janet @ the taste space

Revolutionary Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAYS

In Book Review, Breakfasts, Favourites on October 24, 2015 at 8:31 AM

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

Tofu scramble does not taste like scrambled eggs. Have you ever thought that?

I imagine it might be an early reaction to a tofu scramble, with the second thought reminding yourself how wonderful it tastes, irregardless. Even my favourite dillicious tofu scramble does not remind me off eggs, unless you like lumpy firm eggs? When I first cooked scrambled soft tofu, I was one step closer to scrambled egg creation. However, while the soft tofu is creamy, silky and fluffy, the problem is that it took much longer to cook.

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

But now, this is revolutionary, guys. Combining firm tofu with a pantry eggy-mix that coats and envelopes the tofu scramble, duplicating the springy/spongy/gummy egg texture. Unlike my powdery egg replacer in My Best Chocolate Cupcakes, this seems like a wonderful pantry-friendly way to revolutionize your vegan scramble. I also hear it is excellent for vegan French toast. Craziness.

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

The recipe is from Nicole and Lisa’s cookbook. A longtime fan of their respective blogs and a hardcore fan of their recipes and baking (I was fortunate to have eaten through many months of their Treat of the Month Club), I knew their cookbook would be awesome. And it is.

The recipes are all for classic and non-classic vegan staples. Vegan versions of sour cream, butter, buttermilk, tomato sauce, and pizza crust. They have you covered.

And then I kept bookmarking more and more recipes:

Canadian Spice Mix (can you guess what’s in it?), Maple-Masala Mustard, Chai Concentrate, Mac & Cheese Sauce Mix, Shake & Bake Herb Breading, Dill Pickle Popcorn Shaker, Chocolate Cake Mix with a Creamy Peanut Butter Frosting, Peppermint Patty Hot Chocolate Pucks, and even Caramelized Chai Popcorn. Diane’s, review, one of the recipe testers, makes me want to try even more recipes!

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

I like that a lot of the recipes can be made in advance and used in many different ways. This savoury egg mix can be used for tofu scrambled and French toast. Tofu scrambles, inherently all benefitting from an eggy texture, can be prepared with a variety of flavours. Mine pictured here was with tomato, red pepper, chopped enoki mushrooms, and onions with firm tofu.

In fact, this cookbook would be a delight to receive prior to the holidays so you could gift pantry-stable and easily accessible foodie gifts like chocolate cake mix, oatmeal raisin cookies or peppermint hot chocolate.

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

Thankfully, I have a few prizes available to readers.

  1. The publisher allowed me to giveaway the cookbook to a reader living in Canada or the US. To be entered in the random draw for the book, please leave a comment below telling me about a kitchen staple you make from scratch. The winner will be selected at random on November 9, 2015. Good luck!
  2. Authors Nicole and Lisa want to share two of their most ­loved kitchen appliances with you! Use the box below to enter to win a Blendtec blender or Breville food processor. The giveaway is open to US and Canadian residents* only and will run until 12:00 a.m. EST on December 9, 2015. One US and one Canadian winner will be chosen. Good luck!

If the picture doesn’t show up for you, please click on this link.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget­prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Prize One: Blendtec Designer 725 Series Blender ($650 value) is a sleek, top ­of ­the line kitchen appliance that will meet all your blending needs! Features SmartBlend technology, multi­-speed pulse, and a 100-­speed touch slider for precision control. *Shipping qualification apply. One US resident will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter.

Prize Two: Breville Sous Chef 12 Plus Food Processor ($500 value) boasts power and versatility in a more compact size! This 12-­cup food processor comes fully equipped with an additional accessory kit to simplify a wide range of kitchen tasks. *Shipping qualifications apply. One Canadian resident will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter.

Recipes from DIY Vegan spotted elsewhere:

Cereal Bars

Chocolate Fudge Tart Filling

Cinnamon Toast Cereal

Coconut Bacon Bits

Coconut Peanut Butter

Vegan Mozzarella

Peanut Butter Cup Popcorn

Pumpkin Pie Spice Mix

Shake and Bake Herb Breading

Sweet Ginger Stir-Fry Sauce

Savoury Egg Mix + DIY Vegan Cookbook GIVEAWAY

Savoury Egg Mix
Reprinted from DIY Vegan. Copyright © 2015 Nicole Axworthy and Lisa Pitman. Published by St. Martin’s Griffin.

Author’s note: Here’s a secret we’re excited to share: a savory egg mix that will transform your tofu scramble, French toast, and quiches. The black salt will give your dishes that distinct eggy smell and taste. We’ve balanced it out with a healthy helping of nutritional yeast and a blend of starches to mimic eggs’ binding ability. Breakfast will never be the same.

1 cup nutritional yeast flakes
1/2 cup potato starch (not potato flour)
6 tablespoons tapioca starch
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black salt (kala namak)
Pinch of turmeric powder

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together all the ingredients. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 6 months.

Makes about 2 cups

TRY THIS:

Make an amazing tofu scramble:

In a saucepan, heat 2 teaspoons olive oil over medium heat, then add ½ onion, minced, ½ cup chopped mushrooms, ¼ cup chopped tomatoes, and 1 cup crumbled firm tofu and sauté. Whisk together 2 tablespoons Savory Egg Mix with 2 tablespoons water. Once the tofu scramble is cooked, add the egg mixture and cook until warmed through and all the liquid has been absorbed. Use up your leftover scramble to make a mind-blowing breakfast burrito, with spicy black beans, salsa, and slices of avocado.

Make French toast for two:

In a blender, combine 1 cup almond milk, 2 tablespoons Savory Egg Mix, 1 tablespoon chia seeds, and ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon. Blend on high speed until the chia seeds are broken down, about 1 minute. Pour the mixture into a large, shallow bowl. Add a slice of bread to the bowl, cover it with the mixture, and flip it over to cover the other side. Allow it to soak while you heat up a cast-iron pan or skillet (brushed with coconut oil) over high heat. You’ll know the pan is hot enough when you drop some water on the surface and it sizzles. Reduce heat to medium. Place soaked bread on the pan and cook, covered, for about 5 minutes, or until browned and no longer sticking to the pan. Flip and cook on the other side. While it is cooking, place another dry slice of bread in the bowl to soak. Repeat the process with another 2 or 3 slices of bread or until the liquid mixture is used up. Serve with maple syrup.

* All cookbook photos are credited to Nicole Axworthy.

Note: I was given a copy of the cookbook from the publisher.  I was under no obligation to share a review. The opinions expressed are entirely my own.

  1. I make lots of things from scratch so I can control the ingredients. This cookbook sounds like an awesome way to hugely increase my repertoire and thereby my meal choices. Thanks for hosting!

    • Oops, forgot to actually name one. Apple sauce, for instance. I can it in autumn when apples are fresh from the orchards.

  2. It is a pity the Blendtec and Breville giveaways are only open to social media users.I would’ve enjoyed having a chance to win one of those prizes, too.

  3. I’ve just recently started making my own cashew nondairy yogurt (from scratch w/soymilk and cashews) — since the arrival of my new Instant Pot. The yogurt is so handy to have on hand — for baking (lots of recipes call for a quarter cup of yogurt, for example), but also for recipes calling for sour cream, cream cheese, buttermilk and that sort of thing. Last night I just used it as ‘straight up’ yogurt, to accompany a falafel/tabouli/hummus/pita meal I prepared (all from scratch). In any case, thanks so much for the give-away opportunity….!

  4. I always prefer ho-made to store-bought. This is right up my alley, Having the scrambled “eggs” tomorrow.

  5. I make so many staples from scratch! Nut milks, hummus, nut yogurts, sauces… It takes time, but it’s very satisfying.

  6. I make vegan sour cream and parmesan (AKA cheesy sprinkle) on a regular basis. I also make my own oil-free salad dressings. I want to start making my own mustards because I use SO much!

  7. I make a lot of nut / coconut milk and spreads. I also make sauces like teriyaki from scratch at hom

  8. I make most of my meals from scratch, however not my staples.I count on the recipes shared by wonderful bloggers like you and the fantastic cookbooks that people with a bit more imagination than me come up with.🙂

  9. I make pancake mix by the batch , vanilla extract , almond milk, coconut butter, soy milk, tofu ( which I would make more often if it froze better) spaghetti sauce and brownies which are considered staples in my books🙂

  10. Wow…what a nice giveaway. Thanks for everything. I like to make many staples on my own. For example, my own gluten-free bread, all my dressing for any kind of salad, sauces like bbq and teriyaki one, nut milk, all kind of spread, dehydrated tomatoes, fresh juice, my mayo, my mustard and so on.

  11. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’ll definitely try it soon . Yummmm…!😉

  12. I like the sound of the scrambled egg powder and am definitely going to try it. I make my own cashew/soy yogurt every week and also a handful of vegan cheeses/cheesy sauces. Recently, I’ve been getting into home ferments too…sauerkraut and kimchi mostly.

  13. I make soy yogurt & coconut yogurt from scratch! So easy with probiotic capsules🙂

  14. ohhh I so wanna win this. my blender is so ridiculous. it’s like one of those infomercial horror moments where everything goes wrong and food flies everywhere. anyway, fangirling hard right now.

    one staple that i’m making a lot of recently is plant milk; namely, sunflower seed milk. it’s so much easier than i imagined, and having the leftover pulp on hand is a constant supply of food to play around with!

    although, if i had a tortilla press, i bet corn tortillas would be my favorite staple. it’d be dangeous/awesome if i could make my own! those things would find their way into every meal i made.

  15. I make my own tahini and it saves a lot of money. I have no idea what jarred tahini even tastes like!

  16. Thank you for your fantastic review Janet. We really appreciate your support of the book – and the Treat of the Month Club (I do really miss making those tiny treats each month). xoxo

  17. Applesauce and hummus are two staples that jump to mind. 😊

  18. “Tofu scramble does not taste like scrambled eggs. Have you ever thought that?”
    I have thought that, but to be honest, I liked that it doesn’t because I was never a fan of real eggs ;p I do enjoy adding black salt to my tofu scramble mix to give it a more “natural” egg-like flavour though. Your tofu scramble does look good though – the texture looks so great!

  19. I like to make my own sauces (cashew cream/mayo, pasta sauce) and salad dressings. But if I have the time, I’d prefer to make everything from scratch; I’d get to control the quality that way.🙂

  20. This looks amaaaazing!! I like to make nut butters myself, so much cheaper and so easy!

  21. One of my pantry staples is taco seasoning. It’s so easy to make your own, and I never understand why packaged varieties always have weird/unnatural ingredients.

  22. I love making oat flour from steel cut oats in my Vitamix, it’s great for smoothies and to thicken up sauces, etc. I also have recently been soaking cooking all my beans from dried instead of buying canned – because we go through so much around here and it’s a nice way to cut down on sodium. This book sounds like it will be interesting and a great way to DIY all the time in all the ways.😉

  23. I actually make my own bread a lot

  24. It looks fab. I never tried scrambled tofu, but I think I should🙂

  25. I would have to say vegan parm is my fav staple to make. Or hummus!

  26. I make almost everything from scratch. (Except bread. It is my NEMESIS!) I’m currently in the middle of making my own sriracha, but I used WICKED hot peppers so we’ll see how THAT goes. . . 🙂

  27. Oh this looks so good!!! Will have to try this on the weekend!

  28. I don’t know if everybody would consider this a staple, but I sure do – flour tortillas. Once I started making my own, I can’t even consider buying off the shelf again!

  29. wow this looks amazing – I have never wanted scrambled tofu to taste exactly like eggs but I don’t like it when it is watery or tasteless and this sounds like it addresses both these issues – might be good for making omelets too! The best scramble I ever made with tofu was made with a cheese sauce so the nooch makes sense in this

  30. I’ve just started cooking homemade meals and hope to try making some pantry staples like spice mixes, baking mixes and spreads like hummus! I can’t wait to try these “eggs”!!

  31. […] then bound by tofu. I added a bit of nutritional yeast for a more cheesy-quality but I imagine the revolutionary savoury egg mix might be used well here, […]

  32. I make my own vegetable broth

  33. Wow! Thanks so much!!!

  34. Thanks for sharing a link to my review, Janet – I love their savoury egg mix! (Don’t enter me for the draw, though – I’ve got a copy.) 🙂

  35. […] 6. Revolutionary Savoury Egg Mix […]

  36. […] homemade stir fry sauce recipe ever since I received DIY Vegan last year. My full review can be found here but it is a treasure trove of recipes to get your kitchen prepared for awesome meals. Revolutionary […]

  37. […] dillicious, chili masala, curried dill, tahini chickpea, and mighty migas. And then there was the Revolutionary Savoury Egg Mix just waiting for a tofu scramble. They are all good but we make dillicious the most often, since […]

What do you think?

