershire sauce and cook for another 10 minutes, until warmed through as well as thick and saucy. Season with salt and pepper.

Serves 6.

  1. Thanksgiving sure sneaks up on us in this country, doesn’t it? One minute we are cottaging and the next we are hauling out the 15 pound turkeys and mashing potatoes. I don’t remember it being this way when I was a kid, but that’s probably because I didn’t have the worry of cooking, shopping, entertaining, etc. — I just showed up on the day of🙂.

  2. I usually post after I try something but I have only heard about British Style baked beans on toast as part of jokes or head shaking stories about weird English foods. I actually tried Heinz baked beans before on toast and really didn’t get it. My kids insisted after they went on a school trip over there and talked about the different breakfasts a lot. However, this recipe looks interesting so I may try it out. As far as how do I eat them? Off a plate or out of a bowl with a spoon. We are pretty boring that way.

    • I grew up with British-style baked beans and it is funny you mention seeing it when travelling. When we went to Iceland, there was a massive spread for breakfast at the hotel and it included baked beans as well. I was quite happy eating that for breakfast.🙂

  3. Mmmm I love baked beans, but rarely make them. I’ll have to give these a shot. I actually quite enjoy my toast smothered with baked beans =)

  4. I’m going to make these for breakfast this week. What should the second half of step 1 say?

  5. I didn’t know there was such a thing as British baked beans. But I live outside Boston so that’s the only kind of baked beans ppl talk abt here. Gotta try the British style! Thanks for sharing🙂

What do you think?

