janet @ the taste space

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili + Cook the Pantry cookbook GIVEAWAY

In Book Review, Mains (Vegetarian) on October 20, 2015 at 7:33 AM

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili

I don’t know about you, but have you felt more busy since September? There is something about the sun-filled evenings that relaxes me in the summer. Between weekend commitments, a shorter evening and the cooler weather, fall lends well to becoming more productive and prioritizing the important things in life.

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili

One cookbook I have been enjoying lately is Robin Robertson’s latest cookbook Cook the Pantry.  Not only does it feature recipes made with pantry staples but the recipes can all be made in under 20 minutes. No joke.

Cook the Pantry GIVEAWAY

The recipe I am sharing today, the Quick and Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili (aka Everyone’s Favourite Black Bean Chili) was almost too easy to make. No onions to saute, no garlic to chop, you speed things up by using premade salsa. This is simmered with pre-cooked beans and reconstituted soy curls along with a few spices and barbecue sauce.  I skipped the frozen corn since we were out but as chilies are flexible in nature, it wasn’t missed. Quick and easy, I was amazed how fast this weekday meal was prepared. Pick a salsa you like because its flavour will be front and centre.

If you have Robin’s previous book Vegan Unplugged, the recipes may seem familiar but they have been updated with modern ingredients and styles (hello soy curls and coconut flour!). Some of the other recipes I have bookmarked include Chipotle Corn Chowder, Red Bean Chili, Amazing Technicolour Chickpea Salad, Southwest Salmagundi, Texas Caviar Wraps, and Pinto Bean Nacho Pie.

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili

Recipes from Cook the Pantry spotted elsewhere:

Artichoke Muffaletta Po’ Boys

BBQ Jack Sandwiches

Chipotle Corn Chowder

Easy as Chocolate Pie

Giardiniera Mac and Cheese

Spaghetti Lo Mein

Stove Top Peach Blueberry Crumble

Thankfully, the publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in the continental US. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about your favourite pantry-friendly meal. The winner will be selected at random on October 29, 2015. Good luck!

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili

PS. I am sharing this with Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili
Recipe from Cook the Pantry 

Author’s note: This is my go-to chili recipe. If I have cooked lentils on hand, I use them instead of the Soy Curls. You can also add some dark red kidney beans, if you like, to change things up a bit. If using Soy Curls, place them in a heatproof bowl with enough hot water to cover and set aside for 10 minutes to reconstitute.

1 cup reconstituted crumbled Soy Curls or texturized soy protein granules (optional)
2 (15.5-ounce) cans black beans, drained (Janet’s note: I used 2 cups cooked black beans and 2 cups cooked pinto beans)
1 (24-ounce) jar chunky tomato salsa (hot or mild) (Janet’s note: I used 2 cups of this one)
1/4 cup bottled barbecue sauce
2 tbsp chili powder, or to taste
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp ground cumin
Salt and ground black pepper, to taste
1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed (Janet’s note: omitted)
Water, as needed

1. Combine the ingredients (including the reconstituted Soy Curls, if using) in a saucepan, reserving 1/2 cup of the corn. Cover and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until heated through and the flavors are well blended. Add as much water as needed to create a sauce and prevent sticking to the bottom of the pan.

2. Reduce heat to medium and simmer, stirring frequently, until heated through and long enough to cook off any raw taste from the chili powder, about 15 minutes. Garnish with the remaining corn kernels.

Serves 4-6.

© 2015 by Robin Robertson. Photo by Annie Oliverio. Used by permission Vegan Heritage Press LLC.

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

  1. My go to recipe for pantry staples is a simple vegetable soup or pumpkin soup with coconut milk

  2. I love Minestrone soup and Broccoli soup.

  3. I make a stir fry.

  4. Pasta and sauce is easy. Bean or lentil veggie burgers are quick to put together. the list can be endless.

  5. When I’m in a rush, my go-to meal is boil-in-bag brown rice, frozen chopped spinach, a can of pinto beans, and fire-roasted tomatoes (with whatever seasonings I feel like using). I have a pot with a steamer insert that lets me cook the rice and spinach at the same time, so it’s really easy – and it looks gorgeous.

  6. This is an awesome giveaway! Thanks for hosting. When I’m pantry cooking it often involves beans or lentils, quinoa, red or black rice, canned tomatoes, frozen veggies, veggie broth, and whatever herbs/spices sound good that night. Toss together a batch of homemade gluten-free crackers while things simmer and have some happy kids when the soup is ready.

  7. I love Robin Robertson’s cookbooks. This looks like another great one. My favorite pantry meal is pasta!

  8. My family’s favorite pantry meal are burritos. We always have refried beans and tortillas. So we just add what is available to those.

  9. We often have pasta with olive oil and garlic. Quick, easy, and pantry-friendly!

  10. Three bean chili is my go to pantry meal. Thanks for the chance to win a great giveaway!

  11. Funny that the recipe you chose is chili, because that is my answer for my favorite easy from the pantry meal!

  12. My cook from the pantry easy go-to is pasta and sauce… boring, that’s why I need this book!

  13. I usually find ingredients in my pantry (and freezer) to make chili or a bean soup of some kind. I also usually have on hand the ingredients for a cornbread or another quickbread to go with it. Yum!

  14. My favorite pantry meal is either Chili or Stir Fry

  15. My quick and easy pantry meals tend to revolve around pasta and canned beans. I could use some variety!

  16. I’m one of those people who is constantly replenishing my pantry and then never actually using up anything I’ve stocked. My easiest pantry recipe is pasta with marinara. My husband’s marinara recipe uses canned tomatoes, garlic, onion, vegetable stock and dried spices, so it’s very pantry friendly. Curry using jarred curry paste and soy curls is another one that’s easy to throw together.

  17. Chili is actually one of my favorite pantry meals! I usually have various beans and lentils on hand, as well as canned tomatoes and all the necessary spices. Also various bowls with whatever grains I have on hand, and whatever sauces I can throw together.

  18. My go-to is a can of beans (black or chickpea), a can of tomatoes (usually Ro-Tel), rice, and spices. Not the most exciting – so a book like this would be fantastic to have!

  19. Hmmm I think my favourite pantry-friendly meal is spaghetti. We make it every week. So boring ;p
    This chili looks so good! I don’t normally buy pre-made salsa, but tomato season is ending and I just found some yummy stuff at my local grocery store =)

  20. My favorite pantry meal is some kind of soup. It’s easy to clean out the freeze with those extras too. And I always have a can of coconut milk in case I feel like a nice creamy soup.🙂

  21. Oh awesome! I just got a box of dry soy protein because it was on sale but then didn’t know what to do with it haha. Definitely going to make this.

    My fav pantry ready staple is a simple veggie stew. Throw all the veggies in a pot with whatever beans and some veg broth. Perfect and yummy🙂.

  22. I had to hop over from Healthy Vegan Fridays to see your Quick & Easy Pantry Black Bean Chili recipe since I am a big fan of vegan chili. I have made it so many ways but black beans are my favorite! I am delighted to discover Cook the Pantry and look forward to exploring it further. I’m pinning and sharing!

  23. Of course I want to enter to win Cook the Pantry! My favorite pantry-friendly meal is lentil or black bean vegetable soup. I always have dried beans and spices on hand in my pantry.

  24. Thanks so much for the Give-away opportunity. A favorite all-in-one pantry meal of mine these days is ‘Spanish Rice’ — I almost always keep various rice, beans (both canned and dried), tomato sauce (both canned commercial or home-frozen), home-frozen chopped green peppers and celery, frozen corn (commercial and home-frozen), canned black olives and such available in my pantry (or freezer) — plus nowadays I’m keeping homemade nondairy yogurt on hand to use as a sour cream substitute. Delicious!

  25. My favorite pantry staple meal would have to be quick and easy beans and cheese taco roll ups!

What do you think?

