janet @ the taste space

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce For Canning & The Canning Kitchen cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Desserts on October 15, 2015 at 6:50 AM

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce For Canning

Guys, I have been holding out on you. This summer, I learned how to can. You need not be scared, you can do it, too! I stumbled upon Amy Bronee’s cute cookbook The Canning Kitchen, and I was hooked. An almost accidentally vegan cookbook, her recipes are for small batch canning: perfect for a small family and nothing too overwhelming.

I started with the Crunchy Dill Pickles. Nearly as simple as pouring hot brine over fresh cucumbers with a water canning process, it was easy and I was hooked. It was so hard to wait 3 weeks before chomping through them. I actually made three batches as I obtained cucumbers throughout the season. Next was the apple butter that was not too thick but sweet and syrupy with a hint of spice. It was amazing to see all the apples condense to such a small amount. These were super easy recipes and gave me the confidence to try something a bit more complex, such as the Peach BBQ Sauce. Only a tad more complex because I had to skin the tomatoes and peaches but otherwise, it was as simple as simmering them and then blending it into a sauce.

The sheer diversity of the recipes, from Beer-Hive Grainy Mustard to Chipotle Cherry Tomato Relish and Peach Chutney with Garam Masala and more classic canning recipes like Peach JamBlueberry Sauce and Bread and Butter Pickles makes this a book great for beginners and novices, alike. The small batch recipes means that you are not a slave to your kitchen for a monumental canning expedition and could make something simple with a few hours to spare. And, of course, allows you to try out many different recipes without overfilling your pantry.🙂

The Canning Kitchen cookbook GIVEAWAY

While I am sharing the recipe for canning Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce today, I urge you to find a copy of her cookbook. If there is one recipe you must follow exactly, it would be canning recipes. Improper canning techniques can kill you. Botulism is nothing to ignore. The biggest outbreak of botulism in the USA for over 40 years happened earlier this year in Ohio following a church potluck when someone brought a potato salad made with potatoes canned in a water bath. One person died.

Low acid vegetables should not be canned with a water bath but recipes with high acidity with addition of vinegar or high acid fruits/vegetables such as apples and tomatoes are excellent.

A note about the recipe, the applesauce was delicious. A bit tedious because we had to core and peel the apples in advance but our random mixture of Ginger Gold, Paula Red and Northern Spy made for a delectably sweet applesauce without any extra sugar. A mix of apples allows a ore robust and deeper flavour. If fussy kids are any barometer for yumminess, my 1 year old niece loved it.😉

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce For Canning & The Canning Kitchen cookbook GIVEAWAY

It is also worthwhile investing in a jar lifter (I liked this one from Starfrit) and a metal canning rack (this is the one I used) so that the jars are not at the bottom of your pot. I also borrowed a super large pot from my mom so that I could maintain a 1-inch of water on top of the jars.

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in North America. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me whether you have canned before and what you like to can or if not, what you would like to can. The winner will be selected at random on October 29, 2015. Good luck!

Recipes from The Canning Kitchen shared elsewhere:

Setting Up a Canning Kitchen

Blueberry Orange Marmalade

Crunchy Dill Pickles

Raspberry Cocoa Jam

Red Pepper Jelly

Salted Caramel Pear Butter

Southwest Corn Relish

PS. I am sharing this with this month’s Credit Crunch Munch, this months’s No Waste Food Challenge, and Shop Local.

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce For Canning -- the taste space

Cinnamon Brown Sugar Applesauce
Reprinted from The Canning Kitchen, with permission, from Penguin Random House Canada.

Author’s note: My grandmother used to make me homestyle applesauce with brown sugar and cinnamon, and it was better than any candy childhood had to offer. Enjoy this sauce in packed lunches, use in baking or grab a spoon and enjoy straight from the jar when no one’s looking.

8 lb (3.5 kg) saucing apples, such as McIntosh, Spartan or Golden Delicious (I used Ginger Gold, Paula Red and Northern Spy — a mix of apples is key for a better depth of flavour)
1 ½ cups (375 mL) water
½ cup (125 mL) brown sugar (see tip below, I omitted)
2 ½ tsp (12 mL) cinnamon

1. Remove and discard the apple peels and cores. Coarsely chop the apples, adding them to a large, heavy-bottomed pot. Pour in the water. Bring to a boil over high heat. Lower the heat to medium and cook, covered and stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes or until the apples are fully broken down. Remove from the heat. Smooth the sauce with a masher, if desired. Stir in the brown sugar and cinnamon.

2. Ladle into 5 clean 500 mL (2 cup) jars, leaving a ½ inch (1 cm) headspace. Process in a boiling water bath canner for 15 minutes using the Processing Checklist on page 17.

MAKES FIVE 500 ML (2 CUP) JARS

TIP: If you like your applesauce less sweet, reduce or even leave out the brown sugar. Or, if you like it more sweet, add a little extra. This applesauce is a handy top-up when you’re a little short on mashed banana when making muffins or banana bread.

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

  1. i’ve never canned anything before, but i’ve always wanted to try!! i would love to try canning home made jams!

  2. I love canning! I do my own tomato sauce and salsas all the time.

  3. I have never tried canning before, but would be interested in making my own salsas, jams, and tomato sauces. Oh and pickles!

  4. This cookbook sounds lovely! I’ve always wanted to try my hand at making condiments & relishes, but I have not gone there yet. Sounds like this lady has it down pat.

    When I make apple butter I just cut the apples off the core, drop in my crock pot with a little apple juice and cinnamon-allspice-cloves. Simmer until thoroughly softened, then blend the resulting mixture. The pectin in the apple skin helps it thicken, as well as gaining all those lovely minerals which are in the skins.

  5. I’ve canned a couple times in the last 5 years; love it but always looking for really great recipes!

  6. I’ve never canned but would love to try — pickles!

  7. I love canning. My most recent creations were candied jalapeños and dill pickle relish.

  8. That sounds like a fantastic book! Small batches would be perfect for the two of us, and we can always double them if ever we wanted to have extra jars to give as gifts…
    I don’t have much experience canning: I’ve only done it once with a friend, we did a batch of crab apple jelly that turned out amazing. I’d like to do more canning, and I’d really appreciate having guidance from such a book, so that I can make sure to really get the important info and not put anyone in danger with my experiments!

  9. This book sounds great! Small batches would be perfect for the two of us, and we can easily double them if we want extra jars to give as gifts.
    I don’t have much experience with canning: I’ve only done it once with a friend, and our batch of crab apple jelly turned out amazing! I’d love to do more canning, and would appreciate the guidance provided by such a book, so that I can make sure I get all the necessary info and not put anyone in danger with my experiments!

  10. I’ve only done small batch canning of fruit preserves and candied jalapenos (yum!) I’d love to branch out my canning efforts.

  11. Thanks a thousand times Janet for that giveaway. I’m also a novice in canning and desperetaly search for approved vegan recipes to can…and in small batch too. So, that book is just perfect for me. Yeahhhh…! Thanks, thanks and good luck to me 😉

    I canned tomatoes, salsas, carrots, beans and vegan bouillon. However, I would be interested in canning a GOOD vegan spaghetti sauce, some soups and bisque, more consistant and complete meal in a jar, etc. I also have a pressure cooker for the non-acidic things.

  12. i have not canned yet! i have parents who do, and grabdparents as well and i would like to try the family recipe for antipasto. soup and salsa would be desireable “can”didates, too!🙂

  13. What a lovely apple sauce, the addition of cinnamon is fab. Thanks for entering #CreditCrunchMunch;-)

  14. I have not yet canned…I have jarred

  15. I love canning, especially salsa, chutney and spaghetti sauce. I have made apple sauce and apple butter before but not enough to can. This year I made a spiced plum butter that is delicious. My brother just started canning this year. I am sending him this recipe; maybe he will be interested in this book too.

  16. I’ve always loved canning and recently got a pressure canner. Can’t wait to can my own beans.

  17. When I was younger, I hated applesauce, but now that I am older, I absolutely love it!!! Your photos looks soooo tasty🙂

  18. I’ve canned for years with my mother, but what’s exciting for me about the new canning books that are coming out (like this one) is that they get beyond the traditional recipes and have such interesting flavour profiles. There’s always room for more dilly beans, though – the classics are still appreciated!

  19. Oh I love canning and trying new recipes. This year I canned zucchini relish, apple bbq sauce, zucchini salsa, blueberry applesauce and grape jam🙂

  20. I enjoy doing a lot of canning. I like to do jams, tomatoes and salsa the most and would love to try some new recipes.

  21. I love canning blueberries, peppers, and tomatoes.

  22. I have never canned before, but I have been wanting to learn for a few years now. I have just been too intimated to do it. I actually made a goal to learn to can by next Summer! This book sounds like a great resource!

  23. I can like a crazywoman every year! 🙂 Corn, applesauce, tomato sauce, sauerkraut, salsa, pickles…so superior to store bought!

  24. This sounds lovely. Canning/Jarring is such a great way to use up extra fruits and veggies. We have two apple trees so I’ll have to try this out – I think my kids would love it on their yogurt or porridge.
    Thanks for linking up to the No Waste Food Challenge. To enter, you’ll need to also link to http://www.veggiedesserts.co.uk.🙂

  25. I haven’t canned before but would love to since we always have an abundance in the garden.

  26. The Crunchy Dill Pickles & Apple Butter sound the best to me. I don’t particularly like dill pickles, but I think I would like them if I canned them myself. And apple butter. Oh how I love apple butter!!! It’s so good!
    The apple sauce sounds pretty cool too =)
    Thanks so much for sharing this at Healthy Vegan Fridays – I’m pinning this =)

  27. I have canned tomatoes and chutney. This book looks like a great way to branch out!

  28. Oh yesssss, many years of Cannery under my belt. I personally love my mom’s homemade Green Tomato Relish, as a way of using up all those beautiful-but-pea-green tomatoes after the first frost of Fall. Talk about Something from Nothing….

  29. I love that it is small batch recipes, perfect for a couple. I went mad preserving about 5 years ago and we still have a cupboard full, I simply cannot justify making any more!

    Thanks for sharing with #creditcrunchmunch

  30. […] Cinnaomon Brown Sugar Apple Sauce for Canning is another entry from The Taste Space and sounds delicious – the perfect way to preserve those autumn apples. […]

  31. […] my favourite canning book, The Canning Kitchen. But lest canning scare you, you can still make the small batch […]

  32. […] cup vegan shortening 1 cup packed brown sugar 1/3 cup blackstrap molasses 1 tbsp applesauce (I used salted caramel pear butter) 2 cups all-purpose flour 2 tsp baking soda 1/4 tsp ground […]

  33. […] potatoes roasted with Old Bay seasoning, fresh tomatoes, mixed greens and sharp pickles. I used homemade pickles that I made from the recipe in The Canning Kitchen, and man, they have BITE! The creamy cashew dressing, with a touch of said bitey pickle and […]

What do you think?

